DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 131

Thread: [RAM Tweak] ~ Free Up More RAM, Make Apps Load Faster ~

  1. Droid Ninja
    metalspring's Avatar
    Member #
    158915
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    hermitage, pa
    Posts
    2,231
    Liked
    99 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #21
    Quote Originally Posted by meishkov View Post
    Ah, I see, gotcha. Makes sense I suppose. Hoping SD 10.0 gets its bugs fixed and give it a go and apply this tweak. Have you done this yet and if so does it actually work like noticeably? I'm very curious

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
    well i switched to cushzero for now because my steeldroid 9 was getting old, slow and buggy...i had some issues with lag even after applying my usual tweaks and i had a few random reboots, after doing this though its much better as far as lag and no random reboots...i'd also suggest chainfire 3d app (free one works) you can use it to lower the quality of your screen image (the difference isnt even noticeable) to save ram, it seems to work?
    My cMetal 11.0 rom for the verizon galaxy nexus

    Phone- The GALAXY NEXUS LTE a​ll the
    Rom- My own cMetal 11.0 rom (linaro enhanced cm-11.0)
    Kernel- ASKP or my modified mpokang v10 superram kernel
    previous phone the trusty ol' droid 1
  2. Master Droid
    BrUhNiGGs's Avatar
    Member #
    199499
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, —————— California
    Posts
    758
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nex΅s
    #22
    I tried Chainfire but not really liking it. Makes the graphics of my games horrible, lol.

    Sent from my CushZero using Tapatalk
    Samsung Galaxy SIII - TW 4.1.2 VRBMF1
    Running JellyBeans Builds
    • Just Smooth...
    LeanKernel 3.0 EXP
    • Incredibly Awesome •
    ———————————Direct Injected——————————

  3. Master Droid
    meishkov's Avatar
    Member #
    37113
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    958
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #23
    Quote Originally Posted by metalspring View Post
    well i switched to cushzero for now because my steeldroid 9 was getting old, slow and buggy...i had some issues with lag even after applying my usual tweaks and i had a few random reboots, after doing this though its much better as far as lag and no random reboots...i'd also suggest chainfire 3d app (free one works) you can use it to lower the quality of your screen image (the difference isnt even noticeable) to save ram, it seems to work?
    You happen to apply this to SD 10? I've been using chainfire 3d for a few months, I thought it just installed a driver or somethin to manage the GPU to take care of the UI instead of the CPU? How do you decrease the image quality to save RAM? I'm on that free version so maybe not applicable? Appreciate any clarification

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums

    Edit: so is there a "space" then "=" then another "space" in the first one and no "=" on the 2nd one? The pic from the terminal shows something slightly different than what's in the code section... just at the end, the = signs are vice versa and I'm just trying to make sure this runs.
    Last edited by meishkov; 03-11-2012 at 12:45 AM.
  4. Master Droid
    meishkov's Avatar
    Member #
    37113
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    958
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    OG Droid
    #24
    Disregard my previous edit. I went back and entered those setprop commands in terminal then put it into build.prop like stated. Does seem to make a big difference. Thank goodness this gem was uncovered over on xda, they seem to be very active over there, but just for the milestone as far as the OG is concerned. I assumed since the majority of them probably aren't on Verizon, judging by their crazy device threads.

    Sent from my OG using DroidForums
  5. Senior Droid
    flamewalker's Avatar
    Member #
    243717
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    185
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #25
    Am I missing something? I don't seem to have a build.prop... I have a default.prop but not a build.prop... Using Steeldroid 10.
  6. Master Droid
    BrUhNiGGs's Avatar
    Member #
    199499
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, —————— California
    Posts
    758
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nex΅s
    #26
    Quote Originally Posted by flamewalker View Post
    Am I missing something? I don't seem to have a build.prop... I have a default.prop but not a build.prop... Using Steeldroid 10.
    If you are using SD10, there is no need for this tweak. Chevy implemented the tweaks to build.prop anyways. And that's weird, every rom should have a build.prop. Make sure you see it in /system

    Sent from a Steel Droid using Tapatalk.
    Last edited by BrUhNiGGs; 03-18-2012 at 10:06 PM.
    Samsung Galaxy SIII - TW 4.1.2 VRBMF1
    Running JellyBeans Builds
    • Just Smooth...
    LeanKernel 3.0 EXP
    • Incredibly Awesome •
    ———————————Direct Injected——————————

  7. Senior Droid
    flamewalker's Avatar
    Member #
    243717
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    185
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #27
    Quote Originally Posted by BrUhNiGGs View Post
    If you are using SD10, there is no need for this tweak. Chevy implemented the tweaks to build.prop anyways. And that's weird, every rom should have a build.prop. Make sure you see it in system/etc

    Sent from a Steel Droid using Tapatalk.
    Found it under /system thanks...and yeah I see it was already integrated. Maybe that's why its running better than 9

    Thanks again.
  8. Master Droid
    Durandgir's Avatar
    Member #
    239627
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Douglas, MA
    Posts
    440
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #28
    I just applied this to CM7.2 i'm trying to find a way to tide my phone over for a little bit longer i'm sadly going to be getting a bionic, it's the only thing I can afford and stomach the price, i'm going to miss the openness of the D1.
  9. Master Droid
    BrUhNiGGs's Avatar
    Member #
    199499
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, —————— California
    Posts
    758
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nex΅s
    #29
    Quote Originally Posted by Durandgir View Post
    I just applied this to CM7.2 i'm trying to find a way to tide my phone over for a little bit longer i'm sadly going to be getting a bionic, it's the only thing I can afford and stomach the price, i'm going to miss the openness of the D1.
    Aw, that kinda sucks. Bionic would be the last thing on my mind to get lol. Why not a droid razr?

    Sent from my CushZero using Tapatalk
    Samsung Galaxy SIII - TW 4.1.2 VRBMF1
    Running JellyBeans Builds
    • Just Smooth...
    LeanKernel 3.0 EXP
    • Incredibly Awesome •
    ———————————Direct Injected——————————

  10. Master Droid
    Durandgir's Avatar
    Member #
    239627
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Douglas, MA
    Posts
    440
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #30
    Quote Originally Posted by BrUhNiGGs View Post
    Aw, that kinda sucks. Bionic would be the last thing on my mind to get lol. Why not a droid razr?

    Sent from my CushZero using Tapatalk
    I'm an unemployed senior in high school XD basically the Bionic is the most affordable for me, the RAZR is pretty expensive too. The Bionic is now 99.99 that's aa reasonable price IMO. Unless the RAZR or Nexus goes down in price but I doubt that

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
    Current Phone: Galaxy Nexus
    Rom:Steel Droid v3.52
    Recovery:Clockworkmod Touch
Page 3 of 14 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How can I make my D2 faster?
    By XNAVYGAL in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 02:00 AM
  2. Will this make it faster?
    By Little812 in forum HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-21-2011, 11:47 AM
  3. New to this. How to make faster.
    By ZWis212 in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-17-2011, 03:01 PM
  4. how to make the droid 2 load videos faster
    By lilldamon in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-20-2010, 07:05 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 10:25 AM

Search tags for this page

android ram tweak
,
android ram tweaks
,
how to free up more ram on android
,

how to free up ram on android

,
how to free up ram on droid x2
,

how to make videos load faster on android

,
ram tweak android
,
ram tweaks android
,

ram tweaks for android

,

tweak ram android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+