DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Need Help! Increasing overall RAM on OC'D Droid?

  1. Master Droid
    gatewayad's Avatar
    Member #
    1144
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    521
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Need Help! Increasing overall RAM on OC'D Droid?

    I am running SholesMod 145 (2.0.2) I am running the cpu at between 800 and 1000 (just lowered to 800 to see if it helped (no). Is there a particular app i have below or anything in all the 2.1 stuff that is hard on RAM. How can I increase the RAM on the phone. Twice in the last week it has told me my RAM is low. I have run ATK right before I took the picture so most every app was closed and jumped from 32 free to 42 free.
    Anybody have any suggestions or an i just being an*l about it.
    If interested this app is Android System Info on the market and has way more info than I should ba allowed to have...
    Thunderbolt

    Why Root? - Because I Can




  2.  
     
     
     
  3. DF News Team
    wuyanks's Avatar
    Member #
    800
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,404
    Phone
    Moto DROID !!!
    Premium Member
    #2
    the RAM is hardwired inside on the phone, and cannot be altered... unless you are a very skilled engineer that can handle a microscope
    GTalk: mabramson1@gmail.com
    twitter: @m_abramson
  4. Master Droid
    gatewayad's Avatar
    Member #
    1144
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    521
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by wuyanks View Post
    the RAM is hardwired inside on the phone, and cannot be altered... unless you are a very skilled engineer that can handle a microscope
    So I'm assuming then it's ok for it to run at (15-18%) and not to worry about it.
    I was thinking i had something loaded that I could delete that may be hogging up a lot of the RAM.
    Everything switches very fast on Sholes in and out of apps, I was just concerned by how low it was percentage wise
    Thunderbolt

    Why Root? - Because I Can




  5. DF News Team
    wuyanks's Avatar
    Member #
    800
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,404
    Phone
    Moto DROID !!!
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by gatewayad View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wuyanks View Post
    the RAM is hardwired inside on the phone, and cannot be altered... unless you are a very skilled engineer that can handle a microscope
    So I'm assuming then it's ok for it to run at (15-18%) and not to worry about it.
    I was thinking i had something loaded that I could delete that may be hogging up a lot of the RAM.
    Everything switches very fast on Sholes in and out of apps, I was just concerned by how low it was percentage wise
    basically it doesn't matter if you have 1mb free or 100mb free... there is a saying: "Free RAM is wasted RAM"... it should run at the same speed either way... however it is disappointing that the Droid has only 256mb... but i have never ran out of RAM yet
    GTalk: mabramson1@gmail.com
    twitter: @m_abramson
  6. Master Droid
    gatewayad's Avatar
    Member #
    1144
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    521
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by wuyanks View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by gatewayad View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by wuyanks View Post
    the RAM is hardwired inside on the phone, and cannot be altered... unless you are a very skilled engineer that can handle a microscope
    So I'm assuming then it's ok for it to run at (15-18%) and not to worry about it.
    I was thinking i had something loaded that I could delete that may be hogging up a lot of the RAM.
    Everything switches very fast on Sholes in and out of apps, I was just concerned by how low it was percentage wise
    basically it doesn't matter if you have 1mb free or 100mb free... there is a saying: "Free RAM is wasted RAM"... it should run at the same speed either way... however it is disappointing that the Droid has only 256mb... but i have never ran out of RAM yet

    Thanks ......
    Thunderbolt

    Why Root? - Because I Can




  7. Master Droid
    moosc's Avatar
    Member #
    561
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    lincolnton nc
    Posts
    261
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #6
    Mine has run around 13% since day one. Even aftter sholesmod at 1ghz.
  8. Senior Droid
    Jeremy556's Avatar
    Member #
    8966
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    139
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    When the system runs out of memory, it forces a background application to close and frees up memory. Works well most of the time, except when it kills my IM client or something else I want open when I am switching between the web browser and VNC, or some other memory intensive apps. I really wish this phone had 512mb.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Increasing max speed in SetCPU?
    By Charcoal_Mantis in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 06:40 AM
  2. Increasing video quality on Droid?
    By Tillers_Rule in forum Android Audio and Video
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 09:05 PM
  3. Increasing call quality?
    By zcar.300 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-14-2009, 06:13 PM
  4. Increasing call quality?
    By GadgetRick in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-10-2009, 11:14 PM

Search tags for this page

android free ram

,
android increasing ram memory
,

droid free ram

,
droid increasing ram memory
,

free ram droid

,

free ram on droid

,

how to free ram on droid

,
how to increase available memory on rezound
,
how to increase phone ram
,
how to increase ram on droid x2
,
how to increase ram on motorola droid
,
increase droid ram
,
increase free ram android
,
increasing ram on droid incredible
,
increasing ram on motorola droid 1
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+