DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Non-Android Computer Help Needed!!!!!!!

  1. Senior Droid
    keithsmith22's Avatar
    Member #
    39895
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    165
    Twitter
    @keithsmith22
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #1

    Non-Android Computer Help Needed!!!!!!!

    I searched the web with no answers so I figured I would come to the community that has served me well in the past. The old company I worked for sold me my old computer. It was setup to run on a "typical" work environment. Now that I have it home I am trying to get it connected to the internet with no avail. I have a Motorola SB5120 Modem from Comcast as well as a Linksys WRT54G Wireless router. No matter what I try I cannot get it to connect. I installed the drivers to the modem no problem but can't get the router to install. Plus I can't get any internet if I remove the router and go straight through the modem. Please help, I really need my internet back.

    Thanks in advance.
    "Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction and persistent in prayer"
  2. Droid
    blinden's Avatar
    Member #
    85
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    West PA
    Posts
    82
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #2
    you are probably setup either on a domain from the office or just have static IP settings on the computer. You did fail to mention what version of windows you are running, but go to the control panel and set the IP settings to DHCP (automatic) and under "System" in control panel, you are goign to want to go to computer name and make sure you aren't joined to any domains.

    These are very generic instructions, supply the windows versino you are working with and I'll be able to give you click by click instructions.
  3. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #3
    If you are hardwiring to the modem, you definitely have an ip issue. Remember to power cycle modem every time you connect a new device to it.

    -Droid Does

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Senior Droid
    keithsmith22's Avatar
    Member #
    39895
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    165
    Twitter
    @keithsmith22
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    Sorry I forgot to mention what I am on. It is XP Pro SP3.
    "Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction and persistent in prayer"
  5. Droid
    blinden's Avatar
    Member #
    85
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    West PA
    Posts
    82
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by keithsmith22 View Post
    Sorry I forgot to mention what I am on. It is XP Pro SP3.
    Start with this just to make sure the computer wasn't setup on a static IP address previously:

    Start>control panel>network connections (or Networking & Internet connections, then 'network connections)

    At this point, it would be helpful if you relayed what objects you have here, probably wireless and "Local area connection"

    Right click on local area connection and click "properties"

    On the list that reads "this connection uses the following" find TCP/ip internet protocol and highlight it and click properties button below.

    it should be selected to obtain both IP and DNS informatoin automatically, you should not have numbers set here.

    Also, go to start>control panel>system (or performance & maintenance then 'system') and open the "Computer name" tab and make sure it's not a member of any domains.
  6. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #6
    And? How did you make out?

    -Droid Does

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Computer Algebra Systems for Android
    By Sagekilla in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2011, 09:35 AM
  2. tools needed for Android development
    By regkilla in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 03:53 PM
  3. Moving/Copying Pics From Computer to Droid or Droid to Computer
    By pdmike in forum HTC Droid Incredible
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 10:42 AM
  4. Skills needed to develop Android apps?
    By velocity92c in forum Android App Developers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 09:19 AM
  5. Root on phone only? no computer needed?
    By phreakaj in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 12:25 AM

Search tags for this page

android computer algebra system
,
android help
,
android machine name
,

computer name android

,
computername android
,
motorola sb5120 connection with android
,
xp pro sp3 tether driver a855
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+