DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: Anyone Use Their Droid in Europe?

  1. Droid Newbie
    EuropeBound's Avatar
    Member #
    27938
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Anyone Use Their Droid in Europe?

    Hello, I did a search and went through a few threads, but couldn't find a definite answer to my question.

    I'm in the States, but traveling to London, Amsterdam, and Paris for a couple weeks next month.

    I realize you can't make calls and use 3g, however, I'm wondering if I can connect to wifi over there to use the internet?

    I'm looking for responses from people who have actually tried, not assumptions.

    Thanks!!
  2. Droid
    navdoc1110's Avatar
    Member #
    28054
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    45
    Phone
    moto droid
    #2

    use overseas

    I have used the skype application oversease via wifi and there is no problem making skype to skype calls
  3. Droid Newbie
    EuropeBound's Avatar
    Member #
    27938
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    hey thanks for the input.

    so i guess that answers my question with wifi.

    just wanted to make sure the wifi worked ok over there.

    im not too concerned with calling people...i just want to use the droid to check my email and update facebook

    if anyone can recommend an electrical outlet converter, that would be great too!

    thanks again.
  4. Droid Newbie
    dfunction's Avatar
    Member #
    29972
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #4
    hi navdoc1110:

    did you test the gps in europe?

    thanks
  5. Droid
    wfholcom's Avatar
    Member #
    28881
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Woodstock, GA
    Posts
    45
    Phone
    Motorola Droid X
    #5

    Droid in Europe

    I used it in Costa Rica on Wifi but didn't try a Skype call. Wifi worked fine for e-mail and all other web uses. Navigation did not work.

    Costa Rica is GSM only with no CDMA.

    Google came up in Spanish, it knew where i was, and i could switch to English.
    Last edited by wfholcom; 01-22-2010 at 06:13 AM.
  6. Premium Member
    Sam's Avatar
    Member #
    16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    dirty dirty
    Posts
    3,471
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid
    Premium Member
    #6
    Para ingles, regresa a los estado unidos. Lol
    -Respect is rule #1
    -Email us at DroidForumPromo@gmail to become a Supporting Vendor.
    -Not around as often as I used to be... Still, feel free to PM me if there is anything I can help with!
  7. Droid Newbie
    dfunction's Avatar
    Member #
    29972
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #7

    Was in Italy

    Hey all:

    Just a follow up, I was in Italy and not able to use the GPS on the Droid (bummer!).

    -d
  8. Junior Droid
    jlghertner's Avatar
    Member #
    17092
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    20
    Phone
    Droid X, a piece of junk
    #8

    travel to canada

    as I approached the inspection station crossing in the Thousand Islands in Upstate NY to Canada, all GPS signal and navigation stopped dead, no maps, no nothing.

    roaming charges for the few days cost me $45 and lost trying to get through Montreal.

    Wifi worked great but no internet with cell service.
  9. Droid Newbie
    lukesamuels2010's Avatar
    Member #
    7548
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #9
    when I'm in Europe I use skype. I put in my credit card so I can call phones in america and its only like 2 cnts a minute. Wifi is a good thing. I wish you could put a sim card in a droid. You would think since Vodafone owns verizon that they would want that.

    I was told that Europe has more wifi available than the states. I have spent so much time there and found that to be not true. Many placees make you pay.

    For an adapter I would just get the adapter, I don't think you need a big one that converts the power since most chargers have them built in. (I may be totally wrong)
  10. Junior Droid
    Droid- DC's Avatar
    Member #
    40292
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10

    Angry

    I’m about to go to Europe too, made maps for Orux (an offline capable GPS map application), and after some research realized I wasted my time, and that it won’t work with the Droid in Europe for the following reason:

    Most phones, as with the Droid, with "GPS" in fact use A-GPS technology. The "A" stands for assisted, and means that the phone relies on the network for help in determining location. Although the phone does receive GPS signals directly from the satellites, it can't determine actual location without help from the cell network.

    gpsOne is a position location technology developed by SnapTrack, a subsidiary of Qualcomm. GpsOne is an A-GPS technology, meaning it uses GPS satellites in conjunction with land-based stations (towers) to determine a phone’s location.

    Phones with gpsOne can receive raw signals directly from GPS satellites, but require a live connection to a network-based location server to do so. The location server helps the phone find the correct satellites. The location server also processes the raw signals and makes the final calculations that determine location.

    gpsOne is integrated into most Qualcomm CDMA chipsets, and is the position location technology used by most CDMA carriers.

    From the sounds of it, the only way the Droid's GPS would work in Europe is if it had a Standalone (autonomous) GPS reciever (like a Garmin or TomTom does) or had International GSM roaming. Sadly it does not have either of those, and therefore the GPS will not work outside of the Verizon/CDMA network (800/1900 MHz).

    Read more GPS vs. A-GPS: A Quick Tutorial: http://www.wmexperts.com/articles/gps_vs_agps_a_quick_tutorial.html
    Last edited by Droid- DC; 02-24-2010 at 12:24 PM.
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid in Europe / Milestone in US
    By Luxury in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 08:24 PM

Search tags for this page

can i use my droid in europe

,
droid in europe verizon
,

droid use in europe

,
using a droid in europe
,
using motorola droid in europe
,
using my droid in europe
,

using verizon droid in europe

,

will my droid work in europe

,
will my motorola droid work europe
,
will my verizon droid work in europe
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+