DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: SetCPU bug?

  1. Droid Newbie
    bpyazel's Avatar
    Member #
    61229
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    SetCPU bug?

    I've been toying around with roms for a few weeks and just recently noticed this. When using setCPU to overclock and having the phone charging via an AC outlet, the phone never reaches the min speed and never goes below 500mhz. This does not happen when charging via USB (tested it on two computers and my car USB with three different cables, and yes I verified it was charging on all three). SetCPU is on auto-refresh.

    I always run all profiles with a min setting of 250mhz (main screen too). Now the green numbers say the correct values, but the white number will never drop to the min setting, or even below 500mhz. I can change the main screen to 250/250 and it still stays at 500mhz while charging via AC. I can change charging profile to 250/250 and it still stays at 500mhz also. Unplug the charger and it will drop to 250mhz with no problem. Plug it in and it goes right back up to 500mhz.

    Someone mentioned that SetCPU does not refresh automatically when plugging in while it is running on the screen and maybe that was it. I verified this was untrue, because on a setting of 250/600 I drag the notification bar to cause it to ramp up to 600mhz and then back down to 500mhz and I can see it. Even so, I went ahead and closed out SetCPU, plugged the charger in and opened up SetCPU after. Still at 500mhz.

    I also ran SeeCPU while in SetCPU to see if maybe something was running the cpu up while charging. It runs around 5% - 10% cpu load while doing nothing, yet still at 500mhz.

    So, I did more testing. I tested both Cyanogen 5.0.6.2 and Smoked Glass 6.0.1 roms and multiple kernels. I wiped BOOT, SYSTEM, CACHE and DATA before each install. They ALL did it. The only difference was that the minimum speed changed depending on the kernel. The faster the kernel, the faster the minimum speed. One would not go below 700mhz when plugged in to AC.

    I have to assume this is a SetCPU thing. Is this supposed to happen? I would think the phone would charge faster if it didn't. Is it intended or a bug? Can anyone else out there check their phone when plugged in to AC (NOT USB) and check what their white number says?

    Thanks
  2. Beta Team
    Tanknspank's Avatar
    Member #
    27138
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,548
    Phone
    Droid 1
    Premium Member
    #2
    Hmm, odd. I had never noticed this before.

    Try posting it as a bug in the official thread here over at xda. Maybe the dev can help you out, or get it fixed.
    -----------------------------------
    Rom: CyanogenMod 7 Winner00's Nightly #85
    Recovery: ClockworkMod 3.1.0.2
    Kernel: Prime's deprimed_test
    Theme: Stock
    Launcher: ADW EX 1.2.2
    Launcher Theme: Gingerbread
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/ihaztehwingz

    -----------------------------------
  3. Master Droid
    samiusmc's Avatar
    Member #
    15760
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    756
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by bpyazel View Post
    I've been toying around with roms for a few weeks and just recently noticed this. When using setCPU to overclock and having the phone charging via an AC outlet, the phone never reaches the min speed and never goes below 500mhz. This does not happen when charging via USB (tested it on two computers and my car USB with three different cables, and yes I verified it was charging on all three). SetCPU is on auto-refresh.

    I always run all profiles with a min setting of 250mhz (main screen too). Now the green numbers say the correct values, but the white number will never drop to the min setting, or even below 500mhz. I can change the main screen to 250/250 and it still stays at 500mhz while charging via AC. I can change charging profile to 250/250 and it still stays at 500mhz also. Unplug the charger and it will drop to 250mhz with no problem. Plug it in and it goes right back up to 500mhz.

    Someone mentioned that SetCPU does not refresh automatically when plugging in while it is running on the screen and maybe that was it. I verified this was untrue, because on a setting of 250/600 I drag the notification bar to cause it to ramp up to 600mhz and then back down to 500mhz and I can see it. Even so, I went ahead and closed out SetCPU, plugged the charger in and opened up SetCPU after. Still at 500mhz.

    I also ran SeeCPU while in SetCPU to see if maybe something was running the cpu up while charging. It runs around 5% - 10% cpu load while doing nothing, yet still at 500mhz.

    So, I did more testing. I tested both Cyanogen 5.0.6.2 and Smoked Glass 6.0.1 roms and multiple kernels. I wiped BOOT, SYSTEM, CACHE and DATA before each install. They ALL did it. The only difference was that the minimum speed changed depending on the kernel. The faster the kernel, the faster the minimum speed. One would not go below 700mhz when plugged in to AC.

    I have to assume this is a SetCPU thing. Is this supposed to happen? I would think the phone would charge faster if it didn't. Is it intended or a bug? Can anyone else out there check their phone when plugged in to AC (NOT USB) and check what their white number says?

    Thanks
    You're right, I just noticed that. What speed are you overclocking at? I'm at 800 MHz but what I've just noticed is that when charging with the AC adapter, it locks in at 800 MHz regardless of what I set it to.
  4. Droid Ninja
    JCo352's Avatar
    Member #
    36721
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,830
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid A855
    #4
    Yep, I just checked, and everytime I plug it in, it goes to 550MHz, even though I have it set to 250min 250max.
    FroYo
    Follow me on
    Twitter
  5. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #5
    This is probably not a setcpu bug, more likely the phone runs at 550 when plugged in and charging. I'm gonna charge mine up and see if it will drop below 550 once fully charged.
  6. Droid Ninja
    JCo352's Avatar
    Member #
    36721
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,830
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid A855
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by jstafford1 View Post
    This is probably not a setcpu bug, more likely the phone runs at 550 when plugged in and charging. I'm gonna charge mine up and see if it will drop below 550 once fully charged.
    I was thinking that too, but why would Setcpu make a charging profile, if it doesn't do anything?
    FroYo
    Follow me on
    Twitter
  7. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by JCo352 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jstafford1 View Post
    This is probably not a setcpu bug, more likely the phone runs at 550 when plugged in and charging. I'm gonna charge mine up and see if it will drop below 550 once fully charged.
    I was thinking that too, but why would Setcpu make a charging profile, if it doesn't do anything?
    If it will drop down once fully charged then it makes sense. The battery gets pretty hot sitting on the charger. I sometimes leave mine on the charger and use it at work. I never noticed it it dropped to 250, but will check tonight.
  8. Master Droid
    samiusmc's Avatar
    Member #
    15760
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    756
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by JCo352 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jstafford1 View Post
    This is probably not a setcpu bug, more likely the phone runs at 550 when plugged in and charging. I'm gonna charge mine up and see if it will drop below 550 once fully charged.
    I was thinking that too, but why would Setcpu make a charging profile, if it doesn't do anything?
    I don't think that's it. Mines is fully charged and still doing it. Maybe it's the ROM or kernel. I'm using Cyanogen 5.0.6.2 with Bekit SV 5x1200
  9. Droid Ninja
    JCo352's Avatar
    Member #
    36721
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,830
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid A855
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by jstafford1 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by JCo352 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by jstafford1 View Post
    This is probably not a setcpu bug, more likely the phone runs at 550 when plugged in and charging. I'm gonna charge mine up and see if it will drop below 550 once fully charged.
    I was thinking that too, but why would Setcpu make a charging profile, if it doesn't do anything?
    If it will drop down once fully charged then it makes sense. The battery gets pretty hot sitting on the charger. I sometimes leave mine on the charger and use it at work. I never noticed it it dropped to 250, but will check tonight.
    Well since I read this thread, I put mine on the charger, so I will be able to tell ya in about 10 minutes.
    FroYo
    Follow me on
    Twitter
  10. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #10
    ok...mines charging as well but be a little longer. Let us know.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. setcpu
    By lithoman in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 10:35 PM
  2. You don't have to buy setCPU!
    By Tanknspank in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 10:18 PM
  3. setcpu?
    By ogbobby4 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 04:36 PM
  4. setCPU
    By zparrish in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 10:37 PM
  5. How exactly do I use setCPU?
    By jrl9851 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-04-2010, 11:52 PM

Search tags for this page

atrix set cpu not workinf
,

atrix setcpu scaling

,
atrix setcpu wont work
,

bug no setcpu do motorola atrix

,
me860 2.3.4
,
set cpu charging profile
,

setcpu atrix

,

setcpu atrix profiles

,

setcpu atrix scaling

,
setcpu doesnt work atrix
,
setcpu not working in atrix
,
setcpu not working on motorola atrix
,
setcpu phone not charging
,

setcpu profile wont work atrix

,
setcpu scaling me860
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+