DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Issue getting Link2sd script to mount ext4 partition on boot with SD10rc1

  1. Junior Droid
    bigeasy911's Avatar
    Member #
    257255
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motoral Droid A855
    #1

    Issue getting Link2sd script to mount ext4 partition on boot with SD10rc1

    It seems that the link2sd script to auto mount the ext4 part is not taking for some reason.


    Metal Spring,

    thanks for the instructions over in the SD10 thread. I tried to PM you but it says your box if full. Did not want this to clutter up the sd10 thread as I may not be ROM related


    Device: Droid 1
    ROM: SD10rc1
    Kernel: Deprimed 2.6.32.9 (latest from link at top of "break if you can" thread)
    SD Card: 32g Class 4
    Partition ( all set as Primary): Data:28g Fat32, Apps:1g EXT4, Swap:128mb Linux Swap



    Here is a summary of the issue for anyone that can offer help:


    I did the "modprobe ext4" command as SU in terminal and it looks to have took
    ( no error). I then opened Link2sd and you get the pop up that asks for what format of partition you have. I choose EXT4 and it took this time, without the error that happened without the previous terminal command. It then instructed me to reboot with a notation if you got the message again that it meant that there was an issue with mounting the ext4 partition automatically at boot. So after reboot I opened link2sd and once again I get the initial pop up screen asking for what my app partition format is. I chose ext4 to see what would happen and it gave me the error like before I did the terminal command. So it looks like the script to automatically mount on boot is not taking for some reason.

    What am I doing wrong or what do I need to do to get this to work?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #2
    Maybe you do need to add modprobe ext4 to the script?
    It should be at the top of the script but under this line
    #!/system/bin/sh

    btw could you copy/ paste your link2sd script here?
    Since I have swap as my second partition and ext4 as my 3rd one I need to make a custom script so I can test it in the future
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  3. Junior Droid
    bigeasy911's Avatar
    Member #
    257255
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motoral Droid A855
    #3
    I am having trouble finding the script. The info I have seen in the link2sd thread here points to init.d but I can not find it. If you can tell me where it is I would be glad to post it etc. I am stuck at this point. I am going to try installing from market and seeing if that works.what else I can figure. This is a bit dumbfounding at this point as I know plenty are running this app without issue.
  4. Junior Droid
    bigeasy911's Avatar
    Member #
    257255
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motoral Droid A855
    #4
    Could I make a script to run at with the modprode ext4 command much like I made the reboot to be scheduled. The issue I see is making sure it runs first. I wish I knew why I am having this issue when you and others do not. What is different?
  5. Junior Droid
    bigeasy911's Avatar
    Member #
    257255
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motoral Droid A855
    #5
    OK not sure what was wrong with me. I found the init.d folder. Duh. I need to get more sleep I guess LOL

    Have the script

    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    #added by link2sd
    LOG=/data/link2sd-11link2sd.log
    echo "$(date) mounting..." > $LOG
    mount -t ext4 -o rw /dev/block/vold/179:2  /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG
    
    mount -t ext4 -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p2  /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG 
    
    mount  >> $LOG
    echo "$(date) mount finished" >> $LOG

    Now for me you are saying try adding the
    "modprobe ext4" right after the last # line in that script?




    Updated:


    Looks like that did the trick for me. I added the command line there, Rebooted, Opened link2sd, It opened without any popup asking for partition info. Got the "whats new" popup for the first time. I PM'd bakpinar over on XDA and mentioned my issue and the suggestion you made. Maybe he will update the program?
    Last edited by bigeasy911; 04-02-2012 at 07:28 PM.
  6. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #6
    yeah it would be

    Code:
    #!/system/bin/sh
    #added by link2sd
    insmod /system/lib/modules/jbd2.ko
    insmod /system/lib/modules/ext4.ko
    LOG=/data/link2sd-11link2sd.log
    echo "$(date) mounting..." > $LOG
    mount -t ext4 -o rw /dev/block/vold/179:2  /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG
    
    
    mount -t ext4 -o rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p2  /data/sdext2 1>>$LOG 2>>$LOG 
    
    
    mount  >> $LOG
    echo "$(date) mount finished" >> $LOG
    i find that the insmod commands work better but its an extra line and a lot more to type out lol, either way should work though, just replace the 2 insmod lines with the modprobe line
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  7. Junior Droid
    bigeasy911's Avatar
    Member #
    257255
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motoral Droid A855
    #7
    Now there is also the install-recovery.sh file. Do I need to make any changes to it.

    Basically has the exact same thing in it but of course its missing the modprobe line or insmod lines

    Anything I need to do?
  8. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by bigeasy911 View Post
    Now there is also the install-recovery.sh file. Do I need to make any changes to it.

    Basically has the exact same thing in it but of course its missing the modprobe line or insmod lines

    Anything I need to do?
    try it without modifying that first, if it doesnt work then go ahead and add those lines, i never messed with it though
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  9. Junior Droid
    bigeasy911's Avatar
    Member #
    257255
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motoral Droid A855
    #9
    No it seems to be OK as is I just wanted to make sure. I will try linking so apks now. I really needed this given I run co pilot and thats 2 files. One 25mb and the other 34.5mb range. I need those off the internal storage mem.
  10. Junior Droid
    bigeasy911's Avatar
    Member #
    257255
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motoral Droid A855
    #10
    You know I was jsut tring to figure out why I am only seeing a max allowable setting in SETCPU of 1000mhz instead of the 1.2 1.25 ( if you have any info on this I am all ears) But I was reading the deprimed break if you can thread. Here is a line in the first info post by Prime

    Link2SD Users: This is a link2sd pre-installation script, it will remove /etc/init.d/05mountsd (mounts to /sd-ext) and replace it with a modified version that mounts (and scans if an issue is detected) the second (ext2/3/4) based SD Card partition using the ext4 driver.
    I never ran this, did you? Is this why I was having an issue ? Not running this do you think its going to be an issue now? Seems everything is OK but do not want to click on something in a certain order and have a big issue.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Extracted a copy of the boot partition :D
    By alexp1289 in forum Droid RAZR Hacks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 05:10 PM
  2. Boot Loop and wont mount to computer
    By Jobbo256 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 02:39 PM
  3. Stuck at Boot Loop can't mount SD Card!! Please Help!!!
    By Srkx Mokwi in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2010, 07:25 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 07:29 AM
  5. Issue with car mount
    By messtress in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 05:01 AM

Search tags for this page

how to create mount script in link2sd
,
link2sd after booting moun problems
,
link2sd cannot mount
,

link2sd ext4

,
link2sd ext4 mount script cannot be created
,

link2sd ext4 script

,

link2sd mount script cannot be created

,

link2sd mount script error

,
mount script cannot be created
,
remove link2sd script
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+