DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help With Soundhound

  1. Junior Droid
    callawassi's Avatar
    Member #
    168672
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    samsung fascinate
    #1

    Help With Soundhound

    Can someone tell me why Soundhound doesn't work on my phone? I am wondering if my settings to conserve battery power has something to do with the app not being able to gather the information needed to tell me what is playing on the car radio. Why does the app display a map of my location?
  2. Droid Ninja
    cupfulloflol's Avatar
    Member #
    12086
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,898
    Liked
    65 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by callawassi View Post
    Can someone tell me why Soundhound doesn't work on my phone? I am wondering if my settings to conserve battery power has something to do with the app not being able to gather the information needed to tell me what is playing on the car radio. Why does the app display a map of my location?
    The app or settings could be the culprit. Some of the battery saving apps cause apps to act weird depending on what the battery saving app does. Without knowing what you are using, or what you did, it is impossible to know that for sure. But in theory yes, it could have an impact on a malfunctioning app.

    According to soundhound themselves
    Your Location Saved with your searches in History to help you remember where you heard the song. This can be disabled under Options.
    ^ from SoundHound Inc.
  3. Junior Droid
    callawassi's Avatar
    Member #
    168672
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    samsung fascinate
    #3
    I don't have a specific app such as Juice Defender. I disabled "data" under the mobile networks setting and changed to 3G rather than 4G. Other than lowering the brightness of the screen I have left everything else pretty much the same. I read to disable Google + which I haven't looked into yet. I don't even know if the phone is running Google + to be honest. If Soundhound uses the Internet wouldn't that be a reason the search cannot be found? Also I saw that Soundhound says to change the "port" if you have trouble. Could changing the port cause trouble with the phone. It isn't worth it to me having the app if I am complicating the performance of the phone. The phone isn't rooted.
  4. Droid Ninja
    turdbogls's Avatar
    Member #
    98014
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    O-Town FL
    Posts
    1,074
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    gingersensed thunderbolt
    #4
    yeah, soundhound needs data to work. it searches the internet database to get a match to what it just heard.
  5. Droid Ninja
    cupfulloflol's Avatar
    Member #
    12086
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,898
    Liked
    65 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by callawassi View Post
    I don't have a specific app such as Juice Defender. I disabled "data" under the mobile networks setting and changed to 3G rather than 4G. Other than lowering the brightness of the screen I have left everything else pretty much the same. I read to disable Google + which I haven't looked into yet. I don't even know if the phone is running Google + to be honest. If Soundhound uses the Internet wouldn't that be a reason the search cannot be found? Also I saw that Soundhound says to change the "port" if you have trouble. Could changing the port cause trouble with the phone. It isn't worth it to me having the app if I am complicating the performance of the phone. The phone isn't rooted.
    Yeah you need a data connection for Soundhound to work properly, as it does it's song deciphering magic on their servers, it then sends you the results back.

    Google + enabled or disabled should have nothing to do with it working. Google +, if it comes stock on your device (I kinda doubt the Fascinate would have it stock due to it being relatively new), you would need to be rooted to remove it or be on Ice Cream Sandwich. If you downloaded it yourself, you should be able to remove it via settings > apps > *insert name of app* and then click uninstall.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Soundhound uninstall
    By grantfer in forum Samsung Droid Charge
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-22-2012, 01:00 PM
  2. I Had A Question About Soundhound...
    By neccoguy21 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 08:36 AM
  3. Soundhound
    By mskks64 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2010, 12:12 AM
  4. Soundhound
    By mskks64 in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 11:53 AM
  5. SoundHound NEEDS to come to Android market.
    By spazma7ik in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 02:53 PM

Search tags for this page

how does soundhound work
,
sound hound doesnt work
,
sound hound not working
,
soundhound android not working
,
soundhound cannot connect
,

soundhound doesn't work

,
soundhound no connection
,

soundhound not working

,
why doesn't soundhound work
,
why isn't sound hound working
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+