DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Duplicate contacts in Dialer

  1. Junior Droid
    Dreambuilder's Avatar
    Member #
    73897
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #1

    Duplicate contacts in Dialer

    I use the Dialer One app and Handcent on my Moto Droid and when I type in a phone number or name two identical listings for almost every contact show up, but when I open up the contacts app (stock app) everything is perfect, no duplicates.

    Any Ideas on how to fix this? It is not a major issue, but it is very annoying.

    Thanks
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    Taegost's Avatar
    Member #
    68820
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Posts
    689
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #2
    Hrmm, do you have multiple contacts in your GMail contacts online? They may be merged together in the stock contacts app, but Dialer One may see them as the same.
    Holy crap! I just looked and I have one contact that shows up over 20 times in Dialer One, before it crashed... When I look at that contact in my Contacts, it says "No additional information available" and doesn't even show the name...
    On my Gmail contacts online I have the phone number and address...
    I suspect that the phone book is corrupt on my part, probably part of the Facebook issue I was having last week...
    In my case, I think I'm gonna wipe and re-download my contacts!
    HTC Rezound... Stock for now, with the Tag Home launcher...
    This link here will answer 90% of your issues: Click Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by jntowers
    12 mp camera? are we going to be putting these pictures on billboards?
  4. Junior Droid
    Dreambuilder's Avatar
    Member #
    73897
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #3
    I do have my phone linked to two gmail accounts and a lot of the contacts are the same in both accounts. Still, why would the stock app be able to recognize that the contacts are the same and Handcent and Dialer One not be able too?
  5. Junior Droid
    XtremeAaron's Avatar
    Member #
    62236
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    Handcent has the ability to pull numbers/contacts from social networks, for example if I have the option enabled in handcent, everyone on facebook who has listed they're number will show up.

    Just an idea.
  6. Junior Droid
    jamesrgeib's Avatar
    Member #
    70922
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    Dreambuilder,

    A similar thing happened to me when I got my original phone replaced, except that I had 2 duplicate contacts per entry. In other words, for each person in my contact list, they were somehow in there three times.

    I logged on to my gmail account on a desktop computer, and went to contacts and searched for duplicates. Gmail will automatically merge duplicate entries from there.

    Hope that helps.
  7. Master Droid
    Taegost's Avatar
    Member #
    68820
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Posts
    689
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreambuilder View Post
    I do have my phone linked to two gmail accounts and a lot of the contacts are the same in both accounts. Still, why would the stock app be able to recognize that the contacts are the same and Handcent and Dialer One not be able too?
    I'm actually still dealing with the issue I described above that I didn't realize I had until I tried to test my theory about merged contacts
    Even after wiping my phone completely, I still have an issue with the contact list after it gets pulled up with certain contacts, specifically the one I mentioned above.
    So, it wouldn't surprise me at this point if something more dastardly is going on!
    Oh, and I do agree with you that the other apps should be able to handle merged contacts properly, but I can't quite test that theory out right now
    HTC Rezound... Stock for now, with the Tag Home launcher...
    This link here will answer 90% of your issues: Click Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by jntowers
    12 mp camera? are we going to be putting these pictures on billboards?
  8. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Taegost View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreambuilder View Post
    I do have my phone linked to two gmail accounts and a lot of the contacts are the same in both accounts. Still, why would the stock app be able to recognize that the contacts are the same and Handcent and Dialer One not be able too?
    I'm actually still dealing with the issue I described above that I didn't realize I had until I tried to test my theory about merged contacts
    Even after wiping my phone completely, I still have an issue with the contact list after it gets pulled up with certain contacts, specifically the one I mentioned above.
    So, it wouldn't surprise me at this point if something more dastardly is going on!
    Oh, and I do agree with you that the other apps should be able to handle merged contacts properly, but I can't quite test that theory out right now
    Are you handling this from gmail on line? If not, that's where you should handle it.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Master Droid
    Taegost's Avatar
    Member #
    68820
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Posts
    689
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Taegost View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Dreambuilder View Post
    I do have my phone linked to two gmail accounts and a lot of the contacts are the same in both accounts. Still, why would the stock app be able to recognize that the contacts are the same and Handcent and Dialer One not be able too?
    I'm actually still dealing with the issue I described above that I didn't realize I had until I tried to test my theory about merged contacts
    Even after wiping my phone completely, I still have an issue with the contact list after it gets pulled up with certain contacts, specifically the one I mentioned above.
    So, it wouldn't surprise me at this point if something more dastardly is going on!
    Oh, and I do agree with you that the other apps should be able to handle merged contacts properly, but I can't quite test that theory out right now
    Are you handling this from gmail on line? If not, that's where you should handle it.
    Yeah, I've looked at it in GMail, it all looks fine up there for the records... And I found that the one I know I have an issue with will eventually show me the phone and address if I look it up in the stock contact app and wait about 10-30 seconds... All the other records that I've looked at (Which is not all of them... I have 403 contacts) gives me the info immediately...
    I'm gonna play with it some more tonight after everyone leaves and I'm the only one stuck here at work
    HTC Rezound... Stock for now, with the Tag Home launcher...
    This link here will answer 90% of your issues: Click Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by jntowers
    12 mp camera? are we going to be putting these pictures on billboards?
  10. Master Droid
    Taegost's Avatar
    Member #
    68820
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Posts
    689
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Rezound
    #9
    Holy crap... This deserved a completely separate post:
    I found the problem, and you're right, I have to go online to fix it... The contacts in question are duplicated many times, some of then over a hundred times each... I didn't notice it until I realized I could delete them from the phone... Then I suddenly got a message "There are too many deletes, 346, what do you want to do?"
    That's when I looked at my Gmail account and I see "My contacts: 247" "All contacts: 1538"...
    Strangely enough, it *only* affected companies that were marked in the "Business" group that have an address and their name appearing in the "Company" box online...
    This should get interesting

    UPDATE: I fixed the problem... I had 5 contacts that were duplicated about 300 times each. I was able to delete them from the contacts in my phone (I had to baby-sit it because it would tell me there are too many deletes and ask what I want to do... and it kept crashing) but I finally got them cleared out, and I re-entered the 2 I wanted to keep... All the ones that got jacked up were originally entered in Outlook, sync'd to my old WinMo phone, after reformatting sync'd back to Outlook, then archived and pulled out later for an export/import to GMail. Man, talk about not knowing you have a problem until you try to help someone else!
    To Dreambuilder: Moral of this story is that even though your contacts merge on the phone and you only see one in the stock Contact list, Dialer One does in fact see them as separate contacts. In your situation, your only options are to merge the contact lists together into one so you don't have multiple contacts, or send an e-mail to the developers to have the update the apps so they can take advantage of the contact merge feature
    Last edited by Taegost; 06-03-2010 at 03:02 PM.
    HTC Rezound... Stock for now, with the Tag Home launcher...
    This link here will answer 90% of your issues: Click Me!

    Quote Originally Posted by jntowers
    12 mp camera? are we going to be putting these pictures on billboards?

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Duplicate Contacts
    By SorenW in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-15-2010, 08:34 PM
  2. Android Contacts/Dialer App
    By irishpride in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 05:22 PM
  3. Duplicate contacts after sync with Gmail
    By djsexton11 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 10:11 AM
  4. Duplicate contacts when using shortcut widget
    By Wolfwise in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-25-2009, 07:07 PM
  5. duplicate calender events and contacts in google
    By iunknown in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 10:10 AM

Search tags for this page

android suddenly duplicates names in contacts
,

dialer one duplicate contacts

,
dialer one merge contacts
,
dialer one no phone number
,
dialer showing duplicate contacts
,
droid bionic dialer showing duplicate contacts
,
droid x showing duplicates in dialer
,

handcent duplicate contacts

,
handsend app shows duplucate contacts
,
merge contacts dialer android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+