DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Droid 2, running 2.2, stock, no root, WiFi not working

  1. Droid Newbie
    superflydean's Avatar
    Member #
    104508
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Droid 2, running 2.2, stock, no root, WiFi not working

    I am really a pretty new user. I have been an iPhone guy for years but had enough of AT&T. I went down to Verizon to pick up a Droid 2, took it home, and could not for the life of me get the thing to work on my WiFi.

    I am using WPA2, with a PSK on the router. I can see the IP address that is given to the device from the router. The Droid 2 has the correct DHCP address. It looks from the router perspective that it is giving the Droid 2 access.

    But for some reason when there's no 3G available (it's spotty inside my house). I can't do ANYTHING on the Internet. I do not believe the WiFi is being used, even though it appears that it should be able to.

    Since I'm a pretty new user, is there any setting somewhere on the Droid 2 that I'm missing? I can see the little WiFi signal strength indicator and it's all the way up. Still can't get it to work. Any basic tips?

    EDIT: Note also I found out that when I shut off the WiFi, the 3G network kicks in more consistently. Really would rather use my WiFi though...
    Last edited by superflydean; 08-15-2010 at 11:09 PM. Reason: Adding info for troubleshooting.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. The GRD Dev Team
    WoZzY's Avatar
    Member #
    74902
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SouthWest,FL
    Posts
    1,152
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    THEGRDDEVTEAM
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D Virgin Mobile
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    I have a droid 1 but I will try my best here .......gO INTO SETTINGS INTO WIRELESS make sure wifi is on...if that is done already put the phone in airplane mode then try turning off airplane mode off see if that helps........................... if not this worked on my droid one I dont know what type of router you have but I have a cisco linksys i had to push down a the middle button down for it to accept my phone on the wireless network after that it remembered my phone
    WoZzY
  4. The GRD Dev Team
    WoZzY's Avatar
    Member #
    74902
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    SouthWest,FL
    Posts
    1,152
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    THEGRDDEVTEAM
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D Virgin Mobile
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #3
    also try going to your desktop/laptop & navigating to your routers set up page you might have to add your droid 2 manaully to your network
    WoZzY
  5. Droid Newbie
    superflydean's Avatar
    Member #
    104508
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    Nope and nope. My router recognizes and gives the device an address. Also, all of my other devices work fine (laptop, PS3, etc...). I even changed the password so in case there was some kind of formatting error or something, and still everything else could go out to the Internet but the Droid 2 could not. My iPhone never had this problem.

    Anyone else with some info?
  6. Master Droid
    gatewayad's Avatar
    Member #
    1144
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    521
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    This seems to be a problem with many people, but to my surprise I called Verizon and they said they have not heard any complaints about the wifi. Told me to do a Factory Data Reset, guess what no help.
    Thunderbolt

    Why Root? - Because I Can




  7. Droid Newbie
    foofoo's Avatar
    Member #
    105113
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid2
    #6
    try and change your router from AES encryption to TKIP and it should start working.
  8. Junior Droid
    okmista's Avatar
    Member #
    103242
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Queen, NY
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 2
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by superflydean View Post
    I am really a pretty new user. I have been an iPhone guy for years but had enough of AT&T. I went down to Verizon to pick up a Droid 2, took it home, and could not for the life of me get the thing to work on my WiFi.

    I am using WPA2, with a PSK on the router. I can see the IP address that is given to the device from the router. The Droid 2 has the correct DHCP address. It looks from the router perspective that it is giving the Droid 2 access.

    But for some reason when there's no 3G available (it's spotty inside my house). I can't do ANYTHING on the Internet. I do not believe the WiFi is being used, even though it appears that it should be able to.

    Since I'm a pretty new user, is there any setting somewhere on the Droid 2 that I'm missing? I can see the little WiFi signal strength indicator and it's all the way up. Still can't get it to work. Any basic tips?



    EDIT: Note also I found out that when I shut off the WiFi, the 3G network kicks in more consistently. Really would rather use my WiFi though...
    Any resolution here?

    I just switched to D2 from D1 after a slew of problems since 2.2 upgrade. I've has D2 for about two days and noticed a few things including shoddy wifi connection. The reason why I suspect it's the D2 and not my wifi connections is

    1. With my D1, I've never had this problem where I'm connected to wifi @ full strength and can't browse the internet.
    2. My husband has a iPhone4 and he can utilize our wifi at the same time with no problem.
    3. Full strength signal indcated @ the top.

    Also I noticed that when this happens, I try to reboot wifi, at which point it kicks in 3G and when the wifi reboots, it works ok for a bit then the connection drops off. As I was trying to connect to reply to this thread and my wifi wasn't working. I'm convinced it's the phone...I just wonder if it's all phones OR we are just knowledgeable owners who know or suspect a crap phone. I'm pretty sure it isn't your wifi or your password.

    On another note, I hate how there are random applications run in the background and there is nothing I can do about them. I can't even uninstall the apps (skype, social media, etc)

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Wifi on computer stops working after using wifi on droid
    By geronimogman in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 02:45 PM
  2. Can you root a droid currently running 2.2?
    By Philbert09 in forum Droid Rooted Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 03:33 PM
  3. DROID ~ Stock - Root - Dead - Reborn, Stock. Questions.
    By tCub in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 04:17 PM
  4. Themes for Droid running stock ESE81?
    By htartisan in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 11:31 AM
  5. Is it impossible to root a Droid that's already running 2.1?
    By mcflied in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-22-2009, 01:08 PM

Search tags for this page

android 2.2 wifi not working
,
android 2.2 wireless problems
,
droid 2 global wifi not working
,
droid 2 ip address
,

droid 2 wifi

,
droid 2 wifi disabled
,
droid 2 wifi problem
,
droid2 wifi browse disabled
,
root droid 2 2.2
,
wifi not working on android 2.2
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+