DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: will fascinate work outside US?

  1. Droid Newbie
    autopilotjesse's Avatar
    Member #
    121429
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    will fascinate work outside US?

    i read this "Unfortunately this isnít a so-called World Phone, so thereís no GSM or UMTS for voice or data use outside of North America."

    I go to Korea and Japan often where they have a totally different network than the rest of the world. It's a 3g type network only, and only some phones will work. My Tmobile Touch Pro 2 will work there, but was wondering if the Samsung Fascinate will work. It will be a deal breaker for me.

    thanks!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #2
    No the Fascinate is a CDMA phone. I think you will need a GSM phone to work in Korea and Japan. All Verizon phones will be CDMA unless listed as a World Phone, then they will be CDMA/GSM compatible.

    If you want an Android World phone, the Droid line is soon to get a World Phone edition if you are willing to wait a month or two.
  4. Droid Newbie
    autopilotjesse's Avatar
    Member #
    121429
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    but verizon said that CDMA is what they use, which is not used in europe. but korea and japan it will work they said.

    International Roaming

    thats a link they gave me that said the phone will work in.
    im currently a tmobile customer and they said their phones are GSM. so the Samsung on THEIR network will work in the opposite countries.

    is there a way to unlock the verizon fascinate to work in gsm networks as well? i know tmobile has some sort of unlock code they give to allow sim cards in other countries.

    i read this Samsung Vibrant Unlocked
    and thought you could unlock the samsung on verizon.
  5. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #4
    Ok I stand corrected. If they use a CDMA network you are good to go. As far as unlocking to use on a GSM network, can't happen. CDMA doesn't use SIM cards the two techs aren't cmopatible at all. You can unlock a phone to go from one GSM service to another ie. T-mobile to ATT and vice versa.
    So if according to VZW you can use the fascinate in those countries I would say you're good to go.
  6. Droid Newbie
    autopilotjesse's Avatar
    Member #
    121429
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    thanks for you feedback

    do you know if tmobile is supposed to get this droid global phone? tmobiles phones have always been subpar to verizon, so i was going to do the switch, but i can't if the phones i wan't arent compatible with most of the world!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Fascinate & PDA net
    By Spartan in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 09:06 PM
  2. Fascinate v X
    By jer39 in forum Samsung Fascinate
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 02:35 PM
  3. ... or the Fascinate?
    By HollidayK in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 11:03 AM
  4. Buy me a Fascinate!
    By Matt4542 in forum Droid 2 Roms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 04:05 AM
  5. my work website does not work on droid
    By k3ith29 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 05:03 PM

Search tags for this page

can i use my samsung fascinate overseas
,

does the samsung fascinate have a sim card

,
samsung fascinate europe
,
samsung fascinate global
,
samsung fascinate global phone
,

samsung fascinate gsm

,
samsung fascinate gsm compatible
,
samsung fascinate gsm or cdma
,

samsung fascinate international use

,
samsung fascinate sim card
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+