DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Stormy Knight

Thread: GM Mylink Infotainment System

  1. Senior Droid
    Stormy Knight's Avatar
    Member #
    2899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Moto X 32GB
    #1

    GM Mylink Infotainment System

    I just recently purchased a 2013 Malibu 2LT. It has the GM Mylin Infotainment system installed with a 7" touchscreen. Prior to that, I had a 2010 Equinox. With the Equinox, I could pair my OG Droid and my GNex and access the phonebook on either phone to use hands free voice dialing. I figured the Malibu would work the same way. I can pair the GNex to the car, but it won't allow me to use voice commands to dial contacts on the phone. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with a GM tech rep and we tried pairing and unpairing the phone several times to no avail. He said a buddy of his has a GNex and has had no problem. That got me to thinking JellyBean 4.2 was recently pushed to non-Verizon GNex phones. I asked the rep if his buddy's carrier was Verizon like me. He put me on hold for a second and came back and said it was a Sprint phone. So, I'm guessing there is a compatibility issue between JB 4.1.1 and the Infotainment system. If a 4.2 GNex works ok, perhaps that is my problem.

    Is there anyone that hasn't had a problem pairing their GNex to GM's Infotainment System?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS Lead
    dezymond's Avatar
    Member #
    3167
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    10,393
    Liked
    1040 times
    Phone
    Galaxy s4
    Premium Member
    #2
    Hmm that's weird, it really shouldn't have to do with the phone version as BT works fine in all of my cars (2 with aftermarket HUs, and a Lexus). I'm able to voice command in all 3 without any problems and I've switched ROMs many times, even from 4.1 to 4.2. However, I'm not familiar with Infotainment system either, maybe it only works correctly with official versions of phones?
  4. Senior Droid
    Stormy Knight's Avatar
    Member #
    2899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Moto X 32GB
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by dezymond View Post
    Hmm that's weird, it really shouldn't have to do with the phone version as BT works fine in all of my cars (2 with aftermarket HUs, and a Lexus). I'm able to voice command in all 3 without any problems and I've switched ROMs many times, even from 4.1 to 4.2. However, I'm not familiar with Infotainment system either, maybe it only works correctly with official versions of phones?
    Official versions?
  5. RS Lead
    dezymond's Avatar
    Member #
    3167
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    10,393
    Liked
    1040 times
    Phone
    Galaxy s4
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormy Knight View Post
    Official versions?
    4.2 was never officially released for Verizon Nexus.
  6. Senior Droid
    Stormy Knight's Avatar
    Member #
    2899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Moto X 32GB
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by dezymond View Post
    4.2 was never officially released for Verizon Nexus.
    Which I'm very aware of.
  7. RS Lead
    dezymond's Avatar
    Member #
    3167
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    10,393
    Liked
    1040 times
    Phone
    Galaxy s4
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormy Knight View Post
    Which I'm very aware of.
    I think it was 4.1.1 that did have some BT issues, I never ran into them, but I've had this thing ROMd since day 2. Have no idea what I was thinking, kept thinking you were on a 4.2 custom ROM for some reason

    Is there a way to reset your radio for an initial setup again or whatever GM uses?
  8. Senior Droid
    Stormy Knight's Avatar
    Member #
    2899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Moto X 32GB
    #7
    I went to the Verizon forums and posted my lament. About an hour or two later, I got a response that told me how to pair the phone so I could access the phonebook contacts through voice command.

    Make sure bluetooth is on before starting the car. Switch WiFi off on the phone. Switch 4G off. Must be in 3G (for some reason). Start the car. Go to Utilities and select bluetooth. Push the Config button on the car's dashboard. Select Phone Settings. Make sure the GNex is set for discovery. Under Phone Settings, select Pair. A window will pop up on the GNex (which it never did before) to inform you that the Malibu wants to gain access to the GNex phonebook. Select OK. And there we are!

    To make sure I had access, I checked the Malibu's screen and the Phonebook tab showed up. I hit that and there were my contacts! I also tested the voice dialing and it worked perfectly!
  9. RS Lead
    dezymond's Avatar
    Member #
    3167
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    10,393
    Liked
    1040 times
    Phone
    Galaxy s4
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Stormy Knight View Post
    I went to the Verizon forums and posted my lament. About an hour or two later, I got a response that told me how to pair the phone so I could access the phonebook contacts through voice command.

    Make sure bluetooth is on before starting the car. Switch WiFi off on the phone. Switch 4G off. Must be in 3G (for some reason). Start the car. Go to Utilities and select bluetooth. Push the Config button on the car's dashboard. Select Phone Settings. Make sure the GNex is set for discovery. Under Phone Settings, select Pair. A window will pop up on the GNex (which it never did before) to inform you that the Malibu wants to gain access to the GNex phonebook. Select OK. And there we are!

    To make sure I had access, I checked the Malibu's screen and the Phonebook tab showed up. I hit that and there were my contacts! I also tested the voice dialing and it worked perfectly!
    That is quite a process just to get the thing working how it's supposed to once it connects. Do you have to do this every time or just on initial setup? Sounds like more trouble than it's worth, for me at least.
  10. Senior Droid
    Stormy Knight's Avatar
    Member #
    2899
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    202
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Moto X 32GB
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by dezymond View Post
    That is quite a process just to get the thing working how it's supposed to once it connects. Do you have to do this every time or just on initial setup? Sounds like more trouble than it's worth, for me at least.
    Initial setup.

    Lot less trouble than buying a new phone that works right out of the box or rooting and installing ROMs for somebody that has never done it.
    dezymond likes this.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. System Recovery User app or System app????
    By johnaferraro in forum Droid X2 Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2011, 07:12 PM
  2. Saab Android Powered IQon Infotainment System Press Release
    By dgstorm in forum Droid Forums Member News Depot
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-02-2011, 01:33 AM
  3. Onstar MyLink App
    By BigZig in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 03:23 PM
  4. Replies: 87
    Last Post: 08-18-2010, 11:47 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-11-2010, 07:58 PM

Search tags for this page

droid x2 contacts wont connect to mylink
,
galaxy s3 mylink
,
galaxy s4 to chevrolet mylink
,
how to reset mylink
,
motorola droid razr and mylink
,
mylink dialing failed s4
,
mylink galaxy s3
,
mylink galaxy s4
,

mylink samsung galaxy s4

,

mylink samsung s4

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+