DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Rom Manager won't boot into ClockworkMod Recovery

  1. Droid Newbie
    reptoid's Avatar
    Member #
    51824
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Rom Manager won't boot into ClockworkMod Recovery

    I've downloaded Rom Manager premium and have attempted to flash Ultimate Droid 8.1.1. After I attempt to flash, however, the phone doesn't restart in ClockworkMod recovery. I just get the Droid phone icon with an exclamation point and have to manually switch into the root menu to restart my phone.

    I've tried this several times and but just can't get it to flash.


    Anyone know why it's not working properly?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,620
    Liked
    1682 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #2
    Did you root yet and how did you root.
  4. RS Admin
    jstafford1's Avatar
    Member #
    4777
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hebron, Oh.
    Posts
    9,060
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    jstaff79
    Phone
    D-R-O-I-D 3
    Premium Member
    #3
    Ok I'm not familiar with clockwork yet so I'm getting someone in here to help you out. Be patient and we'll get you squared away.


    And there he is....thanks pilotcharles
    Last edited by jstafford1; 03-27-2010 at 09:51 AM. Reason: slow typing....
  5. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,620
    Liked
    1682 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #4
    The explanation point is usually seen when you originally root and are about to install sprecovery.

    step 1) make sure you are rooted and have sprecovery/nandroid backup. There are a couple ways to do this, I personally use droidmod but here is a list:
    here are a few:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hac...oidmod-16.html

    Complete How-To on How to Mod Your Phone (2.1 ROM, O/C, MM, Boot Animation, etc)

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hac...plete-how.html

    How-to: Install bugless beast for noobs!


    2) Install astro file manager and titanium backup. And use both to backup all you apps. (if you reinstall your apps with astro then just restore data only with titanium you will have your apps stored on your sd card to free up internal memory, and the data from titanium keeps you from have to redo all your set ups. With handcent I have custom notifications and pics for my contacts, by restoring data I do not have to go through all that again.

    3) install the home switcher app (not required but makes it quick to switch between the home screen and launcher just in case IMO)

    4) follow steps in post 7
    Last edited by pc747; 03-27-2010 at 10:16 AM.
  6. Master Droid
    forkup's Avatar
    Member #
    184
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    317
    #5
    Did you flash the clockworkmod recovery?
  7. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,620
    Liked
    1682 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #6
    assuming you getting this

    at the same time and you will come to this screen, dont worry!
  8. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,620
    Liked
    1682 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #7
    I am running clockwork. But before I did. I used droidmod to install my nandroid back up and sprecovery for me. Then From their I installed rom manager. Flashed clockwork recovery, backed up current rom, downloaded rom clockwork 5.0.5.



    original image is sized 480x854.
  9. RS Admin
    pc747's Avatar
    Member #
    18832
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    16,620
    Liked
    1682 times
    Phone
    moto droid
    Premium Member
    #8
    You should not see the explanation point ever. You will either see clockwork recovery or sprecovery. That is why I am asking you how did you root.
  10. Droid Newbie
    reptoid's Avatar
    Member #
    51824
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    I have rooted and I flashed to the Clockworkmod recovery rom.


    I rooted using the directions at this forum

    1 - Download the droid-super_user.zip file from: http://alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=659 (md5sum cf653352967253e99d967498ffd9ce69).
    Do not extract.
    2 - Rename the file to "update.zip".
    3 - Plug your Droid into your computer via USB. On the Droid go to the Notifications bar and select "USB Connected" then press "Mount".
    4 - Once the device is mounted, the SD card will show as a removable device on your computer
    5 - Put the "update.zip" file you just renamed into the Root (top) directory of your SD Card.
    6 - Unmount the device from your computer, and turn the Droid off.
    7 - Hold down the "X" key on the physical keyboard and while doing so press the power button. Hold both of them down until you see a Triangle with an !.
    8 - Press the Vol+ and the Camera button together until you get a menu.
    9 - Using the D-pad on the physical keyboard, select the option to update with the update.zip file.
    10 - This should take a little bit. Once it's done select the option to reboot the phone.

    How to Root your Droid<<<ONLY
  11. Droid
    mightym's Avatar
    Member #
    11498
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    48
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #10
    I copied this from another thread. since i need help


    Now i got it into clockwork once i updated to the latest RM and clockwork 1.1.7.8.4, but now when it reboots into clockwork it ends up aborting due to error in /sdcard/clockworkmod/download/koush.romraid.com/motorola/sholes/cyanogen_ota_eng.koush_5.0.5.3.zip

    any ideas? should i remove this file from sd card and try to reinstall it within RM?

    btw, when i reboot from clockwork it makes me do the google sign in to sync. but i find it weird some of my apps are still there after this whole mess.

    the cyanogen file is 69.2 MB in size. does that look right?


    i rooted via dmupdater. i dont have sprecovery. just clockwork.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Stuck in ClockworkMod Recovery
    By hydrolex99 in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 200
    Last Post: 02-07-2012, 02:35 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 07:10 PM
  3. Needs recovery boot
    By dabuda in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 03:58 PM
  4. cant boot into recovery?
    By jstafford1 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2010, 04:13 PM
  5. Can't boot into Recovery Mode
    By sizdub in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 01:03 PM

Search tags for this page

android rom manager won't boot into recovery
,
rom manager does not reboot into recovery
,
rom manager doesnt boot into recovery
,
rom manager will not reboot into recovery
,

rom manager won't boot into recovery

,

rom manager won't reboot into recovery

,

rom manager wont boot into recovery

,
rom manager wont boot into recovery mode
,
rom manager wont boot to recovery
,
rom manager wont reboot into recovery
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+