DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: No data connection in Eastern Mediterranean

  1. Droid Newbie
    herbinseattle's Avatar
    Member #
    258304
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #1

    No data connection in Eastern Mediterranean

    Took my Motorola Droid 2 Global on cruise to Turkey, Israel, Egypt and Greece. With my Data Package, I was unable to connect with Internet anywhere except Turkey. I tried everything - battery removal, double checked all settings and still NOTHING. Couldn't even reach Verizon for international trouble shooting. Very discouraging and calling Verizon on my return didn't provide any comfort for future trips.

    Any thoughts?

    herbinseattle
  2. vey
    vey is offline
    Droid
    vey's Avatar
    Member #
    226156
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    96
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #2
    There are two major cell phone systems: CDMA and GSM.
    Verizon and the US uses CDMA. AT&T and most of the rest of the world uses GSM. For people that travel a lot, using AT&T is probably a better bet.

    But all is not totally lost. There are phones, very few, that are "universal" in that they can do both. If you want to stay with Verizon, you could get one of these phones, then set up an account with a GSM based company (maybe where you hang out the most? Turkey and Egypt are pretty easy places to do business -- Greece and Italy, not so much) and use the GSM when you are there.

    To me, that is more expense and trouble than it is worth, but it is possible.

    I just had another thought. Maybe you could look at a US company called TRU http://www.truphone.com/en-US/Products/Tru-for-you/ . I think they will let you "bring your own phone." So you would pick up a cheap used GSM phone on ebay or craig's list, stick in a sim card from Tru for when you travel. It is a prepaid thing. But data in foreign countries is REALLY expensive.
    Last edited by vey; 04-09-2012 at 03:18 PM.
  3. Droid Newbie
    herbinseattle's Avatar
    Member #
    258304
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Droid 2 Global
    #3
    Thanks for quick reply. I was told by Verizon when I bought the phone that they have "arrangements" with Vodaphone to connect all over Europe - not sure if they mentioned Middle East. Anyway, my next trip is to Italy and I'm going to be real disappointed if my Global Droid can't connect to Internet with Verizon/Vodaphone there.

    herbinseattle
  4. vey
    vey is offline
    Droid
    vey's Avatar
    Member #
    226156
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    96
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #4
    I'm sorry. I missed the word "Global" and was thinking you had a regular Droid 2. In theory, that phone is supposed to switch back and forth automatically between GSM and CDMA. GSM uses a sim card., so I would take it to a dealer that understands the phone and ask them to check the sim card. Problem is that you won't be able to check to see if it works until you go there again.

    Alternatively, when you are there again try and find a vodafone office (it is their sim card) or one of those places that say "Cell Phone Repair" and see what they can do with it. Sometimes just removing the sim card (it is under the battery) and putting it back in will make it work.
  5. Master Droid
    SANhacker's Avatar
    Member #
    24684
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    352
    Liked
    22 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    #5
    I had the same problem with a D2G in Tel Aviv last year. I just purchased a cheap phone with ~100 minutes and called it a day.
    Turns out the minutes were cheaper than they would have been on the D2G due to roaming charges. Go figure.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. 3G to 1x to No Data Connection?
    By hajabooja in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-04-2013, 12:34 AM
  2. Big problem..... No Data connection at all. How to fix/force connection or Turn on?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-30-2013, 05:08 AM
  3. No Data Connection
    By jrwilson in forum Droid 4 Tech Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-10-2012, 10:49 PM
  4. So no data connection at all......
    By Kryptyk in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 09:31 AM
  5. No Data Connection CM7
    By Nezdude87 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-25-2011, 03:04 PM

Search tags for this page

charging my motorola droid bionic in egypt
,

droid 2 global no data connection

,

droid 4 no data connection

,
motorla droid 3 world prepaid data sim europe not working
,
motorola droid 3 no data connection unlocked phone
,

motorola droid 4 no data connection

,
motorola droid bionic can i bring it to europe to make calls
,
motorola droid no data connection
,
no data connection on motorola global phone in europe
,
verizon motorola droid gsm no data conection
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+