DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Stupid Question? Moving S4 from GSM to CDMA carriers

  1. Junior Droid
    jgiddens's Avatar
    Member #
    7016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Stupid Question? Moving S4 from GSM to CDMA carriers

    Hello,

    I know the S4 will support all the US carriers in all of their bandwidth ranges and formats (GSM, CDMA, Etc.) The question I have is if the radios for all of these bands are in the phone at the same time. If so, do we know if a rooted phone could be moved between a GSM carrier and a CDMA carrier? Real world example: If I buy the S4 on T-mobile (GSM) i know i can seamlessly move it to ATT if I want, but what if I want to go to Verizon. Is this a foolish question?

    Thanks.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    bjorn65's Avatar
    Member #
    230560
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    80
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid x
    #2
    I believe the Verizon and T-mobile phone both support Aws lte which is frequency 4 and 17. The verizon and sprint one supports cdma but once again on different frequency. The Korean one support cdma, gsm, and 5 lte frequency band, I am not sure if any are the At&t, T-mobile, Sprint or verizon bands. The iPhone 5 on Verizon is the most global phone supporting cdma, gsm, hspa+, and lte on 5 bands. However it does not support the at&t lte band. Only At&t iphone works on Canadian lte, but does not support European or japanese like the Verizon one does.
  4. Junior Droid
    jcoppola33's Avatar
    Member #
    344184
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Galaxy note 2
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by bjorn65 View Post
    I believe the Verizon and T-mobile phone both support Aws lte which is frequency 4 and 17. The verizon and sprint one supports cdma but once again on different frequency. The Korean one support cdma, gsm, and 5 lte frequency band, I am not sure if any are the At&t, T-mobile, Sprint or verizon bands. The iPhone 5 on Verizon is the most global phone supporting cdma, gsm, hspa+, and lte on 5 bands. However it does not support the at&t lte band. Only At&t iphone works on Canadian lte, but does not support European or japanese like the Verizon one does.
    To sum it all up, carriers dont like your phone to work on another. The verizon iphone 5 will work on at&t along with the droid DNA but not with LTE. The gs4 should work seemlessly between at&t and T-Mobile but has to be unlocked and im not sure about LTE. At&t unlocks phones if you ask.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Data Question (global/LTE/CDMA)
    By Rangerhgm in forum Droid RAZR MAXX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-07-2012, 02:25 PM
  2. stupid question/stupid answer
    By zzz123kkma in forum Liberty ROM D2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2011, 12:21 PM
  3. newbie question on CDMA
    By maxlamenace in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2011, 03:38 PM
  4. Stupid, I mean really stupid wallpaper question.
    By LabShark in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-27-2010, 04:04 PM
  5. stupid, stupid question
    By Droyd in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 04:20 AM

Search tags for this page

galaxy s4 cdma gsm

,

galaxy s4 cdma or gsm

,

galaxy s4 gsm and cdma

,
galaxy s4 gsm cdma
,
galaxy s4 gsm or cdma
,
is samsung galaxy s4 gsm or cdma
,
is the galaxy s4 cdma and gsm
,

samsung galaxy s4 cdma gsm

,
samsung galaxy s4 gsm cdma
,

samsung galaxy s4 gsm or cdma

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+