DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Totally new, totally dumbdroid...

  1. Junior Droid
    flemsmith's Avatar
    Member #
    208820
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Totally new, totally dumbdroid...

    For now I just want to learn how to download pictures from my Droid 2 to home computer.

    one small step..

    roy
  2. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #2
    Welcome.

    Use the provided USB cable to connect to your computer. Your Droid should have a notification in the top bar saying to enable file transfer. Select that and the computer should popup a message saying you've connected an external drive>display folder.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  3. Junior Droid
    flemsmith's Avatar
    Member #
    208820
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3

    can dumb down yer answer?

    All I get when I plug the USB cable in my compootr is a message that says my SD card is unmounted or unavailable.

    ?
  4. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #4
    Hmm. What does the phone say in the notification area?

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  5. Junior Droid
    flemsmith's Avatar
    Member #
    208820
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5

    duh...

    Where's the notification area? The top left screen says gallery, where my pix are. The bottom center has the message about the SD card being unmountable.
  6. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #6
    if you are in gallery you won't see the notification bar.

    If you go to the home screen you should see the notification bar on top.

    Its telling you that the sd card can't be mounted because its connected to the PC.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  7. Junior Droid
    flemsmith's Avatar
    Member #
    208820
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7

    Do I need to download a Moto driver?

    ....on my computer before it can communicate with the phone?

    roy
  8. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #8
    shouldn't. depends on the OS.

    Windows 7 should just work. So should XP.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Junior Droid
    flemsmith's Avatar
    Member #
    208820
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9

    finally got it to work...

    But I had to download 'Dropbox' on my computer and my phone, then cc the pix I want into that and its wirelessly avail in the computer....a little cumbersome, but it works.

    It might be that my Macafe on the computer is disabling the memory on the phone when it's plugged in.

    roy

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Totally new
    By Vampy in forum Droid 2 Roms
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 08:25 PM
  2. D2 totally without power.
    By Sitrick2 in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 06:26 PM
  3. Totally off the subjuct!!!
    By BigE"s DROID in forum Android Accessories
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 07:54 AM
  4. I'm totally amazed!
    By Scooterpie in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 08:25 PM
  5. GPS Problemos Totally
    By nubgeek in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 05:22 AM

Search tags for this page

droidforums.net, guidelines of conduct

,

dumbdroid

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+