DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: hard reset help

  1. Junior Droid
    fisher_i_am's Avatar
    Member #
    65231
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    hard reset help

    I got a very old droid with old software and the hard reset ("x" and power button) does not bring up the arrow as I understand it should. Verizon store could not get this to work either. I'm trying to do this to load the latest version of sw on the phone.

    any suggestions on how to hard reset this phone?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    jtydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    62421
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    123
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by fisher_i_am View Post
    I got a very old droid with old software and the hard reset ("x" and power button) does not bring up the arrow as I understand it should. Verizon store could not get this to work either. I'm trying to do this to load the latest version of sw on the phone.

    any suggestions on how to hard reset this phone?
    Just want to be sure you're following the process right before we look at other options, you're holding X the entire time the phone is booting up? You don't need to hold the power button after it turns on, but you do have to hold X.
  4. Junior Droid
    fisher_i_am's Avatar
    Member #
    65231
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    I did as you say and all i get prior to the wallpaper is "android" in small funky green leters and a small green droid guy.... then it goes to my wallpaper.

    thanks for the prompt reply
  5. Senior Droid
    jtydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    62421
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    123
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #4
    Try connecting to your PC and holding 'up' on the d-pad, does that access the bootloader?

    You may have to use RSD to do a clean flash to 2.01

    In fact, it may be that that's what you had to do all along. I'm something of an slightly-experienced novice at this stuff.
  6. Junior Droid
    fisher_i_am's Avatar
    Member #
    65231
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    ok, i'm very new in with droid thing..

    connected to pc and the up on the d pad only highlights different icons on main screen.

    not sure what rsd is?

    I'm afraid I'm a bit useless here and really appreciate your help and prompt replies
  7. Senior Droid
    jtydroid's Avatar
    Member #
    62421
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    123
    Phone
    Motorolla Droid
    #6
    There's a lot more than I can explain in the Droid Hacks forum, look for a Sticky that talks about flashing to stock 2.01

    That said, you have to restart the droid while it's connected to your pc, then hold up untill it loads the bootloader (it happens very quickly).

    It's very odd that X while reloading wont work though, I hope someone else chimes in with some thoughts on that before you have to learn how to use RSD.

    RSD is a software that allows you to flash over the existing software on your phone from your pc.
  8. Master Droid
    coolkidd's Avatar
    Member #
    1041
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    322
    Phone
    DROID
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by fisher_i_am View Post
    ok, i'm very new in with droid thing..

    connected to pc and the up on the d pad only highlights different icons on main screen.

    not sure what rsd is?

    I'm afraid I'm a bit useless here and really appreciate your help and prompt replies
    RSD Lite is the software Verizon Techs uses to flash your phone. If you went to them, they should have flashed your phone already.
  9. Master Droid
    Vitticeps's Avatar
    Member #
    9160
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    517
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #8
    when you get to that screen with android and the green droid guy you have to press Volume UP and Camera buttons at the same time. Then you will get the recovery screen.

    Do what you did before, hold X while powering on until motorola logo is gone and android guy is there. Then press volume up and camera.
  10. Junior Droid
    fisher_i_am's Avatar
    Member #
    65231
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Vitticeps View Post
    when you get to that screen with android and the green droid guy you have to press Volume UP and Camera buttons at the same time. Then you will get the recovery screen.

    Do what you did before, hold X while powering on until motorola logo is gone and android guy is there. Then press volume up and camera.

    thanks for this, but i still can get it to hard reset.... beginning to wonder if this droid will ever work?

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Hard reset to recover
    By sst45jeff in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 11:55 AM
  2. How to Hard Reset Your Droid
    By EuroTrashHollywood in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2010, 07:53 PM
  3. How Do You Do A Hard Reset?
    By Colinjohnson94 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 01:16 PM
  4. Droid hard reset on it's own
    By My3buicks in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 09:47 AM
  5. a way to hard reset?
    By SDiener72 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-07-2009, 06:34 AM

Search tags for this page

droid bionic holding power button does not bring prompt up
,

droid will not hard reset

,
factory reset android from computer
,
hard reset motorola droid 4 to computer
,
how to reset a droid that is working on it's own.
,
motorola droid wont factory reset
,

reset android phone from computer

,
reset droid x through computer
,
reset motorola droid threw pc
,

what happens when you factory reset droid x

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+