DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: can anyone tell me which is best to be on global or LTE/CDMA

  1. Droid
    bohemouth's Avatar
    Member #
    311213
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    69
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx HD
    #1

    can anyone tell me which is best to be on global or LTE/CDMA

    I was be highly distracted from my work just a minute ago, fiddling with the Maxx HD and i noticed it was set to Global, as i think all global droid phones are set on out of box. I switched it to LTE/CDMA and it went from having the 4g lte symbol on the toolbar to 1x. I but it bck to global, still says 1x. i went to GSM/UMTS and no service showed. I switched back to LTE and it after a while showed up at the top 4g LTE. i was just wondering if people keep their phone on Global or change it to LTE in Mobile network settings. What's the real diff?

    silly question maybe, but i was again, just curious and highly distracted by my phone. Thanks for y'alls help.
  2. Droid Ninja
    geoff5093's Avatar
    Member #
    65390
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Goffstown, NH
    Posts
    1,347
    Liked
    69 times
    Twitter
    geoff5093
    Phone
    Galaxy Note II
    #2
    Global will allow it to connect with GSM networks, this is mainly when you travel out of the country, I'm not sure if it makes much difference here in the US though. A Verizon rep told me to put my phone on Global and enable data roaming so I can roam onto AT&T's towers when Verizon doesn't have service, I never experienced this though so I don't know if it's true.
  3. Droid
    harp666's Avatar
    Member #
    251794
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    68
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    razr maxx
    #3
    I have a similar issue..when set to global mode upon powering up my phone,my data connection is much faster to connect to Verizon's service than having the mode set to CDma/ 4g lite. As a matter of fact, when set to 4g lite I often get a message saying service cannot be found,would you like to switch to global mode...however if I do nothing it eventually finds Verizon's service after about 2 minutes.
    On global mode my phone connects much faster to Verizon's service. I just leave it in that setting.
  4. Droid
    bohemouth's Avatar
    Member #
    311213
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    69
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx HD
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by harp666 View Post
    I have a similar issue..when set to global mode upon powering up my phone,my data connection is much faster to connect to Verizon's service than having the mode set to CDma/ 4g lite. As a matter of fact, when set to 4g lite I often get a message saying service cannot be found,would you like to switch to global mode...however if I do nothing it eventually finds Verizon's service after about 2 minutes.
    On global mode my phone connects much faster to Verizon's service. I just leave it in that setting.
    Thanks harp666 I have been wondering, my phone is pretty dang fast, i saw it was on global, i switched I'm gonna keep it switched for the day to see any diff, but I appreciate your response. Global sounds like the better option. as far as far as speed.
  5. Droid
    harp666's Avatar
    Member #
    251794
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    68
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    razr maxx
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by geoff5093
    Global will allow it to connect with GSM networks, this is mainly when you travel out of the country, I'm not sure if it makes much difference here in the US though. A Verizon rep told me to put my phone on Global and enable data roaming so I can roam onto AT&T's towers when Verizon doesn't have service, I never experienced this though so I don't know if it's true.
    I was told to do the same thing as you from verizon tech support.....don't know why but much better connection with this configuration..... all I know is that it works with no problems...lol
  6. Master Droid
    bruben7886's Avatar
    Member #
    239612
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    386
    Liked
    91 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    On the original RAZR maxx global uses more battery. If you don't notice a difference in speed set it to LTE.
  7. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    740
    Liked
    263 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #7
    Not to add more confusion to this topic, which I do have mine set on Global with the Data: Allow access for all trips. But noticed under Roaming there is Access Point Names, which I hit the default which displays Verizon Internet VZWINTERNET as below. Seems there are 2 of them not sure of the difference and why wouldn't the Verizon CDMA HRPD be the default. If anyone has anything different please screen post.

    can anyone tell me which is best to be on global or LTE/CDMA-screenshot_2013-01-02-16-08-37.png

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. global/ Lte/ cdma
    By robert70 in forum Droid RAZR Support
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-17-2012, 05:18 PM
  2. Can I disable global switch...? CDMA/Global/GSM
    By dettofatto in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global Development
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 04:35 AM
  3. For Droid 2 Global, CDMA
    By lacie123401 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 09:08 PM
  4. droid 2 global global mode vs. cdma
    By dphelps1 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 09:07 AM
  5. Global-CDMA
    By teoman in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2010, 11:54 AM

Search tags for this page

cdma vs global
,

global lte/cdma gsm/umts

,

global or lte/cdma

,

global vs lte/cdma

,
lte/cdma or global
,

lte/cdma vs global

,
network mode global vs lte
,
network mode global vs lte cdma
,

should my phone be set to global or cdma

,
verizon cdma hrpd
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+