DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Lost root...

  1. Senior Droid
    fishfood's Avatar
    Member #
    45776
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    102
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #1

    Lost root...

    ... when I updated to 1.2! Shortly after i ran the update (i did do a backup!) I received something about a "su update..." I ran it, and since then I've lost access to all of my root apps. Do I need to go back through the RSD Lite thing and reroot, or is this something you're familiar with and know a fix for?
    FISHFOOD

    sent from the Nexus of Joy
  2. Team Sourcery
    Chizzele's Avatar
    Member #
    152716
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    2,023
    Liked
    131 times
    Phone
    Sourcerized GN
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by fishfood View Post
    ... when I updated to 1.2! Shortly after i ran the update (i did do a backup!) I received something about a "su update..." I ran it, and since then I've lost access to all of my root apps. Do I need to go back through the RSD Lite thing and reroot, or is this something you're familiar with and know a fix for?
    First time i came across this error. The first time i installed this update i had a CW error. I rebooted, tried again and it went thought smooth.

    Try reinstalling your back up and updating again.
  3. Senior Droid
    fishfood's Avatar
    Member #
    45776
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    102
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #3
    No dice... restored my backup to 1.1 and confirmed root access. Reinstalled the update to 1.2 via Sourcery auto-updater and immediately lost root after update installed via CW. Going to have to revert to my 1.1 backup unless someone has any ideas... could always re-root using RSDLite, but can't remember if I'll lose all of my stuff or not.
    FISHFOOD

    sent from the Nexus of Joy
  4. Master Droid
    listenman20's Avatar
    Member #
    20807
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    859
    Phone
    Motorola Droid RAZR
    #4
    no you wouldn't lose it all yor most recent back up is still there on your card.
    but what is it telling you precisely?
  5. Senior Droid
    fishfood's Avatar
    Member #
    45776
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    102
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #5
    That I'm messing with things I can't possibly fathom... LOL... I'd say right offhand that there's a problem with the update, but, again, I'm no expert. Far from it. What SHOULD it be telling me?
    FISHFOOD

    sent from the Nexus of Joy
  6. Senior Droid
    fishfood's Avatar
    Member #
    45776
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    102
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #6
    ..or were you referring to the error messages I'm getting? LOL... Not getting ANY messages... but none of my root-requiring apps (titanium, SetCPU, Autostarts, etc...) are working... Can't overclock, can't access my app backups, so my system as it's set up is slow as molasses...
    FISHFOOD

    sent from the Nexus of Joy
  7. Master Droid
    listenman20's Avatar
    Member #
    20807
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    859
    Phone
    Motorola Droid RAZR
    #7
    is there an SU app in the drawer?
    you're the 1st we've seen with this prob
    it could've been a bad d/l or something...push come to shove.....assuming you made the back up like you were prompted.....go back to your nandroid of 1.1 goto the root of yr sdcard and erase teh update.zip that's there adn then try the update again.
  8. Team Sourcery
    Chizzele's Avatar
    Member #
    152716
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    2,023
    Liked
    131 times
    Phone
    Sourcerized GN
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #8
    Make sure you are on WIFI when you try again.
  9. Senior Droid
    fishfood's Avatar
    Member #
    45776
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    102
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #9
    All of the above completed with no luck... Yes there is a Superuser app in the drawer in 1.2, and it shows both SetCPU and Titanium as having root access, but the apps themselves show no love. I deleted the update.zip from the root of my card and re DL'd from the Sourcery updater, and it still doesn't work. It's too bad, too, because I love this ROM. Gonna keep using 1.1 because I'm still not sure there's anything else better out there!

    EDIT: I was on WiFi when I performed all of the update attempts.
    Last edited by fishfood; 01-05-2011 at 09:06 PM. Reason: responded to multiple threads
    FISHFOOD

    sent from the Nexus of Joy
  10. Master Droid
    listenman20's Avatar
    Member #
    20807
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    859
    Phone
    Motorola Droid RAZR
    #10
    my next suggestion will be to start over from scratch...sorta...be sure and get all of yuor settings backed up while you're on 1.1 with titanium. then goto the site and get you a fresh d/l of the 1.1 and 1.1gapps. put them on the root of your sdcard. reboot into recovery and wipe everything but the card. install the fresh d/l of 1.1 then immediately follow it with 1.1gapps. reboot. sign in and let everything sync. get your wifi on after the sync icon disappears from notify bar. just open market...this should start the install of all of your apps...let the phone set til all of those a synced. don't try to do anything else while it's syncing. once all of your apps are on...then try the install of 1.2 from settings(make sure the update.zip is deleted again from root of card) after all of that you may try to use your root access apps then theming and whatever else suits ya.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. lost root on d1
    By steveinil in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 12:57 PM
  2. Lost root
    By seyaffe in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 05:25 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-06-2010, 11:20 AM
  4. Lost my root!
    By M1dnite in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 05:07 AM
  5. 2.1 lost root
    By LastEagle in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 03:28 PM

Search tags for this page

after droid x2 update lost root

,

android lost root after system update

,

cw lost root from back-up

,

droid x2 lost root after update

,

how did i lose root with app update

,

lost root after update moto droid

,

motorola droid lost root after system update

,

motorola droid lost root after update

,

my phone lost its root?

,

root motorola droid again after update

,

root phone lost apps how to get back

,

set root on honeycomb

,

sourcery rom lost root

,

what happens when your android root is lost because of updat

,

will i lose access to navigation if i root my motorola droid

,

zeus fingertips

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+