DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Need screen capture tool or key combo

  1. Junior Droid
    jktechwriter's Avatar
    Member #
    175282
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Xoom
    #1

    Need screen capture tool or key combo

    I did a search of the forum but didn't find anything - sorry if this is a duplicate post.

    Does anyone know of a screen capture app that works on the Xoom? Does Honeycomb/Xoom have a key-combo to take a screen capture? (The Samsung Tab has one where you press the Power and Return button at the same time and a snapshot is taken.)

    I'm writing a book on the Xoom and will be more than happy to provide a thank you/acknowledgement to the person(s) who can help me resolve this issue - without screenshots the book isn't going to do too well!

    Thanks in advance,

    Jim
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    jktechwriter's Avatar
    Member #
    175282
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Xoom
    #2

    List of screen captures tools I've tried

    Just an addenidum - these apps DO NOT work:

    *screenshot (from GIKSoft)
    * Screen Capture (from tomorrowkey)
    * Screen Capture (from CJR)
  4. Master Droid
    Newton122189's Avatar
    Member #
    1942
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    627
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    R2D2 Droid 2, Motorola XOOM
    #3
    If you root then drocap2 is an option that has always worked on my other devices, I wont be rooting my xoom until after the 4G upgrade though
  5. Junior Droid
    jktechwriter's Avatar
    Member #
    175282
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Xoom
    #4

    No rooting allowed

    Hi, Newton.

    Yes, I 've seen a few articles on rooting the Xoom to allow for this, but I can't root my Xoom either due to the 4G update. My publisher also prefers that I not root the device as they prefer books to be based on the default build/device that a reader is likely to own.

    Thanks for the app reference, though...

    Jim
  6. Master Droid
    Newton122189's Avatar
    Member #
    1942
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    627
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    R2D2 Droid 2, Motorola XOOM
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by jktechwriter View Post
    Hi, Newton.

    Yes, I 've seen a few articles on rooting the Xoom to allow for this, but I can't root my Xoom either due to the 4G update. My publisher also prefers that I not root the device as they prefer books to be based on the default build/device that a reader is likely to own.

    Thanks for the app reference, though...

    Jim
    well you can take screenshots using the android sdk, its not an app, but it is something that anyone can download without rooting their device, so that may suit your needs, its definitely a complicated work around but its the only "official" way that i know of

    first thing i found when googling http://www.androidcentral.com/taking...s-without-root
  7. Droid
    3083joe's Avatar
    Member #
    33092
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Moto Droid X Rooted
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Newton122189 View Post
    If you root then drocap2 is an option that has always worked on my other devices, I wont be rooting my xoom until after the 4G upgrade though
    Drocap2 doesnt work either
    follow me on twitter @3083joe
    www.twitter.com/3083joe
  8. Droid
    WillC's Avatar
    Member #
    132044
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Plano, Texas
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Droid X--Gummy Jar--Moto Xoom
    #7
    In /system/bin I saw screencap and screenshot listed. Could that indicate that there is some undocumented method of taking screen shots?
  9. Junior Droid
    jktechwriter's Avatar
    Member #
    175282
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Xoom
    #8

    Possible?

    Hi, Will... thanks for posting.

    I think it's very strange that the Honeycomb devs wouldn't build in some sort of method for taking screen caps. You're discovery of that folder makes sense, doesn't it?

    The Galaxy Tab (which I have) had native screen capture ability built-in - you press the Power/Sleep button at the same time as the Return/Back button and "click" - screen cap!

    But I've tried various button combinations with the Xoom and so far... no luck.

    Jim
  10. Junior Droid
    jktechwriter's Avatar
    Member #
    175282
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Xoom
    #9

    Solution found

    It's not the easiest way to take a screen capture, and it only saves in PNG format, but here's how I did it (I can't take credit for it - a dev friend of mine helped me get through the errors that popped up here and there). I'm running Vista Home Premium 64-bit

    1. Installed latest version of Java
    2. Installed latest version of Java SDK
    3. Installed Android SDK
    4. Within Android SDK, selected Android 3.0 build.

    5. Opened up command prompt and jumped to the \tools directory for the SDK app (for me, it was c:\programfiles(x86)\android\android-sdk\tools

    6. Ran the ddms.bat file
    7. Got an error pop-up saying Xoom driver couldn't be found.
    8. Googled "Vista Xoom Driver" and found the official driver installation program at

    USB and PC Charging Drivers - Motorola Mobility, Inc. USA

    9. Restarted SDK after driver installed.
    10. Ran ddms.bat (see 6 above)
    11. Attached Xoom (a lot started to happen in the ddms.bat screen)

    12. Clicked the Device menu- select Screen Capture... BOOM! Done!
  11. Droid
    3083joe's Avatar
    Member #
    33092
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Moto Droid X Rooted
    #10
    there was a key combo for screen shots on galaxy tab, sure to think theres one on xoom
    follow me on twitter @3083joe
    www.twitter.com/3083joe
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. screen capture
    By Rsswga in forum Samsung Fascinate Development
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 05:48 PM
  2. Where is the Screen Capture?
    By thepwneddroid in forum Team D1-MIUI
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 10:14 AM
  3. SDK screen capture please help!
    By OMEGA5 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 10:56 PM
  4. Screen capture?
    By shane1v in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 10:33 PM
  5. Screen Capture
    By MrMan in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-05-2009, 06:51 PM

Search tags for this page

/system/bin/screencap
,
how to print screen on motorola xoom
,
how to screen capture motorola xoom
,
how to screen capture on motorola xoom
,
key combo to screenshot on motorola milestone
,

motorola xoom screen capture

,
print screen xoom
,

screen capture motorola xoom

,
screen capture on motorola xoom
,

screen capture on xoom

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+