DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rooting.. can't even complete first step

  1. Junior Droid
    007's Avatar
    Member #
    74285
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    27
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Rooting.. can't even complete first step

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hac...ot-unroot.html

    I'm using this..

    as far as I know I'm doing everything he's told me to do.

    I can't get my phone to show up as a model on RSDLite

    Any help would be appreciated
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    Vulcan1600's Avatar
    Member #
    7183
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5,569
    Liked
    245 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    Premium Member
    #2
    Just moved to Rescue Squad area for assistance.
    Thank you to all who have served or are serving our great country. You're always in my thoughts and prayers.

    Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. - Ronald Reagan
    --------

  4. Junior Droid
    hoagie52's Avatar
    Member #
    45616
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    That happened to me once all I had to do was in the system tray I saw my droid as a added drive I click on it and then it showed up in rsdlite
  5. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,626
    Liked
    1686 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #4


    when I first used rsdlite i followed this and it help. skip to like the 6 min mark
  6. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,626
    Liked
    1686 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #5
    Ima move this to the rooting area.
  7. Droid
    xxdieselxx's Avatar
    Member #
    69975
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    30
    Phone
    moto droid rooted
    #6
    i had the same issue but i added the correct driver and then it showed up
    http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/..._bit_4.6.0.zip 32bit

    http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/Support/Experiences/Global_Drivers/USB_Drivers_64_bit_4.6.0.zip 64 bit


    dl the correct one and turn on rsd then plug phone in..wait for the usb drivers to finish then restart rsd

    worked for me
    Last edited by xxdieselxx; 06-03-2010 at 08:47 PM.
  8. Master Droid
    kristoff125's Avatar
    Member #
    21283
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    596
    Phone
    D3
    #7
    I would recommend not rooting with RSD. The way I prefer to do anything, because it's easier and I'm not extremely intelligent with all this technological computer stuff, is install update.zip. Much easier to do and harder to mess up.
  9. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #8

    Re: Rooting.. can't even complete first step

    I would recommend not rooting with RSD. The way I prefer to do anything, because it's easier and I'm not extremely intelligent with all this technological computer stuff, is install update.zip. Much easier to do and harder to mess up.
    If you are on 2.1 there is no update.zip to root. You have to use RSD.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. Master Droid
    kristoff125's Avatar
    Member #
    21283
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    596
    Phone
    D3
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by jstafford1 View Post
    I would recommend not rooting with RSD. The way I prefer to do anything, because it's easier and I'm not extremely intelligent with all this technological computer stuff, is install update.zip. Much easier to do and harder to mess up.
    If you are on 2.1 there is no update.zip to root. You have to use RSD.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
    Ah, I never bothered with 2.1, I updated to it, went back to a 2.0.1 rom with just about all the features, now moved onto froyo, which conveniently came with root.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 303
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 12:42 PM
  2. Need Step By Step For rooting Droid Eris Please!!
    By mostwanted231 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-17-2010, 03:02 PM
  3. Link to a step by step on rooting without a pc?
    By velocity92c in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2010, 07:56 PM
  4. Any1 can give me a step by step to custom boot animation
    By richz in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 06:33 PM
Find us on Google+