DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: How to get to Boot Menu

  1. Junior Droid
    bpark32's Avatar
    Member #
    162843
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    SCH-I500
    #1

    Red face How to get to Boot Menu

    I am rooted Fascinate user. I would like to start trying out some custom ROMs. I was told that I need to know how to get to the boot screen b4 I start flashing ROMs. Does anybody know how to do this? Anybody recommend a custom ROM that kicks a$$ for this phone and doesn't eat battery? I have "Set CPU", but have literally no idea how to use it. When I tried, it worked fine when the phone was open and being used, but once locked, it wouldn't turn on the backlight to unlock the phone causing power down and re-start in order to get going again.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    TAPOUT27's Avatar
    Member #
    34111
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Posts
    2,370
    Twitter
    TapoutTwo7
    Phone
    HTC Tbolt, Fascinate, OG Droid
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by bpark32 View Post
    I am rooted Fascinate user. I would like to start trying out some custom ROMs. I was told that I need to know how to get to the boot screen b4 I start flashing ROMs. Does anybody know how to do this? Anybody recommend a custom ROM that kicks a$$ for this phone and doesn't eat battery? I have "Set CPU", but have literally no idea how to use it. When I tried, it worked fine when the phone was open and being used, but once locked, it wouldn't turn on the backlight to unlock the phone causing power down and re-start in order to get going again.
    are you on the latest DL09 update from VZW?
    is you phone modded at all? bloatware removed etc?

    To manually boot into recovery hold down the vol up+vol down+pwr button until the samsung logo disappears....

    do you have Clockwork Mod Recovery installed?
    Here's How:
    Here's ODIN: http://adrynalyne.us/files/odin/Odin3v1.3.exe or Odin Restore files to get you to stock - xda-developers

    Here's CWM R: http://goo.gl/HELdr

    1. Download ODIN
    2. Put device in "Download Mode" and connect
    - Take out battery
    - Hold volume down button and plug device into computer.(you will see it go to download mode)
    3.. Start ODIN(when it opens there should be a yellow COM port acknowledging your phone)
    4.. Put CWMRecovery.tar in PDA section(never use Phone section) click start
    5. When it says reset and your phone screen goes black, unplug it and put in batt and cover and reboot
    6. Enjoy!

    I cant remember if the ODIN CWR package put an update.zip on your sd card automatically or not, in other words if for some reason you cant get into CWR from say Rom Manager or by manually booting into recovery and applying update.zip
    here is the update.zip, http://dl.dropbox.com/u/458252/Fasci...les/update.zip , you may not need it but here it is if u do......just download, make sure its named update.zip and drop it on the root of your sd card...good to go[/QUOTE]

    here is a good custom Rom to start with -- follow the directions [ROM] DL09 Super Clean 0.4 Release...

    Here is an excellent kernel for batt life and speed...it is optimized by Adrynalyn: http://adrynalyne.us/files/kernels/0...e_novoodoo.zip
    put on root of sd card and install zip from sd card, choose zip from sd card, click on kernel file and yes to install
    HTC Thunderbolt
    ROM changes daily
    1.39.00.0627r Radio
    2750mah Batt & Door

    YouTube: NSMetroid
    GTalk: tapout27@gmail.com
    Twitter: TapoutTwo7
    Xbox 360: Thaiboxer26
  4. Droid Ninja
    TAPOUT27's Avatar
    Member #
    34111
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Posts
    2,370
    Twitter
    TapoutTwo7
    Phone
    HTC Tbolt, Fascinate, OG Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by bpark32 View Post
    I am rooted Fascinate user. I would like to start trying out some custom ROMs. I was told that I need to know how to get to the boot screen b4 I start flashing ROMs. Does anybody know how to do this? Anybody recommend a custom ROM that kicks a$$ for this phone and doesn't eat battery? I have "Set CPU", but have literally no idea how to use it. When I tried, it worked fine when the phone was open and being used, but once locked, it wouldn't turn on the backlight to unlock the phone causing power down and re-start in order to get going again.
    As far as Set CPU goes for the Fascinate....always leave it on Conservative governor...you can set the minimum to 200mhz if you experience audio popping, if not leave it at 100mhz...the phone will automatically clock to the max of the kernel you have installed so you can change the max to a minimum of 800mhz but I wouldnt go any lower than that...I dont use profiles at all as the phone's Conservative gov is pretty good at regulating the clock speed to help performance under load and battery life when idle...I see no need for them...it's a different beast from the Droid 1 where profiles made a huge difference...
    HTC Thunderbolt
    ROM changes daily
    1.39.00.0627r Radio
    2750mah Batt & Door

    YouTube: NSMetroid
    GTalk: tapout27@gmail.com
    Twitter: TapoutTwo7
    Xbox 360: Thaiboxer26
  5. Junior Droid
    bpark32's Avatar
    Member #
    162843
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    SCH-I500
    #4

    Unhappy not sure...

    I don't know about the DL09 update. I am pretty sure it's not modded at all. Still have ALL the f'n bloatware. Havn't figured out how to get rid of that...
    Clockwork Recovery Mod is installed...lol. So I guess it may be modded. Sorry. I've installed ODIN on my laptop. Is that where it needs to be? or shoud that be on my phone. (Holy balls I feel helpless). When you say to put device in "Download Mode"...what is that?
    Sorry for all the questions. Just don't want to screw up the phone by doing something stupid...

    Thanks
  6. Droid Ninja
    TAPOUT27's Avatar
    Member #
    34111
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Posts
    2,370
    Twitter
    TapoutTwo7
    Phone
    HTC Tbolt, Fascinate, OG Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by bpark32 View Post
    I don't know about the DL09 update. I am pretty sure it's not modded at all. Still have ALL the f'n bloatware. Havn't figured out how to get rid of that...
    Clockwork Recovery Mod is installed...lol. So I guess it may be modded. Sorry. I've installed ODIN on my laptop. Is that where it needs to be? or shoud that be on my phone. (Holy balls I feel helpless). When you say to put device in "Download Mode"...what is that?
    Sorry for all the questions. Just don't want to screw up the phone by doing something stupid...

    Thanks
    ok so your rooted? and have CWM Recovery installed correct...? you installed CWMR through ODIN right? per the instructions above

    first make a nandroid backup in CWMR....scroll down to backup and restore/backup and it will make a backup of your current setup...
    HTC Thunderbolt
    ROM changes daily
    1.39.00.0627r Radio
    2750mah Batt & Door

    YouTube: NSMetroid
    GTalk: tapout27@gmail.com
    Twitter: TapoutTwo7
    Xbox 360: Thaiboxer26
  7. Junior Droid
    bpark32's Avatar
    Member #
    162843
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    SCH-I500
    #6
    rooted yes. CWMR installed, but not per instructions above. Installed it awhile ago. Don't remember source. Still back up or uninstall and do it via your instructions?
  8. Droid Ninja
    TAPOUT27's Avatar
    Member #
    34111
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Posts
    2,370
    Twitter
    TapoutTwo7
    Phone
    HTC Tbolt, Fascinate, OG Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by bpark32 View Post
    rooted yes. CWMR installed, but not per instructions above. Installed it awhile ago. Don't remember source. Still back up or uninstall and do it via your instructions?
    ok if you can boot into CWMr then all is good....go ahead and make a backup in CWMr then you will be ok to try Roms etc...also i would look into downloading the stock DL01, DJ05 or DL09 .tar files so you can recover using ODIN in case you 'F' something up etc...

    Odin Restore files to get you to stock - xda-developers
    HTC Thunderbolt
    ROM changes daily
    1.39.00.0627r Radio
    2750mah Batt & Door

    YouTube: NSMetroid
    GTalk: tapout27@gmail.com
    Twitter: TapoutTwo7
    Xbox 360: Thaiboxer26
  9. Junior Droid
    bpark32's Avatar
    Member #
    162843
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    SCH-I500
    #8
    Cool. Thanks. I'll go for it and let u know how it turns out. Much appreciated.
  10. Junior Droid
    bpark32's Avatar
    Member #
    162843
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    SCH-I500
    #9
    From where do I download the DL09 file?
  11. Droid Ninja
    TAPOUT27's Avatar
    Member #
    34111
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    BRENTWOOD, TN
    Posts
    2,370
    Twitter
    TapoutTwo7
    Phone
    HTC Tbolt, Fascinate, OG Droid
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by bpark32 View Post
    From where do I download the DL09 file?
    here's Dl01 Odin Restore files to get you to stock - xda-developers

    here's DL09 *OFFICIAL* DL09.tar.md5 - xda-developers
    HTC Thunderbolt
    ROM changes daily
    1.39.00.0627r Radio
    2750mah Batt & Door

    YouTube: NSMetroid
    GTalk: tapout27@gmail.com
    Twitter: TapoutTwo7
    Xbox 360: Thaiboxer26
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 04:03 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 05:09 PM
  3. Why does this menu pop up on boot?!?!
    By Alleyezonmike in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2010, 02:22 PM
  4. I can't get run adb even though I can get into boot menu
    By gandreae in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 09:16 PM
  5. Can no longer access boot menu??
    By rlandon in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 07:52 PM

Search tags for this page

boot menu fascinate
,
boot menu incredible droid
,

droid incredible boot menu

,
how do i launch boot menu for samsung sch-i500
,
how to access boot menu for samsung
,
how to access boot menu samsung
,
how to access the boot menu on samsung sch-8100
,

how to get to boot menu

,
how to get to he android boot menu
,
samsung enter boot menu
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+