DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help me switch to Droid!

  1. Droid Newbie
    forehand's Avatar
    Member #
    56575
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Help me switch to Droid!

    Hopefully this will be rather straightforward for you folks.

    I currently use a work provided AT&T Tilt (I know it's old.) I got android installed on it a while ago though and now I am hooked. It's time to replace my phone. My work offers a Tilt 2 for AT&T which I've heard porting android to is lame. They also offer a Verizon Black Berry Tour. Both options come with unlimited data.

    What I want to know is: If I have my work acquire the Verizon Tour for me with unlimited data, and I purchase a Droid with a basic voice plan can I swap the SIMs and get my unlimited data on the Droid?

    Droid I am thinking of buying: Amazon.com: Motorola DROID A855 Android Phone (Verizon Wireless): Cell Phones & Service

    Black Berry Tour: BlackBerry Tour from Verizon Wireless - Home

    I just want to make sure this stuff will work before I sign up for a 2 year contract... Any help is really appreciated!
  2. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #2
    First of all welcome to droidforums

    And to answer your question, the Droid does not have a SIM card. As with all VZW phones, CDMA network devices do not require a SIM

  3. Droid Newbie
    forehand's Avatar
    Member #
    56575
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    Gotchya. So is there not a way to switch the numbers and plans of the two phones?
  4. RS/Moderator
    Abe21599's Avatar
    Member #
    18400
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    6,335
    Liked
    71 times
    Phone
    S3, G2, M8
    Premium Member
    #4
    nope gotta get a phone that accepts sim cards. idk what the restrictions are but the milestone is the droid only on the GSM network (takes sim cards) as for getting one in america, idk if itd work
  5. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #5
    I honestly am not sure about that man...I wish I could be of more help with your situation!

    I do know that somehow they can jailbreak the iPhone and modify it to have service on CDMA networks like Verizon, but I really don't think this kind of hack has been reversed to do the opposite. But other than something of that nature I don't *think* it is possible, although I can always be wrong but who knows

  6. Droid Newbie
    forehand's Avatar
    Member #
    56575
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    Dang, I was really getting excited about getting a Droid.... Now to try and find another Android phone that this'll work with.
  7. Master Droid
    myriad46's Avatar
    Member #
    8076
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    473
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X2
    #7
    Your theory is sound. The problem is that you would need administrator rights to the account that you are adding the Droid to. Your name would have to be on the account. For example, if you bought a used Droid and you had a Tour (personal phone), you can go online and switch the phones on your account. Technilogical, very possible, contractually, you may be out of luck.

    I came from a Tilt also. I was patiently awaiting the Tilt 2 when I tried Android and loved it. You will be very happy with the Droid. I will add however that the physical keyboard on the Droid is actually worse than the Tilt, in my opinion. I never use it however, as the software keyboard works fine. And I have big hands.
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    AOKP Rom - current build
  8. Droid Sensei
    natediddy1120's Avatar
    Member #
    23380
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ???
    Posts
    3,183
    Phone
    CyanogenMod :-)
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by myriad46 View Post
    Your theory is sound. The problem is that you would need administrator rights to the account that you are adding the Droid to. Your name would have to be on the account. For example, if you bought a used Droid and you had a Tour (personal phone), you can go online and switch the phones on your account. Technilogical, very possible, contractually, you may be out of luck.

    I came from a Tilt also. I was patiently awaiting the Tilt 2 when I tried Android and loved it. You will be very happy with the Droid. I will add however that the physical keyboard on the Droid is actually worse than the Tilt, in my opinion. I never use it however, as the software keyboard works fine. And I have big hands.
    I still don't understand how simply switching the devices on his account would work when the issue is a hardware issue?

    And also, to the OP, I just remembered the Nexus One. You can only buy it online at google.com/phone

    It works on AT&T and T-Mobile right now I believe. You could do some research on it as it is technically the most powerful Android device available

  9. Droid Newbie
    Eric559's Avatar
    Member #
    56615
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by forehand View Post
    What I want to know is: If I have my work acquire the Verizon Tour for me with unlimited data, and I purchase a Droid with a basic voice plan can I swap the SIMs and get my unlimited data on the Droid?
    It is possible. You will have to swap the phones. Your going to have two accounts correct? One that is under your company and one personal?

    Quote Originally Posted by natediddy1120 View Post
    I do know that somehow they can jailbreak the iPhone and modify it to have service on CDMA networks like Verizon, but I really don't think this kind of hack has been reversed to do the opposite.
    There is no hack that will allow a GSM iPhone to work on a CDMA network. It is a hardware limitation and not a software one. The current iPhone only has a GSM radio in it and does not connect to any CDMA network.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Ultimate Droid 9.0.0. MAKE the switch trust me!!!
    By DroidHoff in forum Android Roms
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 10:42 PM
  2. Tell Me Why to Switch From Palm Pre to Droid
    By sweaner in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 08:05 PM
  3. Sooo, will you switch from Droid to N1 on VZW?
    By DurangoJim in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 05:54 PM
  4. Worth the switch from WM to Droid?
    By fujitsupalm in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 08:06 AM
  5. About to switch Tour to Droid, but...
    By Bobby J in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 08:44 AM

Search tags for this page

can a motorola droid a855 take a sim card
,
can droid a855 change sim cards
,
can i use sim card for motorola droid a855
,
do i needa a verizon droid a855 sim card
,
does a motorola droid a855 use a sim card
,
does the motorola a855 use a sim card
,
does the motorola droid a855 use a sim card
,
droid a855 sim card
,
droid sim card a855
,
swap blackberry sim to android
,
swap sim card blackberry android
,
verizon blackberry to android sim card swap
,
verizon switch sim blackberry motorola
,

where to find switching number on droid a855

,
will a blackberry sim card work in a droid x
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+