DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: how do you turn 3g back on?

  1. Senior Droid
    struong57's Avatar
    Member #
    3922
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    how do you turn 3g back on?

    Ok, so I was using wifi on my motorola droid, them turned the wifi off thinking that my phone would automatically re-connect to the 3g network. but it did not, and I could not figure how to turn 3g back on. I had to power cycle the phone to get 3g back.

    am I missing something? shouldn't there be an easier way to switch from wifi to 3g?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    SnoDrtRider's Avatar
    Member #
    18890
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Posts
    576
    Liked
    12 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Maxx
    #2
    The phone automatically switches from 3G to WiFi. Sometimes it seems to get stuck and I need to power cycle the phone to get it working again.
  4. Senior Droid
    struong57's Avatar
    Member #
    3922
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    That sucks. I was really impressed with this phone during the first couple months of having it, but there are so many flaws that I wish I had gone with an iphone.
  5. Master Droid
    bamfsig45's Avatar
    Member #
    465
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    ICT
    Posts
    895
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Thunderbolt & Xoom
    #4
    Lol.......

    Sometimes a "smartphone" is only as smart as its user.




  6. Droid Ninja
    jsh1120's Avatar
    Member #
    13823
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    2,462
    Liked
    15 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by SnoDrtRider View Post
    The phone automatically switches from 3G to WiFi. Sometimes it seems to get stuck and I need to power cycle the phone to get it working again.
    It's true that the phone designed to move between 3G and WiFi relatively seamlessly. However, the addition of third party software can create conflicts. For example, I use a 3rd party app (Y5-Battery Saver) that controls WiFi access automatically when I'm in range of a known wireless network. I also have an application dock widget on the home screen that allows me to turn WiFi on and off manually (among other settings) and a third app (WiFi OnOff widget) that does the same thing.

    I've found that the three apps (and the phone's default operation) sometimes battle with one another for control of WiFi. It's not a major problem and I've not yet figured out precisely the behavior of each app to determine which of the apps to jettison. But it's an object lesson in adding overlapping third party apps.
  7. Droid Sensei
    takeshi's Avatar
    Member #
    10236
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4,600
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by struong57 View Post
    That sucks. I was really impressed with this phone during the first couple months of having it, but there are so many flaws that I wish I had gone with an iphone.
    Make sure you don't have any app (or other) issues before you start blaming the device.
  8. Junior Droid
    Firegrl's Avatar
    Member #
    15928
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM
    Posts
    26
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    I've had this issue as well.

    But what really bothers me is my phone likes to get stuck in 1x instead of 3G all the time. I usually first try putting it into Airplane mode, then taking it back out. If that doesn't work, then I will power cycle.

    When I first got my phone, it got stuck on 1x for over a week while my boyfriend (who lives with me) had no problems getting 3G. And at that time I really didn't have any apps installed.

    And now my Gmail won't sync a lot of the time. It does kinda seem the more I use the phone, the more annoyances pop up. Yes, I love my Droid, but it can be annoying sometimes....
    New Video Game Blog - GeekGods
    Need some comments on my DOFOLLOW blog, please help!
  9. Senior Droid
    struong57's Avatar
    Member #
    3922
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #8
    If there was a way to figure out which app was conflicting with my 3g connection I would uninstall it in a heart beat. But unfortunately, due to android's open development and motorola choosing to go with that os, I must blame the device.
  10. Master Droid
    ShowTime's Avatar
    Member #
    31398
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    534
    Phone
    Has that newly rooted smell...
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by struong57 View Post
    If there was a way to figure out which app was conflicting with my 3g connection I would uninstall it in a heart beat. But unfortunately, due to android's open development and motorola choosing to go with that os, I must blame the device.
    Uninstall all of them, see if problem goes away. Then reinstall them one by one to find out which one is causing the problem. Simple. Done. I'm not sure I see the logic in your statement; because of "Android's open development" and Android operating system, it's the phone's fault one of your apps might be conflicting with your wifi/3G switching? Even if it is a flaw within the phone, the fact that it has an open development platform doesn't really seem to apply and they are continually (well sort of.... stupid 2.1...) coming out with updates to fix bugs and upgrade usability.
    Last edited by ShowTime; 01-29-2010 at 03:09 PM.
  11. Senior Droid
    struong57's Avatar
    Member #
    3922
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #10
    The open development is a problem because the apps on the android market place are not tested by Google. Which results in software/hardware conflicts. Unlike the apps on the Apple store that must pass QA first before the app can be sold/downloaded.

    The android market does not separate apps by devices, so one app may work fine on one android device while constantly crashing on another android device.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Turn by turn GPS, first impression
    By MontyMo in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 10:00 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 05:53 PM
  3. There is A New Free Gps Turn by Turn on Market
    By droid master in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 02:48 PM
  4. Help! Can't turn Sense UI back on.
    By MadGrimey in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 01:22 AM
  5. Phone shut off and would not turn back on..
    By guitarplayer in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 04:33 AM

Search tags for this page

how do i get 3g back on my phone
,
how do i get my 3g back on my phone
,

how do i turn my 3g back on

,
how to get 3g back on my phone
,
how to turn 3g back on android
,
how to turn 3g back on droid
,
how to turn my 3g back on
,

how to turn on 3g on droid

,
how to turn on 3g on my motorola droid phone
,
how to turn your 3g back on
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+