DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Droid attached to Wi-Fi; How to change the device name

  1. Droid Newbie
    sumuller's Avatar
    Member #
    223001
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Hardy, VA
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by mydroyd View Post
    Hello helpful folks,

    Was hopoing this was an easy fix that someone might be able to help with. When I connect to my home network using my various computers and idevices, they all show up attached to my router by their computer name (though admittedly the iTouch just shows iPod5, or iPod6 or somesuch, and not what I actually named it, such as "Jake's iPod"). However when I connect to my home Wi-Fi with using either mine or my wife's Moto Droid, it just shows up as "<unknown>". There is no way to edit this in the router control panel, as it is what is being transmitted by the device. Any ideas on how to change my Droid's device name? Thanks.

    To set the wireless device name on a Netgear RangeMax DualBand Wireless N Modem Router:
    (1) login
    (2) On left hand menu, scroll down to "Advanced" settings and click on "LAN setup"
    (3) Middle panel will show LAN details, look for "Address Reservation" and if no addresses were reserved before, you will see only table headers for:
    # IP Address Device Name MAC Address
    (4) click on the "ADD" button and a table with existing connected devices will show
    (4.1) for a device already on the list:
    (4.1.1) select the radio button for the desired device with MAC address matching phone's MAC address (Android Mac Address found in Settings/Wireless Networks/Wi-Fi Settings, click menu button and click Advanced)
    (4.1.2) IP address, Mac Address and Device Name fields fill in automatically, change the Device Name from UNKNOWN to its new name
    (4.1.3) click ADD, enter login and password and phone device shows now named
    (4.1.4) repeat 4.1.1 - 4.1.3 to reserve address (change device name) for more devices on the LAN list
    (4.2) for a device not on the list:
    (4.2.1) type in the IP address, MAC address and desired Device Name
    (4.1.2) click ADD, enter login and password and phone device shows now named
    (4.1.3) repeat 4.1.1 - 4.1.2 to reserve address for more devices on the LAN list
    (5) click APPLY button
    (6) logout from Netgear router

    Now do the happy dance

  2. Droid Ninja
    zero7404's Avatar
    Member #
    22848
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,123
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid X
    #12
    the OP started this topic over a year ago, but i stumbled upon it while looking to change my phone's hostname ....

    i have my router secured wpa2, mac filtering, DHCP reservation, as many security features i can enable on a dir-825. all my clients have names i set myself but the phone kept appearing with the generic android_xxxxxx....

    so i found how to change the hostname directly on the phone, must be rooted and have android terminal installed:

    open a terminal, type these commands:

    Code:
    $ su
    # getprop net.hostname
    the preset hostname will be displayed. then type:

    Code:
    # setprop net.hostname whateveryouwant
    where 'whateveryouwant' is the hostname you want.

    done.
    GS4
  3. Senior Droid
    tommyg562000's Avatar
    Member #
    192841
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    183
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by zero7404 View Post
    the OP started this topic over a year ago, but i stumbled upon it while looking to change my phone's hostname ....

    i have my router secured wpa2, mac filtering, DHCP reservation, as many security features i can enable on a dir-825. all my clients have names i set myself but the phone kept appearing with the generic android_xxxxxx....

    so i found how to change the hostname directly on the phone, must be rooted and have android terminal installed:

    open a terminal, type these commands:

    Code:
    $ su
    # getprop net.hostname
    the preset hostname will be displayed. then type:

    Code:
    # setprop net.hostname whateveryouwant
    where 'whateveryouwant' is the hostname you want.

    done.
    You my friend are awesome! Thanks, been trying to figure this out since my Uverse router won't let me change the name of android devices (yeah, weird. every other device i can tho)
  4. Droid Ninja
    zero7404's Avatar
    Member #
    22848
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,123
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid X
    #14
    thanks ... i poked around online until i found something, simply posted it here for ppl.
    since i moved on to cm 7, there's an option to set the host name to whatever i want without having to go thru terminal .... although i noticed sometimes that my router doesn't pick up the name i set. that was in the past. i think when i used the method above it sometimes stuck and sometimes didn't. since going cyanogen i haven't noticed this issue.
    GS4
  5. Droid
    ktklein72's Avatar
    Member #
    211139
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    So. Jersey / Philly
    Posts
    41
    Twitter
    ktklein72
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4 (VZW)
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by zero7404 View Post
    the OP started this topic over a year ago, but i stumbled upon it while looking to change my phone's hostname ....

    i have my router secured wpa2, mac filtering, DHCP reservation, as many security features i can enable on a dir-825. all my clients have names i set myself but the phone kept appearing with the generic android_xxxxxx....

    so i found how to change the hostname directly on the phone, must be rooted and have android terminal installed:

    open a terminal, type these commands:

    Code:
    $ su
    # getprop net.hostname
    the preset hostname will be displayed. then type:

    Code:
    # setprop net.hostname whateveryouwant
    where 'whateveryouwant' is the hostname you want.

    done.
    This is very helpful to know, but it seems the change is only until you reboot your phone. Has anyone else found this to be the case? Is there any permanent option of changing it?
  6. Droid Ninja
    zero7404's Avatar
    Member #
    22848
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,123
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid X
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by ktklein72 View Post
    This is very helpful to know, but it seems the change is only until you reboot your phone. Has anyone else found this to be the case? Is there any permanent option of changing it?
    i noticed that too .... when i switched to cm 7 and specified a hostname in cyanogenmod settings, it sticks forever

    .....
    sent via android
    GS4
  7. Master Droid
    nubby's Avatar
    Member #
    58748
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    318
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus!!
    #17
    What type of router?
  8. Junior Droid
    sdbcivic's Avatar
    Member #
    107728
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    DROID A855
    #18
    so rooting is the only way??? i had my og droid rooted but only used wifi tether so i never bothered rooting my razr but what the heck.
  9. Droid Ninja
    zero7404's Avatar
    Member #
    22848
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,123
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid X
    #19
    i would say so unless theres an app out there that would name the device each time wifi is used ...

    device name is not important tho ...

    .....
    sent via android
    GS4
  10. Junior Droid
    sdbcivic's Avatar
    Member #
    107728
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    DROID A855
    #20
    well device name is important when your connecting to a secure network and there is a list of specific computer names that can connect to the network android 144512326877 is not on the approved list i guarantee it! wink wink!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can't view some attached photos
    By Beetsport in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 12:44 PM
  2. droid gps volume WAY louder than music player while attached to car speakers
    By duffybduffy2 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 02:50 PM
  3. Not charging while attached via USB?
    By raven1911 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 04:11 PM
  4. Facebook pics only attached to some contacts
    By DunkinDave in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 09:51 AM
  5. Random photo is attached to each song
    By Olderslower in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 07:09 AM

Search tags for this page

android change device name

,
android change network name
,

android device name

,

android network name

,
android set device name
,

android wifi change device name

,

change android device name

,

change android network name

,
change android wifi name
,

change device name android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+