DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Using European Milestone in Canada Questions

  1. Droid Newbie
    M5LY's Avatar
    Member #
    37701
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Motorola Milestone
    #1

    Question Using European Milestone in Canada Questions

    Hi Guys,

    I just joined this forum recently. It's a pleasure to be here with all the android users out here. Lot's of support! I bought a European version of the Milestone as opposed to waiting for it to arrive in Canada and feel that I've made a huge mistake. After reading a few postings on this forum, it seems that my GSM band doesn't match the one in Canada (I'm on Fido) and also, I can't take advantage of the 3G network. Crap. If anyone could give me some insight on how much of a negative impact this is, I would really appreciate it!

    I am also very lost on the Google Navigation that is free and working beautifully with the Droid. I've been hearing that there is a cracked version for the Google Nav for the milestone but I'm really confused as to how to get this done as some posts on here says that you just need to install google maps onto the milestone. So does the installation of the maps (cracked) include the software to work the Google Nav on the milestone?

    sorry for the newb question guys or if all this stuff is already in detail on the forum. please excuse my lack of searching skills.

    Nice to meet all of you.
    Last edited by M5LY; 02-16-2010 at 04:49 PM.
  2. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #2
    Welcome M5LY.....I'm not really sure about your questions...and I also didn't know Google Nav wasn't readily available on the Milestone....

    Someone you may wanna hit up and talk to though, is one of the super administrators of this forum, his name is RinTinTigger and he has a Milestone also and would probably know ALL about what you wanna know about...

    I wish you luck though man!!

  3. Droid
    DAGr8's Avatar
    Member #
    24923
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    90
    Phone
    Samsung Captivate
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by M5LY View Post
    Hi Guys,

    I just joined this forum recently. It's a pleasure to be here with all the android users out here. Lot's of support! I bought a European version of the Milestone as opposed to waiting for it to arrive in Canada and feel that I've made a huge mistake. After reading a few postings on this forum, it seems that my GSM band doesn't match the one in Canada (I'm on Fido) and also, I can't take advantage of the 3G network. Crap. If anyone could give me some insight on how much of a negative impact this is, I would really appreciate it!

    I am also very lost on the Google Navigation that is free and working beautifully with the Droid. I've been hearing that there is a cracked version for the Google Nav for the milestone but I'm really confused as to how to get this done as some posts on here says that you just need to install google maps onto the milestone. So does the installation of the maps (cracked) include the software to work the Google Nav on the milestone?

    sorry for the newb question guys or if all this stuff is already in detail on the forum. please excuse my lack of searching skills.

    Nice to meet all of you.
    hey there We are in the same boat , lmme tell you there is no good data plan on fido so your best move is to delete your Fido 's APN therefore you will not get any surprise bill , I dotn think google maps works offlien , but just go on the market its free and you can install it for free. btw you will only get EDGE speed no 3G , I been doing many tests , the final test will be to try the TELUS files once they are made avaolable , witch should be soon since the phone is already out ,,,
    Been a Moto Fan Since the First Vader ....

    Yup I taught I was real cool Back in '98 with the James Bond Phone and the Mi2 sunglasses .... In '08 I got my first Symbian Phone R.I.P , LONG LIVE ANDROID !!!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Question about updating Milestone in Canada
    By dbbreaker in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 03:31 PM
  2. Questions from a potenial Droid (Milestone, acutally) owner..
    By Zzbog in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 07:33 PM
  3. Milestone in Canada date kinda released
    By haarism in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 07:51 AM
  4. Motorola Milestone coming to Canada
    By danDroid in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-20-2009, 06:11 PM
  5. Milestone announced for canada and south america
    By shatteredzman in forum Motorola Milestone
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 08:51 PM

Search tags for this page

how to determine milestone motorola version canadian europea

,

using the european milestone in america

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+