DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: CPU toggle

  1. Droid
    Yufice's Avatar
    Member #
    58829
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    30
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Stock Verizon GNex
    #1

    CPU toggle

    What is the CPU toggle for?
  2. Master Droid
    publicanimal's Avatar
    Member #
    27719
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    474
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Yufice View Post
    What is the CPU toggle for?
    Unlit: Underclock CPU by approximately 200 MHz
    Lit: Full speed ahead
  3. Droid
    killjoylm1's Avatar
    Member #
    32980
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    Really??

    I don't see any changes if the CPU toggle is lit or un-lit using chevys kernel and system info to observe any differences. Would be great if I could see anything. Thanks for any help.

    ~G
  4. Master Droid
    publicanimal's Avatar
    Member #
    27719
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    474
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by killjoylm1 View Post
    Really??

    I don't see any changes if the CPU toggle is lit or un-lit using chevys kernel and system info to observe any differences. Would be great if I could see anything. Thanks for any help.

    ~G
    Changes wouldn't be in system info. Run Quadrant Standard performance tests and you will see the difference.
  5. Droid
    killjoylm1's Avatar
    Member #
    32980
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by publicanimal View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by killjoylm1 View Post
    Really??

    I don't see any changes if the CPU toggle is lit or un-lit using chevys kernel and system info to observe any differences. Would be great if I could see anything. Thanks for any help.

    ~G
    Changes wouldn't be in system info. Run Quadrant Standard performance tests and you will see the difference.
    Just went ahead and ran Quadrant and the exact opposite is what I saw. My score was 1129 when lit and 1294 when unlit. I feel that it has to do with the CPU governor than lowering the CPU speed... just my 2 cents!

    ~G
  6. Droid Ninja
    TRIKOTRET's Avatar
    Member #
    71602
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,464
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Razor Maxx
    #6
    i thought lit means on and 200 under performance
  7. Droid
    killjoylm1's Avatar
    Member #
    32980
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    I've heard people say both, but from my experience unlit is faster. Also, it is a down arrow this would imply to me that when lit that it decreases something.
  8. Theme Developer
    bp328i's Avatar
    Member #
    54577
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    641
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by killjoylm1 View Post

    Just went ahead and ran Quadrant and the exact opposite is what I saw. My score was 1129 when lit and 1294 when unlit. I feel that it has to do with the CPU governor than lowering the CPU speed... just my 2 cents!

    ~G
    I had the same outcome a higher score with it unlit.

    Quote Originally Posted by killjoylm1 View Post
    I've heard people say both, but from my experience unlit is faster. Also, it is a down arrow this would imply to me that when lit that it decreases something.
    I was thinking the same thing when I saw the arrow down.
  9. Master Droid
    publicanimal's Avatar
    Member #
    27719
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    474
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    I tested this extensively on V2 and always had the same results. Higher quadrant scores when lit and lower quadrant scores when unlit.

    I just ran 2 quadrant tests. I am using Chevy's ULV 1.2 GHz kernel.
    Unlit: 1213
    Lit: 1379

    I'm not sure what is causing you guys to experience different results and I agree that it is a bit counter-intutive with the "down arrow". But I have tested this again and again and on my phone the results have always supported the conclusion that unlit = underclocked.

    Are you guys using SetCPU? I'm pretty sure SetCPU would override the CPU toggle. I do not use SetCPU because I don't believe it is necessary for this ROM as it was designed for a phone with a 1.0 GHz processor (Nexus One). My performance is beyond stellar when not using SetCPU.
  10. Droid
    killjoylm1's Avatar
    Member #
    32980
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    77
    Phone
    Droid
    #10
    Ran it again and same results. Not using SetCPU and I agree it would get in the way. There must be some way to actually get a readout from the system that will clear this up for everyone.

    I think that it is interesting to look at the options under battery in the settings menu. It has an option to reduce to the CPU speed to save battery power. When my phone goes into battery saving mode the CPU toggle becomes lit. This would imply that it is saving battery power by lowering to the CPU speed.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Where did my old gps toggle go?
    By Reptileszz in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 04:30 PM
  2. 3G Toggle Possible?
    By njskatchmo in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 10:39 PM
  3. Looking for a toggle widget
    By DRMMR02 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 09:04 PM
  4. Toggle Bar Widget
    By MiXoLoGiSt in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 01:58 AM
  5. Toggle Settings
    By FRATBoy in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-21-2010, 01:45 PM

Search tags for this page

changing miui cpu speed
,
cpu toggling
,

miui cpu

,
miui cpu governor
,
miui cpu settings
,

miui cpu toggle

,
miui reduce cpu spee
,
miui reduce cpu speed toggle
,
miui toggle setting 3 page
,
what+is+cpu toggle
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+