DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Motorola Releases a Maintenance Update For Motorola Milestone, But Pulls It

  1. Super Mod/News Team
    Shadez's Avatar
    Member #
    32075
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Posts
    8,223
    Liked
    594 times
    Twitter
    @Shadez69
    Phone
    Droid,Droid Bionic/Galaxy SIII
    Premium Member
    #1

    Motorola Releases a Maintenance Update For Motorola Milestone, But Pulls It

    Motorola Releases a Maintenance Update For Motorola Milestone, But Pulls It

    by Quentyn Kennemer on July 6th, 2010


    As many Motorola Milestone users across the ocean (and many Motorola Droid owners here back home) await Android 2.2, Motorola’s gone ahead and released an maintenance update for the device overseas. It’s said that it will improve stability and improve the device’s overall performance.


    Such fixes should see a decline in force closing issues, random reboots, bug fixes for the alarm, and improved music player functonality with enhancements to the device’s audio quality. Furthermore, they’ve tweaked the proximity sensor to be more accurate doing calls to prevent the screen from staying on while it’s up to your ear.




    Finally, PIN lock improvements have been made to allow more flexibility in setting the lock timer when using Exchange email, airplane mode’s performance has been improved to ensure your phone timely picks a signal back up upon turning the feature off, and using “My Location” in Google Maps has been fixed to eradicate the error of not being able to get a location lock when using Wireless Networks for your location provider instead of the GPS radio.


    Not Froyo, but it should be a welcome fix if you’ve ever experienced any or all of these issues. Unfortunately, Motorola’s since had to pull the update due to another bug, ironically. In the meantime, just know that you should get notified of the update OTA at some point, or you can go ahead and download the update using Motorola’s PC update tool – found on their website – whenever they’re ready to make the update live again.


    [via Motorola Europe Facebook]
    phandroid.com
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    sarie's Avatar
    Member #
    42910
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone on AT&T
    #2
    Mine is downloading the update right now, OTA...32.1mb.

    Exciting! But if this doesn't fix the alarm issues, I will be so sad.

    Edit: Update! I just finished installing mine. Right off the bat I got a force close with Launcher Pro...boo. However, I have noticed that my Quickoffice icon in the launcher is different.. I'm not noticing much difference in accuracy of the proximity sensor, unfortunately.
    Last edited by sarie; 07-06-2010 at 12:38 PM.
  4. Droid
    iamdarren's Avatar
    Member #
    36092
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    motorola Milestone UK
    #3
    any chance you can nandroid it?

    i have wiped and then loaded 2.1 i then done an update over MSU which said that i updated.

    HOWEVER! here are the stats from my about screen (~UK user~)

    please let me know what your version is, have i actually got the new one? Or did it get pulled before i got my update. done it about 5:30PM GMT

    -Model Number
    Milestone

    -Firmware Version
    2.1-update1

    -Firmware configuration version
    GAS_EMEA_USASHLS00RTGB_P023

    -Baseband Version
    3GSMEPU91A_U_91.07.4EI

    -BASEBAND CONFIGURATION VERSION
    UCASHMR2EMEAB1B805C.OR

    -KERNEL VERSION
    2.6.29-OMAP1
    A21146@CA25RHE74#1

    -BUILD NUMBER
    SHOLS_U2_02.31.0
  5. Junior Droid
    sarie's Avatar
    Member #
    42910
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone on AT&T
    #4
    Sadly I have no experience with nandroid...so...unless I get some super detailed/dumbed down instructions, probably not.

    Anyway, here is my info, at least:

    -Model Number
    Milestone

    -Firmware Version
    2.1-update1

    -Firmware configuration version
    GAS_EMEA_USASHLS00RTINT_P016

    -Baseband Version
    3GSMEPU91A_U_91.07.56I

    -BASEBAND CONFIGURATION VERSION
    UCASHLSMR2EMEAB1B806D.0R

    -KERNEL VERSION
    2.6.29-omap1
    milestcm@il93lnxebld05 #1

    -BUILD NUMBER
    SHOLS_U2_02.36.0

    I hope that is helpful to you!
  6. Droid
    iamdarren's Avatar
    Member #
    36092
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    motorola Milestone UK
    #5
    Ok cheers for the info, the best way to nandroid it is you have open recovery. G.O.Ts is good. G.O.T.'s Blog

    that version is the one i was already using on g.o.ts, so i might just restore my nandroid i made of that.

    There is an update which needs to be applied before you can use update.zips which is called the vunerable expolit on the boot loader. basically lets us root the phone and then take control over the phone more. I would be interested in using the g.ots version again, i just wanted to get the offical version on my phone.

    from what i remember, (i may be wrong) There was a thing about the build number which indicated which country it was from, I thought 31 was UK and 36 was GERMAN, but where are you from? obviously this may be a bad guess, and G.O.Ts blog mentions the 30 numbers as newer versions.

    Where abouts are you from though, and do you have the QWERTY version?

    i dont think its worth dumping it yet, cos its not gonna be anything new.

    But it does sound very interesting that they pulled the version due to a new bug which has come out of their efforts. They seem to give with one hand and take with the other lol

    cheers

    Quote Originally Posted by sarie View Post
    Sadly I have no experience with nandroid...so...unless I get some super detailed/dumbed down instructions, probably not.

    Anyway, here is my info, at least:

    -Model Number
    Milestone

    -Firmware Version
    2.1-update1

    -Firmware configuration version
    GAS_EMEA_USASHLS00RTINT_P016

    -Baseband Version
    3GSMEPU91A_U_91.07.56I

    -BASEBAND CONFIGURATION VERSION
    UCASHLSMR2EMEAB1B806D.0R

    -KERNEL VERSION
    2.6.29-omap1
    milestcm@il93lnxebld05 #1

    -BUILD NUMBER
    SHOLS_U2_02.36.0

    I hope that is helpful to you!
  7. Droid
    iamdarren's Avatar
    Member #
    36092
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    motorola Milestone UK
    #6
    i managed to find this when googling around the net

    Shows everthing covered in the new release.

    you could just get the .36 or even .38 version here

    Firmware releases G.O.T.'s Blog

    https://rsddownload.motorola.com/dow...otes_Final.pdf
  8. Junior Droid
    landroid's Avatar
    Member #
    29935
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by sarie View Post
    Mine is downloading the update right now, OTA...32.1mb.

    Exciting! But if this doesn't fix the alarm issues, I will be so sad.

    Edit: Update! I just finished installing mine. Right off the bat I got a force close with Launcher Pro...boo. However, I have noticed that my Quickoffice icon in the launcher is different.. I'm not noticing much difference in accuracy of the proximity sensor, unfortunately.
    Can you make a Nandroid Backup...THX!!!!!
  9. Junior Droid
    sarie's Avatar
    Member #
    42910
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone on AT&T
    #8
    I will try to! But I make no promises. If I need help though, I know who to go to! Hopefully by the morning I will have something...
  10. Junior Droid
    4iedemon's Avatar
    Member #
    73165
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Milestone 2.1 RTINT (Sth Asia)
    #9
    If you have root, do you have to un-root before updating?
  11. Junior Droid
    osprey23's Avatar
    Member #
    67655
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by 4iedemon View Post
    If you have root, do you have to un-root before updating?
    Ditto.

    And do I need to re-root and also re-install App2SD?

    Thanks!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola confirmed Milestone 2.0.1 Update + 2.1 Upgrade
    By RinTinTigger in forum Android News
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 09:21 PM
  2. Motorola Milestone is Germany's Motorola Droid
    By danDroid in forum Android News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 07:15 PM
  3. Motorola Milestone 2.1 update
    By Bxrider117 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 10:20 AM
  4. Replies: 565
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 08:58 AM
  5. Motorola Droid - Releases with $199 Pricetag
    By danDroid in forum Android News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-28-2009, 12:08 PM

Search tags for this page

3gsmepu91a u 91.07.56i

,
firmware configuration version gas asia
,
firmware gas asia usa
,

gas emea usashls00rtint p016

,
how to upgrade firmware gas emea
,
milestone 91.07.56i
,
motorola milestone baseband update
,
motorola milestone maintenance
,
motorola milestone radio update
,
usashls00rtint p016 sbf
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+