DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Root 2.2.3 without PC?

  1. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #11
    What steps did you follow to install the ROM? And are you sure it was for the correct device?
  2. fenriswolf039's Avatar
    Member #
    53092
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    75
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #12
    I downloaded the Rom Manager Premium, selected Download mod, selected CyanogenMod, then it gave me a list. First I chose 7.1.0 because the dev's website said it was stable for the original Droid. That boot looped me. Then I went to my backup, and repeated the process. This time I selected 7.0.3, also listed as a "stable release" .

    Boot loop again.

    Do I even need Cyanogen to overclock? What I've read so far has left me a little unclear.
  3. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by fenriswolf039 View Post
    OK, I got it rooted, tried installing the latest "stable" Cyanogen mod, 7.1.0 and it just gets stuck in a boot loop.

    I really just want to overclock. What's the simplest way to accomplish this? I don't care about themes and other stuff... the phone is just too slow.
    Overclocking is done with a kernel. Apply the kernel you want, then use a program such as SetCPU to adjust the frequency and such.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #14
    And what steps are you following to install these ROMs? That would make a big difference as to whether or not you are successful.
  5. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by fenriswolf039 View Post
    I downloaded the Rom Manager Premium, selected Download mod, selected CyanogenMod, then it gave me a list. First I chose 7.1.0 because the dev's website said it was stable for the original Droid. That boot looped me. Then I went to my backup, and repeated the process. This time I selected 7.0.3, also listed as a "stable release" .

    Boot loop again.

    Do I even need Cyanogen to overclock? What I've read so far has left me a little unclear.


    Ok lets start from the beginning. How did you root?

    When you installed RM Premium, did you flash clockwork mod recovery?

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  6. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #16
    Also, the first link in my signature is a ROM flashing guide. Feel free to peruse that.

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  7. fenriswolf039's Avatar
    Member #
    53092
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    75
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #17
    OK, since I last posted I've got it running in (it says) ultra low voltage at 1.0Ghz. I've got my wifi tether going, very cool.

    It's a Chevy kernel, basically just for overclocking from what I read about it. I'd like to change the appearance a bit now, do I need something like Cyanogen for that, or do I now just basically have a lot more themes available to me?

    I tried 3 different Cyanogen installs, all have failed. The Chevy kernel went right in and worked perfectly. Now I have this configuration backed up along with my stock configuration.

    Chevy and Cyanogen... apples and oranges? Kernel vs... what? Is Cyanogen just a mod I install over the kernel?
  8. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #18
    No it is not something you install over a kernel, it is an entire ROM which would include it's own kernel. And as long as you got it going you don't need it really but did you try to do the install using guidot's guide?
  9. fenriswolf039's Avatar
    Member #
    53092
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    75
    Phone
    motorola droid
    #19
    yes, I followed Guidot's guide the first three times with Cyanogen, and I did the 3 latest versions, in order from newest to oldest. They all just boot looped and I had to pull the battery each time.

    Chevy's went in without a fuss using the same method. This is all fine and well, I guess it's really just some theme variation I'm looking for now.
  10. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #20
    Are you running Chevy's full ROM or just one of his kernels?
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid Bionic Wont Root Using Petes Motorola Root Tools
    By iTz_I3urn in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-28-2011, 02:21 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 07:45 PM
  3. HELP- Petes one click root only acomplished partial root-ROOT ISSUE
    By C3P0 in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 06:35 PM
  4. Wanting to root. But wheres the one click root for droid to make it easier?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-31-2010, 10:13 PM

Search tags for this page

how to root a droid bionic without a computer

,
how to root android 2.2.3 without computer
,
how to root droid bionic without computer
,
root 2.2.3
,
root android 2.2.3
,
root droid 2.2.3
,
root droid 3 without computer
,
root droid bionic without pc
,

root droid charge without computer

,

root phone without computer

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+