DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Set CPU help

  1. Junior Droid
    Mayday's Avatar
    Member #
    32840
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Set CPU help

    Hi... let me preface this by saying that I am NOT a technically savvy person... at all. But.. I just rooted this past weekend and installed Bugless Beast. Today I installed Chevy's low volt 1.1. I also downloaded Set CPU.... but when I click on it it says that "no root detected". I rechecked and I still have my little superuser permission ninja... and there's nothing but + signs across the board...

    Any ideas? Would be sooooo appreciated!

    BTW... what you guys do is awesome! Thx!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,613
    Liked
    1675 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #2
    are you still getting the msg when you open setcpu
  4. Junior Droid
    Mayday's Avatar
    Member #
    32840
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    yeah. When I open Set CPU it is a black screen for a few seconds (I'm assuming it's checking the settings) and then it says "No root access detected". It also asks if applications have access to root.
  5. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #4
    You may have selected a phone model when you installed it. If so, uninstall it and reinstall it, you won't have to pay again. When it first opens use auto detect, do not pick the droid from the list of phones.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
  6. Droid Ninja
    Erron's Avatar
    Member #
    1660
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,076
    Phone
    droid
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #5
    Maybe you don't have busybox installed.
  7. Junior Droid
    Mayday's Avatar
    Member #
    32840
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #6
    I checked the auto-detect option the first time through. Nevertheless... i just uninstalled it and when I go back to do the reinstall it says that the download was unsuccessful. A little frustrating.

    Also... I'm pretty sure I have busybox installed from when I went through the whole rooting and installing the rom process... unless it got deleted somewhere along the way. Not sure how that would happen... but that certainly doesn't mean much.

    I want to add that although the "no root access detected" message is only up for me to see for about a second (literally)... I'm pretty sure that it also says "read-only".
  8. Junior Droid
    Mayday's Avatar
    Member #
    32840
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Well I was finally able to reinstall Set CPU, but it still says "no root access detected" Also says "operating in read-only mode".

    It's frustrating having finally gone through the process of rooting and installing a kernel... and then not being able to take advantage of overclocking my droid. Oh well... worse things could happen.
  9. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Mayday View Post
    Well I was finally able to reinstall Set CPU, but it still says "no root access detected" Also says "operating in read-only mode".

    It's frustrating having finally gone through the process of rooting and installing a kernel... and then not being able to take advantage of overclocking my droid. Oh well... worse things could happen.
    Ok...just to see. Open terminal emulator and type su and hit enter
  10. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #9
    Try this:

    Open one of the terminal emulators (available in the Market) and type the following exactly:

    su

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox


    mount -o remount,ro -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    sync

    exit
    Baton Rouge, LA
  11. Junior Droid
    Mayday's Avatar
    Member #
    32840
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10

    Cool

    [quote=jstafford1;358301]
    Quote Originally Posted by Mayday View Post
    Well I was finally able to reinstall Set CPU, but it still says "no root access detected" Also says "operating in read-only mode".

    It's frustrating having finally gone through the process of rooting and installing a kernel... and then not being able to take advantage of overclocking my droid. Oh well... worse things could happen.
    Ok...just to see. Open terminal emulator and type su and hit enter[/QUOTE

    Ok. Done... but it says "permission denied".
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

android setcpu root access not detected
,
busybox root access not detected
,
set cpu not detecting root
,
set cpu root permission denied
,
set cpu, read only mode
,
setcpu denied root on boot
,

setcpu no root access detected

,
setcpu not detect root
,

setcpu not detecting root

,
setcpu read only mode
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+