DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 55

Thread: Change over to Droid Global from Blackberry Storm

  1. Droid
    SGTB99's Avatar
    Member #
    152894
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #31
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    Try clearing your dialer storage -- you'll lose your texts and call log but it might fix it.
    You mean delete the calls from the call list? Just did that out of habit with
  2. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #32
    No, I mean clear the storage.

    Hit the home button> Menu button> Settings> Applications> Manage Applications> All tab>

    There may be separate dialer and dialer storage listed. Clear the cache and data from both if there are, but before doing this make absolutely sure, in the Privacy settings, that you're backing up your Contacts with Google.
  3. Droid
    SGTB99's Avatar
    Member #
    152894
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #33
    My contacts get backed up to Verizon
  4. Droid
    SGTB99's Avatar
    Member #
    152894
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #34
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    No, I mean clear the storage.

    Hit the home button> Menu button> Settings> Applications> Manage Applications> All tab>

    There may be separate dialer and dialer storage listed. Clear the cache and data from both if there are, but before doing this make absolutely sure, in the Privacy settings, that you're backing up your Contacts with Google.
    The only button I am aloud to use is the clear button, can't get the cache button. If I do clear it says it will clear out everything. (Still adjusting from using BB to this so I may be a bit off on some things)
    I also have 2 dialer and 1 dialer storage, is that normal to have?
  5. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #35
    Probably is on the Global. I don't know.

    It'll clear out your contacts and your call log and texts and stuff. If you're really worried about it you can back all your contacts up to your SD card (and your texts) via a market app.
  6. Droid
    SGTB99's Avatar
    Member #
    152894
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #36
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    Probably is on the Global. I don't know.

    It'll clear out your contacts and your call log and texts and stuff. If you're really worried about it you can back all your contacts up to your SD card (and your texts) via a market app.
    Not worried just a newbie big time..lol..have not put anything major on it yet that I cant reload.
    When you say clear out my contacts I assume you mean the calls I made or that came in to the phone?
  7. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #37
    No, I mean your contacts -- stored phone numbers and the like.

    Like...

    Joe Schmoe:

    Email: None@yabiznessspammers.kthxdie
    Cell: 666-555-4444
    Home: 667:556:7654
    Fax : 123-456-7890
  8. Droid
    SGTB99's Avatar
    Member #
    152894
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #38
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    No, I mean your contacts -- stored phone numbers and the like.

    Like...

    Joe Schmoe:

    Email: None@yabiznessspammers.kthxdie
    Cell: 666-555-4444
    Home: 667:556:7654
    Fax : 123-456-7890
    If it is just that this envelope won't stay gone, what does it have to do with clearing stored contacts are cache? I must be missing something.
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #39
    Okay. Try this, then;

    When you clear out dialer storage, where the texts are stored, it may take your contacts with it. This is why I suggested you make sure they're backed up with Google.
  10. Droid
    SGTB99's Avatar
    Member #
    152894
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #40
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    Okay. Try this, then;

    When you clear out dialer storage, where the texts are stored, it may take your contacts with it. This is why I suggested you make sure they're backed up with Google.
    Like I said all my contacts go to the Verizons backup server that comes with it.
    What about the (2) dialers I have listed? One has 16.KB and the other has 8.KB.
    The other thing is when the Delet window pops up is shows some of what will be deleted to include ..databases, accounts etc.

    I get nervous as I am that tech savvy about these phones and I just dont want to delet something i may need.
    Not having a place to back up everything on a file is what is throwing me off here I guess. With Blackberry you have a file on your laptop all your backup goes to so if you lose something or everything you can go to your last backup and load it.
Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Help! I lost my blackberry storm 2 but I want the Droid X now...
    By Crazy in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 01:21 PM
  2. From Blackberry Storm to Motorola Droid
    By BEReiter in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 07:34 AM
  3. Switched from Blackberry Storm to Droid
    By noladoc30 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 05:14 PM
  4. BlackBerry Storm user to Droid
    By ClayBonics in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-21-2009, 08:20 PM
  5. BlackBerry Storm -----> Motorola DROID
    By vitomins in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-19-2009, 04:15 AM

Search tags for this page

change my blackberry strom 2 into android
,
free android theme for bb storm
,

free android theme for blackberry storm

,

free droid theme for blackberry storm

,

how to change global 2 driod theme for free

,
how to switch over phones to droid 3
,
how to switch over to the droid from blackberry
,
panda 99 launcher
,
themes android bb strom
,
who is calling from 666-555-4444
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+