DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How can I use this overseas?

  1. Droid
    Kurupt's Avatar
    Member #
    225175
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    80
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    OG, Bionic, Rezound, GNex
    #1

    How can I use this overseas?

    Sooo I am going to Israel in a couple weeks and want to use a crutch I call my phone. Not a crutch really, but lately when I travel, having internet and GPS on my phone has made a world of difference. I went to Panama a couple years back with my Blackberry Storm and before Verizon starting raping people on international data. Basically I know I can't use minutes (unless I want to pay $2 a second). I have groove IP for calling on VOIP if need to. I would love to be able to use data and/ or gps if I could. Any clue on what I can do? Thanks!!

    Randy
  2. Super Moderator
    Droid-Xer's Avatar
    Member #
    140985
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    2,421
    Liked
    186 times
    Twitter
    Droid_Xer
    Phone
    Verizon™ Galaxy Nexus
    Premium Member
    #2
    I believe VZW offers decently priced international data packages. Otherwise the cdma gnex can't be used overseas, only the GSM variant.
  3. Moderator
    bsweetness's Avatar
    Member #
    42719
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,481
    Liked
    361 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    Premium Member
    #3
    I believe that Israel is one of the few countries where CDMA is widely used. According to Verizon's global section of their website, voice and data should work in Israel via international roaming. You won't be able to use LTE, just 3G. But you're going to pay an outrageous amount for data according to their Global Data page. So, unless you want to pay Verizon's fees for global roaming, you won't be able to use any type of cellular connection on the Galaxy Nexus while in Israel. There's really no other option for a CDMA phone, particularly if you're just traveling. If you have offline maps stored on your phone, GPS will work just fine without any type of cellular connection. I used GPS all the time while I was in Albania while keeping the phone in airplane mode.
  4. Master Droid
    KeepItReal's Avatar
    Member #
    150110
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    297
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus - Stock
    #4
    You can put the phone in airplane mode and then turn on wifi and use a local wifi in your hotel or in a cafe/McDonald's (lol). You could use email and the browser to communicate. You can sent text messages via email for quick communicating using the formats here for different carriors:

    http://20somethingfinance.com/how-to...mail-for-free/

    To view requirements and cost for using the phone during International travel use the following website:

    http://businessportals.verizonwirele..._to/index.html

    Using the phones 3g/4g Data will be cost prohibited but there are plans for that on the above Verizonwirewireless website. Happy traveling. I have a saying that I use: I have been to Ohio...... lol

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
  5. Beta Team
    sbenson's Avatar
    Member #
    162628
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Posts
    2,372
    Liked
    450 times
    Phone
    The GALAXY NEXUS
    #5
    If you need to make calls, use Tango. The person on the other end will have to have Tango as well.

    Once installed, turn airplane mode on, then turn wifi on and make sure you're connected, then make your call via Tango, completely free.
  6. Droid Ninja
    jerroedr's Avatar
    Member #
    103683
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,193
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus LTE
    #6
    shoot i couldnt even get data in puerto rico. i was royally pissed... then i got drunk for 5 days
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Rooted
    Stock ICS
    No SetCPU
  7. Droid
    sfierro's Avatar
    Member #
    69811
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by jerroedr View Post
    shoot i couldnt even get data in puerto rico. i was royally pissed... then i got drunk for 5 days
    +1

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  8. Droid Ninja
    alboboy10's Avatar
    Member #
    24965
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,820
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by bsweetness View Post
    I believe that Israel is one of the few countries where CDMA is widely used. According to Verizon's global section of their website, voice and data should work in Israel via international roaming. You won't be able to use LTE, just 3G. But you're going to pay an outrageous amount for data according to their Global Data page. So, unless you want to pay Verizon's fees for global roaming, you won't be able to use any type of cellular connection on the Galaxy Nexus while in Israel. There's really no other option for a CDMA phone, particularly if you're just traveling. If you have offline maps stored on your phone, GPS will work just fine without any type of cellular connection. I used GPS all the time while I was in Albania while keeping the phone in airplane mode.
    Hmmm I'm going to Albania this summer (cause I'm from there) and was going to open a topic for questions myself. How did you store it offline?

    You're not Albanian are you
  9. Droid
    Kurupt's Avatar
    Member #
    225175
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    80
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    OG, Bionic, Rezound, GNex
    #9
    Yeah I too would love to know how to get maps off line. This was a problem for me when I was in PR also
  10. Moderator
    bsweetness's Avatar
    Member #
    42719
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,481
    Liked
    361 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    Premium Member
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by alboboy10 View Post
    Hmmm I'm going to Albania this summer (cause I'm from there) and was going to open a topic for questions myself. How did you store it offline?

    You're not Albanian are you
    There are different map and GPS apps that allow you to store offline maps. Some have options to download through the app, others let you use maps that you find online. Some are free, others make you pay for things. At the moment, I can't recall exactly which apps I was using for everything. I started switching around to different custom ROMs after I returned, wiping everything as I went. I'll try to look around and find out what I used. They weren't incredibly detailed, but they were good enough to walk around town with and get to where I was going.

    No, I'm not Albanian. I was over there doing some work for my PhD program with a university in Tirana.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Overseas help
    By stanley618 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-29-2011, 03:02 AM
  2. Overseas and updates
    By sixstringedmatt in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-06-2011, 07:27 AM
  3. Another D2G struggling overseas...
    By TJConnery in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 06:09 PM
  4. Overseas use.
    By the5barrons in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-10-2011, 06:05 AM
  5. Need help ... overseas
    By weezy352 in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2010, 08:40 PM

Search tags for this page

can i use droid razr overseas

,
can i use tango overseas
,
can use tango overseas
,

can you use tango overseas

,
does tango work overseas
,

galaxy nexus in israel

,
tango overseas
,

using droid bionic overseas

,
using droid razr abroad
,

verizon galaxy nexus abroad

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+