DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 5 of 69 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 682

Thread: SBF to root and to unroot

  1. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #41
    Quote Originally Posted by Codiusprie View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rvcjew View Post
    hi christim i got to the part where it says hit start my phone is found i have 64 bit drivers, but if i open the .sbf file in rsd lite it doesn't even show the file properties i am running the program as administrator. help lol. thank you for your time. EDIT i figured it out thanks though
    So I still have not figured out this issue. Do i need to rename the file? I've tried it a few different ways and still no dice. I am so ready to root my phone.

    ahh, thought you had it figured out.

    From the screenshot in post 1, you should have the phone displaying in the bottom half in the Model column. You can't install the wrong drivers so that won't be the issue....but they did install right? If not, click the Config link and change your settings in deviceid. It does not matter if the phone is connected via usb and in up-dpad powered on mode first or rsd lite is turned on first.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
  2. Droid
    zevoman's Avatar
    Member #
    15023
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    38
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #42
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by zevoman View Post
    Followed the steps and it worked perfectly for me. Thanks for the great write-up! Quick question in regards to rooting - according to the steps listed, we are to "wipe data/factory reset" before we install the "update.zip". Simple logic would suggest that this step will in fact erase everything off of the phone before an updated, rooted 2.1 is installed. Is this correct? Is there no other way to root without wiping everything? I really don't want to have to reinstall the 60+ apps I have on my Driod, let alone all the settings, etc...
    Hi zevoman,
    The person who created the update.zip file, Pete, who also created the Bugless Beast series of roms provided those directions.

    If the flashing of update.zip wipes everything anyways then your apps still are not saved by skipping the "wipe data/factory reset" step.

    Usually it is a good idea to do that wipe of cache and data when switching roms. However, due to having just made a nandroid backup you can skip that step and see what happens. If it turns out not so good you just do a nandroid recovery of what you just backed up and perform the wipe the next time.

    Astro, free in the market, will take just about all of your install APK files and back them up to your sdcard. You can then reinstall them later. While settings within each app might be gone you won't have to write down all the apps you have, go to the market to download them again, and then reinstall them one by one. Astro will let you install them from the sdcard.

    Once rooted, an app like Titanium Backup will let you back up all your settings, apps, etc and restore as you move from rom to rom even though you do a complete wipe inbetween.

    When moving from rom 1.1 to same-rom 1.2 you don't have to do that complete wipe and all your settings will be intact.
    Okay, so if I understand you correctly, I can at least backup all the apps using ASTRO (which I already have - what a great app!) And you are correct, I did just make a Nandroid backup, so I guess I can always go back.

    Thank you for your help. Let's see how this goes!
  3. Senior Droid
    Codiusprie's Avatar
    Member #
    53441
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    149
    Phone
    Droid
    #43
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Codiusprie View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by rvcjew View Post
    hi christim i got to the part where it says hit start my phone is found i have 64 bit drivers, but if i open the .sbf file in rsd lite it doesn't even show the file properties i am running the program as administrator. help lol. thank you for your time. EDIT i figured it out thanks though
    So I still have not figured out this issue. Do i need to rename the file? I've tried it a few different ways and still no dice. I am so ready to root my phone.

    ahh, thought you had it figured out.

    From the screenshot in post 1, you should have the phone displaying in the bottom half in the Model column. You can't install the wrong drivers so that won't be the issue....but they did install right? If not, click the Config link and change your settings in deviceid. It does not matter if the phone is connected via usb and in up-dpad powered on mode first or rsd lite is turned on first.
    No worries! This is actually the first time I've asked the question. I thought I had installed the drivers but ill try it all again and report back. Thanks so much for the quick response.
  4. Senior Droid
    Codiusprie's Avatar
    Member #
    53441
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    149
    Phone
    Droid
    #44
    So I am still having the same issue. The phone is picked up fine by RSD Lite, it is the SBF file that isn't being recognized. None of the information appears in the right hand box and when I press start it just gives me an error message. I have tried moving the file around various places on my computer and still no luck.

    I am running 64 bit Windows 7 with Admin access. I uninstalled and reinstalled the 64 bit Motorola Drivers. I don't really know what else to try. It is pretty frustrating.
  5. Droid
    Crazycatlady's Avatar
    Member #
    62743
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    Droid
    #45
    Quote Originally Posted by Codiusprie View Post
    So I am still having the same issue. The phone is picked up fine by RSD Lite, it is the SBF file that isn't being recognized. None of the information appears in the right hand box and when I press start it just gives me an error message. I have tried moving the file around various places on my computer and still no luck.

    I am running 64 bit Windows 7 with Admin access. I uninstalled and reinstalled the 64 bit Motorola Drivers. I don't really know what else to try. It is pretty frustrating.
    I had the same problem. I renamed the file to 1.sbf and it worked. If you put the cursor in the filename after you select it and randomly delete characters, the start button will appear and disappear. I don't know if it has to be a certain number of characters......hey, I don't know anything about this. But renaming it worked for me.
  6. Senior Droid
    Codiusprie's Avatar
    Member #
    53441
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    149
    Phone
    Droid
    #46
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazycatlady View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Codiusprie View Post
    So I am still having the same issue. The phone is picked up fine by RSD Lite, it is the SBF file that isn't being recognized. None of the information appears in the right hand box and when I press start it just gives me an error message. I have tried moving the file around various places on my computer and still no luck.

    I am running 64 bit Windows 7 with Admin access. I uninstalled and reinstalled the 64 bit Motorola Drivers. I don't really know what else to try. It is pretty frustrating.
    I had the same problem. I renamed the file to 1.sbf and it worked. If you put the cursor in the filename after you select it and randomly delete characters, the start button will appear and disappear. I don't know if it has to be a certain number of characters......hey, I don't know anything about this. But renaming it worked for me.
    Hrm. I did try renaming it and such. The "start" button is not grayed out but it still won't do anything but give me an error message. Lame.
  7. Droid
    Crazycatlady's Avatar
    Member #
    62743
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    Droid
    #47
    Quote Originally Posted by christim View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazycatlady View Post
    I am having a problem with creating a nandroid backup. When I choose to create either a simple or advanced backup, it either says attempting...and does nothing forever, or it says exited with error 32. I've searched and cannot find an explanation for error 32. Can anyone help me?
    Have you ever made one before and now it is not working or your first attempt at creating one is not working?

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/tec...ror-codes.html but...error 32 is not in the list.

    <warning...approaching rant>
    This bugs me. Somebody creating the error code. Did they use a random number generator for certain events and call them errors? Why are some of these code's meaning a secret that nobody can figure out? </ rant>

    Try this...when you create an advanced nandroid backup you get to choose its name. Pick something simple, like 20100427 for today's date and let us know how you make out.
    This is my first attempt at creating a nandroid backup. When I first try to create one, it says "Attempting nandroid backup" and the little striped line at the bottom is moving, but nothing happens. I've even let it go a half hour. I have to pull the battery. Then I boot it holding the "x" again and try again to create a backup and it says "ERROR: Nandroid exited with status 32."

    Not sure if it is because I pulled the battery, but it didn't give me any choice. Anyway, if I cannot get this to work, since I am rooted, can I just use Astro or Titanium backup? Does it do the same thing? Thank you in advance.

    Edit: I started over by re downloading everything and doing the whole process again. Everything seems to be working now. on to the good stuff!!!! Thank you all!
    Last edited by Crazycatlady; 04-29-2010 at 12:57 AM.
  8. Droid
    Crazycatlady's Avatar
    Member #
    62743
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    32
    Phone
    Droid
    #48
    Quote Originally Posted by Codiusprie View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Crazycatlady View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Codiusprie View Post
    So I am still having the same issue. The phone is picked up fine by RSD Lite, it is the SBF file that isn't being recognized. None of the information appears in the right hand box and when I press start it just gives me an error message. I have tried moving the file around various places on my computer and still no luck.

    I am running 64 bit Windows 7 with Admin access. I uninstalled and reinstalled the 64 bit Motorola Drivers. I don't really know what else to try. It is pretty frustrating.
    I had the same problem. I renamed the file to 1.sbf and it worked. If you put the cursor in the filename after you select it and randomly delete characters, the start button will appear and disappear. I don't know if it has to be a certain number of characters......hey, I don't know anything about this. But renaming it worked for me.
    Hrm. I did try renaming it and such. The "start" button is not grayed out but it still won't do anything but give me an error message. Lame.
    Like I said, I don't know much, but I went into windows explorer and renamed the file 1.sbf then found it using rslite. I clicked on the entry where my phone was so the information was up in the phone properties and clicked start. It flashed the file over and rebooted my phone but then told me to manually boot it, so I rebooted it into bootloader mode and it finished successfully.
  9. Rescue Squad
    titans's Avatar
    Member #
    11378
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,668
    Twitter
    @titans_df
    Phone
    Incredible
    Premium Member
    #49
    So if I flash the 2.0.1 SBF, it will flash my phone back to 2.0.1, and all I have to do is resign into google and *228 right?
  10. RS Admin
    christim's Avatar
    Member #
    30681
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    5,115
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Moto-Droid - rooted
    Premium Member
    #50
    Quote Originally Posted by titans View Post
    So if I flash the 2.0.1 SBF, it will flash my phone back to 2.0.1, and all I have to do is resign into google and *228 right?

    hi there titans!
    Correct. I have a post in here that does a complete play by play of what I had to do, if that helps.
    Chris

    If you apply a rom or theme - backup first!
    If you don't know how to backup...Stop until you do.
    hint: I name my backups like this: sg6.0_20100428 or ss4.2_20100626 to easily find them later. rom and date.


    Have a Problem, Click here to Visit the Rescue Squad
Page 5 of 69 FirstFirst ... 345671555 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. How To: Root and Unroot Properly [video and instructions]
    By z4pp in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 09:11 PM
  2. Should i unroot for 2.2 , and how soon
    By Nedaroth in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 03:48 PM
  3. Should I unroot to get 2.1?
    By Sabiancym in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 05:49 PM
  4. If I root to overclock, is it easy to unroot in the case of needing to return?
    By spazma7ik in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2010, 12:16 AM
  5. Unroot
    By ikithme in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 02:58 PM

Search tags for this page

droid 1 sbf

,

how to unroot droid 1

,
masterfrg22da5e329b00288.signed-voles-ota-50454.zip
,
mc1 a855 1282081087 recovery-onl..sbf dpwnload
,
root sbf
,
sbf
,

sbf root

,
sbf rooteado
,
sbf to root and unroot
,

unroot droid 1

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+