DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: If we make a backup with CWR are we able to use it to restore?

  1. Droid Ninja
    MrKleen's Avatar
    Member #
    29860
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,602
    Liked
    34 times
    Phone
    D1, D2, DX,TBolt, Galaxy Nexus
    #1

    If we make a backup with CWR are we able to use it to restore?

    I've been reading there has been problems using ROM Manager to restore backups.

    I installed my first Rom on my Thunderbolt yesterday and I want to know that I can restore my stock backup when I choose.

    Has anyone used Rom Manager to restore their backup successfully?
  2. Master Droid
    jr313's Avatar
    Member #
    32120
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    402
    Twitter
    J313R
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    #2
    Yes its easy to restore and i do it all the time...when ever you wish to return to your previouys state just boot into recovery and scroll dwn to backup/restore click it then choose restore andyour good itll restore ya, reboot and your back to where you wanted to be...backups are an awesome thing they can get you out of trouble if u happen to mess up..
    "Three words can sum up what i"ve learned about life, IT GOES ON!" "Wise men talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something."
  3. Droid Ninja
    MrKleen's Avatar
    Member #
    29860
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,602
    Liked
    34 times
    Phone
    D1, D2, DX,TBolt, Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    That is what I would have expected. The reason I was asking is that I've been reading elsewhere about issues.
  4. Master Droid
    jr313's Avatar
    Member #
    32120
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    402
    Twitter
    J313R
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    #4
    Yeah read that also...but I've not had one problem personally

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    "Three words can sum up what i"ve learned about life, IT GOES ON!" "Wise men talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something."
  5. Master Droid
    Its TwiX's Avatar
    Member #
    171830
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    419
    Phone
    HTC ThunderBolt
    #5
    Just restored a backup from CWR after flashing a new boot ani I tried to make. Didn't look very good.

    HTC Thunderbolt ROOTED DAS BAMF Remix-May-02
  6. Master Droid
    hogowner's Avatar
    Member #
    45095
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    306
    Phone
    ROOTED THUNDERBOLT
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by jr313 View Post
    Yes its easy to restore and i do it all the time...when ever you wish to return to your previouys state just boot into recovery and scroll dwn to backup/restore click it then choose restore andyour good itll restore ya, reboot and your back to where you wanted to be...backups are an awesome thing they can get you out of trouble if u happen to mess up..
    for faster restores and backups....you can open up ROM MANAGER and scroll down to "Manage and Restore Backups" menus.....pick what you want to do from there.,...and RM reboots in the recovery mode and automatically back up or restores! Go and check it!
    My HOG
    2010 Heritage Softail



    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=evtmeEZ-Ia4
  7. Junior Droid
    pookie025's Avatar
    Member #
    62852
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    every time i try this i loose my root??? idk why
  8. Droid Ninja
    52brandon's Avatar
    Member #
    28679
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,021
    Liked
    42 times
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #8
    I've only restored boot on my TB so far, but it worked for me. I always install CW recovery twice in a row after having a problem on my droid months ago
  9. Junior Droid
    duckswtfpwn's Avatar
    Member #
    184612
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #9
    I have 3 Stock backups that refuse to now restore. I used all 3 roughly 12 times and they worked perfectly until today. I'm getting the "Error formatting /system" and it quits. If I reboot then it just sits at the white HTC screen and I have to pull the battery. The only way I can actually use my phone again is to load up a ROM. I want the stock ROM back so much.
  10. Droid Ninja
    MrKleen's Avatar
    Member #
    29860
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,602
    Liked
    34 times
    Phone
    D1, D2, DX,TBolt, Galaxy Nexus
    #10
    Well I tried to restore a backup the other day for the first time and of course it failed.

    This is why I asked this question... And everyone was saying it would be fine.

    Said MD5 failed. I backup every Rom I try but can never restore one.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. backup restore
    By rmcelroy in forum Droid 2 FAQ
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-24-2011, 08:43 AM
  2. Titanium Backup or Backup & Restore via google?
    By Coderedpl in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 10:41 AM
  3. Backup/Restore Question - Titanium Backup - z4root
    By injektilo in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 07:45 AM
  4. Backup/Restore
    By jrock204657 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 02:08 PM
  5. How to make apps appear in market after restore
    By nkcavs23 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-22-2010, 05:58 PM

Search tags for this page

backup cwr

,

cwr backup

,
cwr backup droid
,
cwr error formatting system
,
cwr md5 failed
,

cwr restore

,
cwr restore backup
,

cwr restore contact

,

cwr restore data only

,
cwr restore how to
,

how to use cwr

,
restore cwr backup
,
thunderbolt backup kernel
,
thunderbolt restore backup won't work
,
what cwr versions go with what roms
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+