DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Problem setting homepage & text not "fitting to screen"!

  1. Junior Droid
    Steed77's Avatar
    Member #
    242182
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #1

    Problem setting homepage & text not "fitting to screen"!

    Okay, here are my problems...

    Setting homepage: I have go into my browser settings and selected 'general', then 'set homepage' and then I click on "current page". I am trying to make Yahoo my homepage. Then, after I close out of the web, I enter in again and what do I see...GOOGLE!!! Why can't I set my homepage to anything other than GOOGLE??? Help!!!

    Fit to Screen: I have yet again, went into my browser settings under 'Advanced' and I have checked 'Auto Fit Pages'. But still, when I visit website(other forums) I have to scroll left and right to read instead of the page formatting to my screen. Am I doing something wrong?

    Thanks for any insight on this!

    BTW, loving my New Galaxy so far, big change from my OG Droid!
  2. Junior Droid
    Steed77's Avatar
    Member #
    242182
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    Anyone with this problem...anyone??? :-(
  3. Droid Ninja
    pool_shark's Avatar
    Member #
    52406
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,395
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Verizon Note II
    #3
    I tested it. I set the home page to yahoo, backed out of the browser, went back in and google popped up.
    I force closed the browser, opened it again, and yahoo was my home page.

    As far as resizing, I can't help you other than to say use a different browser. I prefer Dolphin. Download the beta version from their blog, the beta version fixes the hang on ice cream sandwich.
  4. Junior Droid
    Steed77's Avatar
    Member #
    242182
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by pool_shark View Post
    I tested it. I set the home page to yahoo, backed out of the browser, went back in and google popped up.
    I force closed the browser, opened it again, and yahoo was my home page.

    As far as resizing, I can't help you other than to say use a different browser. I prefer Dolphin. Download the beta version from their blog, the beta version fixes the hang on ice cream sandwich.
    Sorry for being a noob, but how do you force close the browser? I have killed it with Advanced Task Killer, but still does not work!

    Dolphin is just a browser, not a launcher, right? I am using Go Launcher EX and I'd like to stick with it.

    Thanks!
  5. Droid Ninja
    pool_shark's Avatar
    Member #
    52406
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,395
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Verizon Note II
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Steed77 View Post
    Sorry for being a noob, but how do you force close the browser? I have killed it with Advanced Task Killer, but still does not work!

    Dolphin is just a browser, not a launcher, right? I am using Go Launcher EX and I'd like to stick with it.

    Thanks!
    Settings - apps - all, find browser, tap force close.

    Yes, Dolphin HD is just a browser.
    I use go launcher also. In case you didn't know, it has a setting that allows you to launch 2 apps by swiping the sceer up or down. I use swipe up to launch the camera, and swipe down to launch the phone.
    The setting is in preferences, operation settings.
  6. Junior Droid
    Steed77's Avatar
    Member #
    242182
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by pool_shark View Post
    Settings - apps - all, find browser, tap force close.

    Yes, Dolphin HD is just a browser.
    I use go launcher also. In case you didn't know, it has a setting that allows you to launch 2 apps by swiping the sceer up or down. I use swipe up to launch the camera, and swipe down to launch the phone.
    The setting is in preferences, operation settings.
    Wow, that's pretty cool, thanks!

    However, I followed directions for homepage and its still not working, weird. Guess I'll check out the dolphin browser.

    Thank you!
  7. Junior Droid
    Steed77's Avatar
    Member #
    242182
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Okay, I give up. Feel like google is forcing their page down my throat.

    I downloaded Dolphin browser, set yahoo for my homepage and STILL GOOGLE comes up in front of my yahoo page on the second tab. WTH is going on? Google comes up with my stock preferences, even when changed. And now it comes up with dolphin? I must be missing something...
  8. Droid Ninja
    pool_shark's Avatar
    Member #
    52406
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,395
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Verizon Note II
    #8
    I don't know what else to tell you. Both browsers use the home page that I set.
  9. Junior Droid
    Steed77's Avatar
    Member #
    242182
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by pool_shark View Post
    I don't know what else to tell you. Both browsers use the home page that I set.
    It's cool. I'm going to take it in tomorrow and see what Verizon thinks...even though most on here probably know more about the phone than they do, lol.

    Thanks for the help!!!
  10. Droid Ninja
    pool_shark's Avatar
    Member #
    52406
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,395
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Verizon Note II
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Steed77 View Post
    It's cool. I'm going to take it in tomorrow and see what Verizon thinks...even though most on here probably know more about the phone than they do, lol.

    Thanks for the help!!!
    No problem. Good luck.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Problem receiving text and "network not found"
    By Xavin in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-23-2011, 09:16 PM
  2. Undoing the "Charge Only" setting on the Droid 2 Global
    By apschaaf in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 08:53 AM
  3. Text Message "Sent" and "Received" Times
    By ammon214 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-17-2011, 10:32 PM
  4. Manually setting "clean" Google apps state?
    By CodeX in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 02:45 PM
  5. How to "Un-remember" a setting answer?
    By ryanc2 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2010, 04:33 PM

Search tags for this page

dolphin browser resize text

,
fit text to screen samsung ring
,
galaxy 4 auto fit
,

galaxy note 2 does not fit internet pages to screen

,
galaxy s3 fit text to screen
,
galaxy s4 autofit text
,

google homepage does not fit screen

,
internet text not fitting to screen note 2
,
samsung galaxy nexus having issues with fit screen to browse
,
text doesnt fit screen on galaxy s4
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+