DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Nandroid backup stuck at dumping data.tar???

  1. Senior Droid
    Rento's Avatar
    Member #
    30620
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    214
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    RAZR Maxx
    #1

    Nandroid backup stuck at dumping data.tar???

    I just flashed to Ultimate Droid 2.5 and did a few hours of tweaking... Made sure it was stable, etc.

    Well....

    I am now attempting a nondroid backup and it's been stuck dumping data.tar for over 15 mins now, phone will not show a charge light... none of the hardbuttons are responding. Scared to pull the battery...

    Ironic how I named this backup "UD2.5-stable"...

    Can I just restart my phone and everything will be where I was at less then 20 mins ago when I shut down my "stable" Ultimate Droid 2.5 flash? Or am I going to be seeing hell down the road?

    Using SPRecovery
    Droid 1

    EDIT: Pulled the battery, booted up fine... so I went back to perform a nandroid backup, went perfectly fine...

    Moral of the story... if a backup freezes, it's fine to battery pull.
    Last edited by Rento; 12-25-2010 at 11:31 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    Ass Nacho's Avatar
    Member #
    29645
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    I'm also having this problem! Been having it for a few days and its driving me nuts! I've pulled the battery a couple times and went back into SPRecovery, but nothing. I've even let it dump data for an hour and nothing. Help!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #3
    What rom are you running now? Is it also a version of UD? What happens when you boot manually into recovery?

    OK, three too many questions . . . .
  5. Junior Droid
    Ass Nacho's Avatar
    Member #
    29645
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    I'm currently running Project Elite v4. But I initially had the problem with Charity v11.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #5
    Either use the Motocache 1 SBF to reinstall SPRecovery or try reflashing it via ROM Manager. Now see if it does the same thing.
  7. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #6
    If furman's solution doesn't work:

    Quote Originally Posted by teddyearp View Post
    <snip>What happens when you boot manually into recovery?

    OK, three too many questions . . . .
    I knew three was too many, only two got answered, how's about answering this one?
  8. Junior Droid
    Ass Nacho's Avatar
    Member #
    29645
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    I installed ROM Manager and couldn't reflash SPRecovery. It wouldn't reboot into recovery at all. So I thought I'd try flashing Clockwork Mod Recovery and I was able to perform backups through there. So it looks like I'll be sticking with Clockwork Mod over SPRecovery. I never played around with ROM Manager before. It looks like a pretty awesome program. Thanks for the help guys! Very much appreciated!

    Oh, to answer your last question, teddearp, a manual boot into recovery did the same thing, which was nothing.
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #8
    If it wouldn't flash SPRecovery you were darn lucky to get Clockwork to flash at all. ROM Manager depends on SPRecovery to clear up errors in recovery. Glad it's working for you.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Nandroid backup stuck at dumping data.tar???
    By Rento in forum Rescue Squad Guides
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-25-2010, 11:04 PM
  2. Nandroid backup issue: Nandroid exited with status 34
    By gnome_sayin in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 02:59 AM
  3. when restoring to a previous nandroid backup, do I need to wipe data/cache?
    By velocity92c in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2010, 03:53 AM
  4. Nandroid back up stuck on "Dumping system.tar"
    By bamfsig45 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-25-2010, 08:20 AM
  5. Who here gets stuck on Nandroid Advanced Backup?
    By Matth3w in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 06:22 AM

Search tags for this page

a855 dumping system.tar
,
backing up datadata
,
backup milestone data dumping
,
milestone nandroid backup stuck
,
nandroid backup freeze dumping system.tar
,
nandroid backup frozen
,
nandroid backup stuck at data
,
nandroid backup stuck at dumping system
,
nandroid backup stuck data
,
nandroid backup system dumping
,

nandroid system dumping

,
nandroid system dumping milestone
,
nandroid system: dumping...
,
stuck on dumping system.ar
,
system: dumping nandroid stuck
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+