DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Question about MR2

  1. Master Droid
    Palazuelosva's Avatar
    Member #
    135589
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles CA.
    Posts
    520
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    DROID2
    #1

    Question about MR2

    Ok so these new radios are only for gingerbread right? Not for froyo?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    leprophotography's Avatar
    Member #
    58302
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC, MIAMI, PHILLY
    Posts
    418
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    Note II / Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    Yes, ONLY work with Ginger. MR1 is Froyo.



    Quote Originally Posted by Palazuelosva View Post
    Ok so these new radios are only for gingerbread right? Not for froyo?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
    Last edited by leprophotography; 07-05-2011 at 06:24 AM.
  4. Droid
    Kid A's Avatar
    Member #
    85607
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    64
    Twitter
    prance_e_tron
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #3
    I actually have a question about this too...if I'm currently running stock Froyo and I'm looking to install a Gingerbread rom that requires the MR2 radio, should I flash the radio while I'm still running Froyo or after I've installed the Gingerbread rom? Is there a risk of bricking my Froyo phone with a Gingerbread radio?

    Thanks
  5. Master Droid
    leprophotography's Avatar
    Member #
    58302
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC, MIAMI, PHILLY
    Posts
    418
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    Note II / Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Always Radio 1st, then Rom, or else not gonna work.

    There is no way to rule out Gingerbread as the cause of bricking. There might be some theories caused by bad emmc chip. Then again, not 100% proven!

    IMHO, mostly by user error!

    Quote Originally Posted by Kid A View Post
    I actually have a question about this too...if I'm currently running stock Froyo and I'm looking to install a Gingerbread rom that requires the MR2 radio, should I flash the radio while I'm still running Froyo or after I've installed the Gingerbread rom? Is there a risk of bricking my Froyo phone with a Gingerbread radio?

    Thanks
  6. Rescue Squad
    spaz33g's Avatar
    Member #
    113637
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    orange county, ca
    Posts
    6,388
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, T-bolt, Droid 2
    #5
    I flashed rom and then pulled battery, went in to hboot and flashed radio. That's how all the thunderbolt rs guys taught me to do it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  7. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,618
    Liked
    1681 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #6
    To be honest it did not matter for me. I flashed the radio and when it booted back up to my froyo ROM I just did not have service. I then booted into recovery to flash the ROM.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  8. Droid
    Kid A's Avatar
    Member #
    85607
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    64
    Twitter
    prance_e_tron
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #7
    Thanks for the responses guys. Just rooted my Thunderbolt yesterday so I'm just getting started here.
  9. Master Droid
    Palazuelosva's Avatar
    Member #
    135589
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles CA.
    Posts
    520
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    DROID2
    #8
    So how do I fix my gps issue on froyo? If the fix only works on gb!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  10. Droid
    DrewB's Avatar
    Member #
    173407
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    83
    Phone
    htc thunderbolt
    #9
    Search the forum. There's a how to for a quick fix using "gps status"


    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  11. Droid
    Kid A's Avatar
    Member #
    85607
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    US
    Posts
    64
    Twitter
    prance_e_tron
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #10
    GPS Status did the trick for me in the beginning but after a while it stopped working. I had to clear the maps cache and go through the whole process to get it to receive a signal. It's effective, but only temporarily...at least in my experience.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 01:37 PM
  2. Security question, please answer my question! :)
    By itwerk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 09:20 AM
  3. Question, probably a noob question...sorry
    By Savidi in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 01:11 PM
  4. market question/virus question
    By circsmonky in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 10:32 PM
  5. UPDATED DROID question?/METAMORPH QUESTION
    By iamnotjohn in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 12:17 AM

Search tags for this page

froyo mr2

,
guide to flashing radios on the thunderbolt
,
how do i know if i have mr2 on my thunderbolt
,
how do i know if my thunderbolt is using mr2 gingerbread rad
,
is my thunderbolt mr2
,
is my thunderbolt using mr2
,
mr2 for froyo droid x
,
mr2 radio ?
,
thunderbolt gingerbread return phone to froyo mr1
,

what is adr6400l

,
what is mr2 droid
,

what is mr2 radio

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+