DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Grey signal bars?

  1. Master Droid
    DesktopDevin's Avatar
    Member #
    9867
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Garner, NC
    Posts
    297
    Liked
    33 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #11
    This was happening to me at home on wifi but it was my firewall on my router that was preventing it from connecting to google servers.

    I setup my router to bypass the firewall on the dhcp lease for the phone

    Not that this helps in your situation as your are trying to connect on 3/4G but just a tip that I thought I would throw out there on this subject.
    Never Samsung... Never Again

    Burned by the VZW Galaxy Nexus
  2. Droid Newbie
    akaguma's Avatar
    Member #
    329125
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    N-04D
    #12
    I was perplexed by this problem and stumbled across a very simple solution which has given me nothing but blue bars ever since.
    go into SETTINGS
    go into DATA USAGE
    turn MOBILE DATA to ON
    BINGO
    as to why this works I have no idea
  3. Junior Droid
    Briteyez83's Avatar
    Member #
    233329
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Western washington
    Posts
    15
    Phone
    Droid 4
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by DesktopDevin View Post
    This was happening to me at home on wifi but it was my firewall on my router that was preventing it from connecting to google servers.

    I setup my router to bypass the firewall on the dhcp lease for the phone

    Not that this helps in your situation as your are trying to connect on 3/4G but just a tip that I thought I would throw out there on this subject.
    How do setup the router to bypass the firewall? I just recently had to setup our router cause some how the name and password got reset. I've noticed that I've had gray bars for my wifi and data. I force stopped google play, cleared cache and data then did a reboot and still have gray bars.

    Sent with Liquid Smoothness from my Maserati using Tapatalk2
  4. Junior Droid
    kramermd's Avatar
    Member #
    244691
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    MotoX
    #14
    This would happen to both my phone and my wife's phone when we were home. At first I thought it was the router but it did not happen to other devices (non android). I actually fixed it two different ways. On my phone I turned off wifi Optimization under the advanced wifi settings. On my wife's phone I found some steps on another forum that included clearing the play store cache and something else...(probably what Saryon is talking about). But after I did that it would not connect either..so I logged back on the Play store and her phone seems to be working now. Hope this helps!



    BTW...This does happen to me while connected to the wifi at work but I think there the port is just blocked.
  5. Master Droid
    DesktopDevin's Avatar
    Member #
    9867
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Garner, NC
    Posts
    297
    Liked
    33 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Briteyez83 View Post
    How do setup the router to bypass the firewall? I just recently had to setup our router cause some how the name and password got reset. I've noticed that I've had gray bars for my wifi and data. I force stopped google play, cleared cache and data then did a reboot and still have gray bars.

    Sent with Liquid Smoothness from my Maserati using Tapatalk2
    It all depends on your router, I have a motorola sbg900 and I have it secured not only with wpa but also a mac filter to keep unwanted people off of it.

    I also reserve ip's based on the mac address when I setup the dhcp reservation I have the option to bypass the firewall for that IP.

    I turn the firewall off for my droids and friends wireless devices that come over when I set them up but leave it on for my desktops and laptops.

    Last edited by DesktopDevin; 08-30-2013 at 12:40 AM.
    Never Samsung... Never Again

    Burned by the VZW Galaxy Nexus
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Galaxy Nexus signal icon grey, BUT still connected?
    By onelegchair in forum Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2012, 12:24 PM
  2. signal bars
    By werre300 in forum Droid 4 Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2012, 06:43 AM
  3. I sometimes get grey bars and wifi
    By jwmmr in forum Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2012, 06:25 PM
  4. Signal bars to dBm
    By Blacksantron in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 10:32 AM
  5. 3G and 1X Signal Bars?
    By DragonPhyre in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2011, 11:05 AM

Search tags for this page

android grey signal bars

,

android signal bars grey

,
android wifi signal grey
,
galaxy nexus grey signal bars
,

grey wifi bars android

,
why are my bars grey
,

why are my signal bars grey

,
why are my wifi bars grey
,
why is my signal bar grey
,

why is my wifi signal grey

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+