DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Flashing from SD 4.5 to 3.0

  1. Droid
    Warglock's Avatar
    Member #
    211828
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    CDMA GNex
    #1

    Flashing from SD 4.5 to 3.0

    Howdy folks, a quick question that I have yet to find an answer to here on the forums. Am I able to flash directly from SD 4.5 to 3.0? Or do I have to go through the whole process or flashing stock, rooting, then flashing 3.0 to get where I want? I know that SD4.5 is based off 5.7.xxx and 3.0 is based on 5.6.xxx so I would assume so, but knowing me, I'll just take the easy route and flash directly if I don't read anything saying I can't.

    If I do need to flash to stock and work from there, what is the recommended method of backing up apps and data? I have tried a few apps in the past when trying out different ROMs, but none restored the actual app when I went back to my favorite ROM, I always had to reinstall them from the market.

    As always, any help is greatly appreciated.
  2. Master Droid
    GreenSnow's Avatar
    Member #
    226815
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    328
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Droid3
    #2
    This is coming from an amature but here's what I would do.

    1. Download the .Zip of the ROM you want (steeldroid v3 in this case)
    2. Make a backup using "titanium backup" (menu>batch>backup apps & system data)
    3. Make a nanadroid backup (create a backup through the recovery menu)*always a good idea incase you don't like your new configuration, this backup is much like a windows recovery, basically takes a snapshot of your current setup
    4. Reboot
    5. Wipe all cach/data & perform factory reset
    6. Install .zip from SDcard (choose the zip file)
    7. Restore your apps with titanium (I like to use the feature, 'restore missing apps and data' if I have backed up apps that are "built In" to the ROM I don't want to fudge it up by over writting those apps with my old ones)

    Like I stated before this is just how I do it, may want to wait for a second opinion to move forward


    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk


    My Steel Droid D3 is Smarter than your Honor Student

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Radio flashing with out flashing Rom???
    By egore93 in forum Thunderbolt Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-21-2011, 01:19 PM
  2. What is flashing a ROM?
    By Sh0tty341 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-13-2011, 02:37 PM
  3. Flashing SBF with a Mac
    By OneTenderRebel in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 04:50 PM
  4. Flashing to BB?
    By tiffgrapes in forum Bugless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 10:56 AM
  5. Flashing..?..
    By thebourbonnflip in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 11:11 PM

Search tags for this page

sd 4.5 android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+