DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 57
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: [TOOL] How to GAIN ROOT on SM-N900V while running MJ7

  1. Super Moderator
    bkdodger's Avatar
    Member #
    241029
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    2,717
    Liked
    790 times
    Phone
    Samsung Note3(N2/Nexus)
    Premium Member
    #21
    Quote Originally Posted by ripper2860 View Post
    Wow. Kachow (heh, that rhymes). You and Sydman are johnny-on-the-spot with the answers. You guys ROCK!!

    Funny you should mention Beanstown ROM, I had downloaded earlier today and was just awaiting confirmation before flashing. One more thing, if you and Sydman don't mind ...

    Is the flashing process w/ SafeStrap as follows?:

    1. Place the desired ROM file on the SD or EXT-SD storage space
    2. Boot into SS Recovery
    3. Select and activate a ROM SLOT
    4. Go to INSTALL and select the ROM to be flashed
    5. Re-Verify the desired ROM SLOT is selected and active (not the STOCK SLOT)
    6. Flash as you would normally via TWRP recovery

    Is that all there is to it? Any other tips or traps to watch out for?

    Thanks again guys. Off tomorrow due to ICE in the Dallas, TX area and I've got the whole day to play!!
    I just want to make sure you've created the Rom slot already ..I didn't see anywhere on previous posts that you've created the slot. ..

    Starts around 6:57 part of video

    Good video info on Safestrap [Thanks to boynamedstacy @ XDA]



    Once the slot is created... you will activate the ROM slot. . It should show green on top where it says slot. .. Don't forget you need to do your wipes before you flash beans as you want a fresh install. .


    N3 tapa
    KaChow, ripper2860 and J_Ransom2 like this.
    "Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm"
    Forum Rules Here!!


  2. Master Droid
    ripper2860's Avatar
    Member #
    221427
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    461
    Liked
    38 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    #22
    Yes I have already created the SLOT, but did fail to include it in my steps. I appreciate the video and will certainly take the time to review it completely.

    Also -- by performing my WIPES prior to installing the ROM, would that be the Cache and Dalvik cache wipe? My ROM slot is EMPTY at this point, or was the SYSTEM partition and all that copied from STOCK ROM Slot when the Custom ROM SLOT was created?

    Again -- Thanks!!!



    Edit: Wow. That video was quite good. Actually answers all my remaining questions!!
    Last edited by ripper2860; 12-06-2013 at 08:04 AM.
    bkdodger likes this.
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    Themer Launcher
    Stock ROM (JB 4.3) -- awaiting KitKat





  3. Super Moderator
    bkdodger's Avatar
    Member #
    241029
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    2,717
    Liked
    790 times
    Phone
    Samsung Note3(N2/Nexus)
    Premium Member
    #23
    Yup ..I always do my wipes (even though you don't have anything in that slot yet) ..I currently have Beans in slot 1 ...I actually have CleanROM in the stock slot...

    Beans should be putting out update build tonight or tomorrow...

    Here's another video for beans created by RootJunky

    KaChow, ripper2860 and J_Ransom2 like this.
    "Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm"
    Forum Rules Here!!


  4. Master Droid
    ripper2860's Avatar
    Member #
    221427
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    461
    Liked
    38 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    #24
    Adding Rootjunky to my favorites list. Thanks!!!
    bkdodger likes this.
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    Themer Launcher
    Stock ROM (JB 4.3) -- awaiting KitKat





  5. Droid Newbie
    perfectchaos's Avatar
    Member #
    363001
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #25
    I have a question regarding this method. I've read through the thread, and I'm still a little unsure about whether or not knox 0x1 is tripped at all throughout this process. Even loading custom ROMs via SS does not trip Knox? Is this because the original ROM is never touched? I just bought my N3 the other day and did the OTA update. (What a noob, I know)

    And maybe slightly off topic but I've seen conflicting answers. When Knox 0x1 is tripped, is the device prevented from receiving further OTA updates?
  6. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    719
    Liked
    245 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #26
    Quote Originally Posted by perfectchaos View Post
    I have a question regarding this method. I've read through the thread, and I'm still a little unsure about whether or not knox 0x1 is tripped at all throughout this process. Even loading custom ROMs via SS does not trip Knox? Is this because the original ROM is never touched? I just bought my N3 the other day and did the OTA update. (What a noob, I know)

    And maybe slightly off topic but I've seen conflicting answers. When Knox 0x1 is tripped, is the device prevented from receiving further OTA updates?
    Knox is disabled on the Note 3 (period.) More so with the US carriers as it conflicts with the security of NFC, which all the carriers are working on some type of Wallet strategy whether Google wallet is going to win the ballot or if ISIS is going to win, or if something else is going to the claimed champ. The fact of matter is that Knox is disabled it is 0x0, there is nothing to worry about, in order to get it enabled it would take a system update which we would of course all know about and see coming, as rarely anything sneaks up on us here. So Flash away!
    bkdodger, ripper2860 and J_Ransom2 like this.
  7. Droid
    jsandy's Avatar
    Member #
    25818
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    61
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    droid
    #27
    When I open SU I get the following pop up

    "Samsung KNOX has been detected. This might limit root capabilities and cause annoying popups. Try to disable KNOX?"

    I have just hit "Cancel" because I've been afraid to mess with KNOX. If KNOX has been disabled (and I am certainly not questioning that) why is SU telling me that it has been detected? Is it safe for me to tell SU to try to disable it? Thanks.
  8. Junior Droid
    J_Ransom2's Avatar
    Member #
    362288
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    8
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Samsung SM-N900V
    #28
    Quote Originally Posted by jsandy View Post
    When I open SU I get the following pop up

    "Samsung KNOX has been detected. This might limit root capabilities and cause annoying popups. Try to disable KNOX?"

    I have just hit "Cancel" because I've been afraid to mess with KNOX. If KNOX has been disabled (and I am certainly not questioning that) why is SU telling me that it has been detected? Is it safe for me to tell SU to try to disable it? Thanks.
    I allowed it to try. As KaChow said, KNOX is already disabled, so it shouldn't do any harm. When I allowed SU to try to disable it, SU simply stated that it succeeded, and that was the end of that. I checked my system afterwards and I didn't see anything triggered by KNOX.

    Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
    KaChow and bkdodger like this.
  9. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    719
    Liked
    245 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #29
    Quote Originally Posted by jsandy View Post
    When I open SU I get the following pop up

    "Samsung KNOX has been detected. This might limit root capabilities and cause annoying popups. Try to disable KNOX?"

    I have just hit "Cancel" because I've been afraid to mess with KNOX. If KNOX has been disabled (and I am certainly not questioning that) why is SU telling me that it has been detected? Is it safe for me to tell SU to try to disable it? Thanks.
    Quote Originally Posted by J_Ransom2 View Post
    I allowed it to try. As KaChow said, KNOX is already disabled, so it shouldn't do any harm. When I allowed SU to try to disable it, SU simply stated that it succeeded, and that was the end of that. I checked my system afterwards and I didn't see anything triggered by KNOX.

    Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
    Just as J_Ransom2 points out and as I've mentioned before Knox is disabled on our Note 3. This is not the case on other Samsung devices in the terms of Knox and how it works on other devices and also how SuperSU posts consumer warnings. Fortunately, for us we do not have those Knox concerns, instead we have others pertaining to SELinux... After you get Root, make sure to get Safestrap. BKDodger posted a few good YouTube links a couple of posts ^^^^, check'm out.
    J_Ransom2, bkdodger and ripper2860 like this.
  10. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    719
    Liked
    245 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #30
    [OP] Has been Updated. I have added the latest zips of SuperSU which is version 1.80 if you have Root and do not have a copy, Please download and store this version as it has been updated for KitKat 4.4.

    Also, Special thanks to BKDodger for his contribution to the thread with 2 Safestrap videos for Users, one video shows how to use use Safestrap the other shows how to install ROMs. Please make sure to visit this Root thread watch the videos, and enjoy your Verizon Note 3!
    ripper2860, J_Ransom2 and bkdodger like this.
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Superuser cant gain root access
    By MonKENy in forum Galaxy Nexus Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-2012, 04:42 AM
  2. How Do I Gain Root Back?
    By roytoy101 in forum Droid RAZR Hacks
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-12-2012, 03:16 PM
  3. Downgrade 651.150.1.XT910.Retail.en.EU to gain Root - HOW?
    By davidws in forum Droid RAZR Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 09:24 AM
  4. Just installed GPA14, cannot gain root access
    By kilroywhoa in forum Bugless
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-20-2011, 03:12 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-13-2010, 08:13 AM

Search tags for this page

how do i root my samsung sm-n900v
,

how to root samsung sm-n900v

,
how to root sm-n900v
,
kingo root note 3
,
note 3 mj7 root
,
root n900v
,
root note 3 mj7
,

root sm-n900v

,
sm-n900v
,

sm-n900v root

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+