DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: I'm afraid I am SOL, but it doesn't hurt to ask...

  1. Droid Newbie
    markme123's Avatar
    Member #
    94137
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    I'm afraid I am SOL, but it doesn't hurt to ask...

    My Moto Droid (rooted, Smoked Glass) is boot loop stuck.

    but...it may be worse than it sounds:

    I tried updating the Google Maps app to 4.4 version. Incompatible update issues caused me to find a way to uninstall the app, then downloading 4.4 from the marketplace.

    Well I followed this advice:

    I'm running a Droid Froyo-based ROM. I had to erase /system/app/Maps.apk, remove the related <shared-user> tag from /data/system/packages.xml, reboot, and then install Maps from the market. Works fine, now.
    I did the above, making sure to only delete:
    <shared-user name="com.google.android.apps.maps" userId="10005">
    <sigs count="1">
    <cert index="4" />
    </sigs>
    <perms />

    I rebooted the phone and now it just loops the boot screen. Again and again and again. I tried hold up the x+ power and it doesn't work. If only I could access the menu via usb, so I could replace the new .xml file with the original I saved in the SD card.

    Any help?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS/Moderator
    Abe21599's Avatar
    Member #
    18400
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,334
    Liked
    71 times
    Phone
    S3, G2, M8
    Premium Member
    #2
    if you can get into the bootloader screen (power up while holding camera and volume down), you should be able to flash the sbf of stock 2.0.1

    check out link one in my sig on how to do this.
  4. Droid Newbie
    markme123's Avatar
    Member #
    94137
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Abe21599 View Post
    if you can get into the bootloader screen (power up while holding camera and volume down), you should be able to flash the sbf of stock 2.0.1

    check out link one in my sig on how to do this.

    Before I read your instructions I need to clarify that I am running a rooted 2.0.1 Droid on Metro PCS. I do not have access to RSDlite on this computer; unmounted/data, /unmounted cache, and i have never backed up the phone.

    I am at Android System recovery now. My options are:

    reboot system now
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    mount options
    backup/restore
    install


    What would someone recommend I do from here? If possible I would like to bypass the instructions you linked me to, if possible since I am at a work computer.
  5. Senior Droid
    nelamvr6's Avatar
    Member #
    90732
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New London, CT USA
    Posts
    217
    Liked
    18 times
    Phone
    Droid DNA
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by markme123 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Abe21599 View Post
    if you can get into the bootloader screen (power up while holding camera and volume down), you should be able to flash the sbf of stock 2.0.1

    check out link one in my sig on how to do this.

    Before I read your instructions I need to clarify that I am running a rooted 2.0.1 Droid on Metro PCS. I do not have access to RSDlite on this computer; unmounted/data, /unmounted cache, and i have never backed up the phone.

    I am at Android System recovery now. My options are:

    reboot system now
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    mount options
    backup/restore
    install


    What would someone recommend I do from here? If possible I would like to bypass the instructions you linked me to, if possible since I am at a work computer.

    Do you have a data cable with you?

    If so, you can download a ROM onto your computer, then transfer it to the SD card using the "mount/unmount" options that you see. Be sure to rename the ROM you download to "update.zip" before you move it to the SD card, then be sure to place it into the root of the SD card.

    Once that's there you can install the ROM and you'll be back in business.
    Droid DNA, Nexus 7
  6. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by markme123 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Abe21599 View Post
    if you can get into the bootloader screen (power up while holding camera and volume down), you should be able to flash the sbf of stock 2.0.1

    check out link one in my sig on how to do this.

    Before I read your instructions I need to clarify that I am running a rooted 2.0.1 Droid on Metro PCS. I do not have access to RSDlite on this computer; unmounted/data, /unmounted cache, and i have never backed up the phone.

    I am at Android System recovery now. My options are:

    reboot system now
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    mount options
    backup/restore
    install


    What would someone recommend I do from here? If possible I would like to bypass the instructions you linked me to, if possible since I am at a work computer.
    When you are stuck in a boot loop if you can do a wipe data/wipe cache/ Factory Data reset then do that.

    I don't believe you can go to 2.0.1 that wasn't ever on the Droid 2.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  7. Droid Newbie
    markme123's Avatar
    Member #
    94137
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by markme123 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Abe21599 View Post
    if you can get into the bootloader screen (power up while holding camera and volume down), you should be able to flash the sbf of stock 2.0.1

    check out link one in my sig on how to do this.

    Before I read your instructions I need to clarify that I am running a rooted 2.0.1 Droid on Metro PCS. I do not have access to RSDlite on this computer; unmounted/data, /unmounted cache, and i have never backed up the phone.

    I am at Android System recovery now. My options are:

    reboot system now
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    mount options
    backup/restore
    install


    What would someone recommend I do from here? If possible I would like to bypass the instructions you linked me to, if possible since I am at a work computer.
    When you are stuck in a boot loop if you can do a wipe data/wipe cache/ Factory Data reset then do that.

    I don't believe you can go to 2.0.1 that wasn't ever on the Droid 2.
    This an original Moto Droid not a Droid 2. By the way, what data is affected by wiping/resetting?
  8. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #7
    Everything. More or less. Your baseband is left alone, IIRC.
  9. Droid Newbie
    markme123's Avatar
    Member #
    94137
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    Well, wiping the data, cache, and reseting the device worked. I'm just glad it didn't mess up my Metro flash. Thanks, everyone.

    Now, the issue that I have is setting up the internet/web on this phone. I had it, but it stopped working a week back. Which forum should I navigate to to post a thread?
  10. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Are You AFRAID of your Android phone being Obsolete?
    By ipawd1 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 02:27 PM
  2. Afraid the answer is no but I'll ask anyway!
    By TunieV in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 08:40 AM
  3. Does an almost full /system hurt performance?
    By Thepunkinator in forum Koush
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 04:01 PM
  4. This forum makes my brain hurt
    By WarsDarksider in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 04-04-2010, 10:14 AM
  5. could this hurt my phone? (physically)
    By tktouch12 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 01-27-2010, 09:36 PM

Search tags for this page

can a factory reset be done on a flashed cricket phone

,
can you factory data reset a phone if it is flashed htc
,
droid x reset lost metropcs flash
,
droid x to metro pcs after factory reset
,
factory data reset mess up flashed phone
,
factory data reset metro pc phone
,
factory reset affect metro pcs flash
,
how to flash motorola devour to metro pcs
,
motorola devour flashing metro
,
phone flashed to cricket will factory data reset mess it up
,
phone stuck on metro pcs loop
,
system update mess up flashed phone
,
will a factory reset mess up a phone flashed to metro
,
will a master reset ruin my metro flash
,
will a system upgrade mess up a flashed phone
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+