DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Seeking the guidance of experts

  1. Junior Droid
    givemerock1130's Avatar
    Member #
    126929
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone A854
    #1

    Angry Seeking the guidance of experts

    Well howdy,

    Let me begin by saying i got into this situation because I leaped before I looked. I recently purchased a Motorola Milestone A853 from our local wireless carrier, but wasn't satisfied with 2.1 update 1. A friend of mine who i never ever should have listened to advised me that updating to 2.2 would speed the phone up and offer me many more opportunities all around. He even went so far as to offer to root and load the custom rom himself. That was a mistake. I know have a Verizon Droid that cannot connect to my wcdma network. Is that a baseband issue? It gets worse. Nex-tech wireless, the carrier I "chose" to go with, can not flash it back to the stock rom it came with. They want to charge me an arm and a leg to send it to motorola so it can be flashed or whatever. After doing some research on my own i discovered RSD lite and an A853 Telus 2.1 upgrade sbf. Telus I believe is located somewhere in canada, while I am located in central Kansas, but the frequency does match up. 1900mhz. So basically I was wondering, if I use this RSD lite will it save my phone??? Please help
  2. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #2
    I'm really confused, so I'll throw in some info OP, and hopefully you can help clear things up.

    Milestone =/= Droid. The Milestone will not work on the Verizon network, and there's no amount of flashing that will make it work. the Droid will not work on the Canadian GSM network, for the same reasons.

    Which phone do you have? Where are you located, and what network do you want to connect to?
  3. Super Moderator
    Quicksilver7714's Avatar
    Member #
    83729
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,423
    Liked
    103 times
    Phone
    D1, X, Tbolt, DC, DB, GNex, S4
    Premium Member
    #3
    First the milestone is the euro version of the Droid and does not operate on verizon's cdma network in the US. The Verizon Motorola Droid is an A855. CDMA and WCDMA are two different network types.

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
    New to android or just need to brush up on the basics? Abe has every thing you need Here:
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net

    Respect is number 1 in the Forums.

    We are the droid owners
    Resistance is Futile, YOU Will be Assimilated...

  4. Junior Droid
    givemerock1130's Avatar
    Member #
    126929
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone A854
    #4
    Its a motorola Milestone but not gsm. There is no sim card and the info for the phone lists it as a wcdma network. The sbf file claims to be a wcdma milestone update. sbf:milestone [And Developers] I am located in Great Bend Kansas USA. I want to reconnect to my Nex-tech wireless network. I assumed that if the frequencies matched up then it might work.
  5. Super Moderator
    Quicksilver7714's Avatar
    Member #
    83729
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,423
    Liked
    103 times
    Phone
    D1, X, Tbolt, DC, DB, GNex, S4
    Premium Member
    #5
    Yes if the sfb file is for stock 2.1 update 1 for the milestone using RSD lite will reflash the phone back to stock using that file.

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
    New to android or just need to brush up on the basics? Abe has every thing you need Here:
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net

    Respect is number 1 in the Forums.

    We are the droid owners
    Resistance is Futile, YOU Will be Assimilated...

  6. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #6
    Nex-Tech is a CDMA (not WCDMA) network, so there is no way you can make the Milestone connect to it.

    It has nothing to do with frequency. The way CDMA (most of the US, except AT&T and TMobile) and GSM (everyone else) share information, an in turn, use different hardware.

    Sorry, OP. Consider trying to get on an American GSM network, though, I'm not sure how possible that is with the Milestone.
  7. Super Moderator
    Quicksilver7714's Avatar
    Member #
    83729
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,423
    Liked
    103 times
    Phone
    D1, X, Tbolt, DC, DB, GNex, S4
    Premium Member
    #7
    Yes it should work. If the frequencies match and it is wcdma it will work. If you need further assistance or reassurance go to the rescue squad part of the forum and post your question there. Hope this helps.

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
    New to android or just need to brush up on the basics? Abe has every thing you need Here:
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net

    Respect is number 1 in the Forums.

    We are the droid owners
    Resistance is Futile, YOU Will be Assimilated...

  8. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Quicksilver7714 View Post
    Yes it should work. If the frequencies match and it is wcdma it will work. If you need further assistance or reassurance go to the rescue squad part of the forum and post your question there. Hope this helps.

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
    WCDMA is not the same as CDMA.... Nex-Tech uses the same hardware as the Verizon Network, which will not carry the Milestone. Where are you getting your information?
  9. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #9
    Moved to the Motorola Milestone section
  10. Droid Sensei
    LtKen's Avatar
    Member #
    31927
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,637
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #10
    Seeking the guidance of experts

    Maybe the mod will be nice and merge your threads.

    Either way, OP, there's nothing you can do. You'll have to pick a different network to subscribe to, or get a new phone. Sorry.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Seeking the guidance of experts
    By givemerock1130 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2010, 03:24 PM
  2. Looking for Guidance
    By doyling in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 10:47 PM
  3. Need guidance with droidmod
    By ruinah in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-12-2010, 09:25 AM
  4. Guidance PLEASE
    By lorissms in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-21-2010, 06:21 PM
  5. keyboard sounds... any guidance?
    By Domestic violence in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 06:57 PM

Search tags for this page

a854 motorola sim card slot
,
does the motorola a854 use a sim card
,
motorola a854 ntelos baseband radio files
,

motorola a854 sim card

,
motorola a854 sim card slot
,

motorola milestone a854 sim card

,
motorola milestone a854 sim card slot
,
nex-tech vs verizon
,
nextech vs verizon
,
where is the sim card slot on a motorola a854
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+