DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: can't boot to recovery...?

  1. Senior Droid
    xoluvsdance12's Avatar
    Member #
    86172
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    108
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #1

    can't boot to recovery...?

    my motorola droid is rooted and i'm using the sapphire rom. i want to do a nandroid backup but it won't let me boot to recovery. i'm holding down the x button while powering up and it just shows the M icon. after awhile when i'm sure its not going to do anything else, i give up and let go of x and my phone boots up back to normal. is there something wrong? how can i fix this?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by xoluvsdance12 View Post
    my motorola droid is rooted and i'm using the sapphire rom. i want to do a nandroid backup but it won't let me boot to recovery. i'm holding down the x button while powering up and it just shows the M icon. after awhile when i'm sure its not going to do anything else, i give up and let go of x and my phone boots up back to normal. is there something wrong? how can i fix this?
    Did you try doing a 30 second battery pull? It will allow the capacitors to fully discharge. Give it a try and get back to us.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #3
    Open Rom Manager and reflash Clockwork Recovery, then flash SpRecovery and if you want to use Clockwork,then reflash it again. I am not suggesting that you use Rom Manager to do anything other than this action. I strongly recommend using the recovery of your choice for backups, restores and loading .zip files.

    good luck.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  5. Senior Droid
    xoluvsdance12's Avatar
    Member #
    86172
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    108
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #4
    thanks! i didn't realize i had to first flash sprecovery...is backing up my rom in rom manager the same as doing a nandroid backup?
  6. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #5
    If you used ROM Manager to do your backup, it used clockwork to do that. So if you want to access that backup reflash clockwork and try to reboot into recovery (clockwork recovery). Or use Rom manager to do a restore or to reinstall the Rom.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Baton Rouge, LA
  7. Senior Droid
    Steeeler's Avatar
    Member #
    1936
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by BayouFlyFisher View Post
    Open Rom Manager and reflash Clockwork Recovery, then flash SpRecovery and if you want to use Clockwork,then reflash it again. I am not suggesting that you use Rom Manager to do anything other than this action. I strongly recommend using the recovery of your choice for backups, restores and loading .zip files.

    good luck.
    For whatever reason, I have had this problem a couple of times. That is one thing Clockwork is good for, to flash back and forth and unstuck whatever gets stuck on the recovery.
  8. Droid Ninja
    tu3218's Avatar
    Member #
    5875
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Posts
    1,219
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    I had this problem and I reflashed sprecovery an then I turned off my phone and tried to boot into recovery. This still didn't work. So I turned my phone back on an reflashed clockwork again. I haven't tried this yet because after I flashed sprecovery an turned my phone back on it appeared as if my when through the boot animation twice, which scared me but it did boot up. any suggestions?
  9. Senior Droid
    xoluvsdance12's Avatar
    Member #
    86172
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    108
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by BayouFlyFisher View Post
    If you used ROM Manager to do your backup, it used clockwork to do that. So if you want to access that backup reflash clockwork and try to reboot into recovery (clockwork recovery). Or use Rom manager to do a restore or to reinstall the Rom.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    ok but do they both backup the same information?
  10. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by xoluvsdance12 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by BayouFlyFisher View Post
    If you used ROM Manager to do your backup, it used clockwork to do that. So if you want to access that backup reflash clockwork and try to reboot into recovery (clockwork recovery). Or use Rom manager to do a restore or to reinstall the Rom.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    ok but do they both backup the same information?
    They do, but the backups are not interchangeable. You cannot use a clockwork backup using spr and vice versa.

    I used spr for months and months (January to July) and just recently switched to clockwork because it will do installs from sdcard without having to rename the file. I do not use Rom Manager though.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  11. Droid Jedi
    sweeeeet's Avatar
    Member #
    58717
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    7,718
    Liked
    231 times
    Phone
    Samsung Note Duece
    #10
    Open Rom Manager and reflash Clockwork Recovery, then flash SpRecovery and if you want to use Clockwork,then reflash it again. I am not suggesting that you use Rom Manager to do anything other than this action. I strongly recommend using the recovery of your choice for backups, restores and loading .zip files.

    good luck.
    that worked for me ty.... i've been having Rom Manager problems everytime I use it
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Cannot boot into recovery
    By lighthazard in forum Bugless
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 09:19 AM
  2. Put 2.2 on and now cant boot into recovery.
    By Coachpatato in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 09:30 PM
  3. cant boot to recovery
    By vmann32 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 07:24 PM
  4. Can't boot into Recovery?
    By koush in forum Koush
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2010, 07:16 PM
  5. cant boot into recovery?
    By jstafford1 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 04:13 PM

Search tags for this page

can't access clockwork recovery samsung fascinate

,

can't boot into clockwork recovery samsung fascinate

,

cant boot into clockwork recovery samsung fascinate

,

fascinate cannot boot into recovery

,
fascinate wont boot into recovery
,
galaxy fascinate can't boot to clockwork
,
samsung fascinate can't reboot
,
samsung fascinate cannot boot into clockwork recovery
,
samsung fascinate wont boot clockwork recovery
,

wmt2.12 105

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+