DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: D1 without data plan?

  1. Master Droid
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Member #
    155225
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    518
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    D1 without data plan?

    Is there anyway to use the D1 without a data plan and just minutes?

    What happens if you have a standard plan and activate the D1 without on your own? Does it not activate or do they automatically add $30 to your plan?

    I want to give my D1 to my gf, but she doesn't want nor need data (can use wifi when need be).

    I wish verzion would let you. On my first smart phone the vx6800 or something like that didn't require a data plan.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    Droid Firefighter's Avatar
    Member #
    130981
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet) ;-)
    Posts
    1,622
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Razr Maxx HD
    #2
    They wont activate it without the data plan. I asked when I bought mine at launch. Apparently with previous phones when people used a lot of data without a data plan they all called and complained about how high their bill was (over $200). So to combat that, when they introduced the new android line of phones, they made data mandatory since these phones were designed for some serious data usage. It sorta protects us from high monthly bills, and them from several thousands of calls complaining about their bill.

    You can use your D1 without a service plan over wifi only. I don't know enough about wifi/internet voip calling to say you could do that without a plan. Hope that helps!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  4. Droid Ninja
    jaycemiskel's Avatar
    Member #
    74156
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,382
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    Yeah. Data is mandatory on smartphones. She's going to have to get data if she wants to use it.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. Junior Droid
    SteveHebe's Avatar
    Member #
    183423
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central NJ
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #4
    You might also look into hopping over to PagePlus Cellular. Verizon's network without verizon's prices!
  6. Team Sourcery
    Chizzele's Avatar
    Member #
    152716
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    San Diego CA
    Posts
    2,023
    Liked
    131 times
    Phone
    Sourcerized GN
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #5
    Art Vandelay... how is the import export going.. lol
  7. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHebe View Post
    You might also look into hopping over to PagePlus Cellular. Verizon's network without verizon's prices!
    Now I've never heard of that one. Link me, please obviously I need to get some education.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  8. Master Droid
    Skull One's Avatar
    Member #
    45849
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    760
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    iPhone 4S daily. Droid and DX
    #7
    It can be done. But you need three things to occur to make them listen and do it.

    1) Enough years with them. I had 10 at the time.
    2) You can properly show the device had been on a plan long enough to make them money beyond the subsidy. My device was.
    3) Don't take no for an answer if you meet the first two.

    My youngest child is on a LG Env without a data plan. You can check that it "needs" a $15 to activate. Their system is actually setup to not require a data plan. They just don't want people to know about that fact.
    Facts are the very first casuality of bad information.
  9. Master Droid
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Member #
    155225
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    518
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    Thanks for the info. I've been with Verizon for over 10 years, so I suppose I have some leverage.

    We are on a family plan and right now she has one of those stupid feature phones that require a $10 75MB plan. I'd still have data on my line, so I guess I could persuade them.

    Is there a way to turn off data so there's no way of using it? Im rooted

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. Master Droid
    Art Vandelay's Avatar
    Member #
    155225
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    518
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    I looked up page plus and they offer 1200 min, 2000 text/mms and 100MB data for $30. That would be perfect.

    Can you activate any phone with them?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. Senior Droid
    ionide's Avatar
    Member #
    107737
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    194
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Skull One View Post
    It can be done. But you need three things to occur to make them listen and do it.

    1) Enough years with them. I had 10 at the time.
    2) You can properly show the device had been on a plan long enough to make them money beyond the subsidy. My device was.
    3) Don't take no for an answer if you meet the first two.

    My youngest child is on a LG Env without a data plan. You can check that it "needs" a $15 to activate. Their system is actually setup to not require a data plan. They just don't want people to know about that fact.
    You're wrong. The Droid cannot be activated without a data plan. Your phone was a different situation, not a smartphone. It is not possible to have a Droid with no data plan.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Do You Need a Data Plan?
    By wuzuprad in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 113
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 06:35 PM
  2. Do I need a Data plan for GPS
    By RacecarBMW in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 07:45 AM
  3. Data plan help
    By Xemnova in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 02:08 PM
  4. Thank god for that $30 data plan
    By kristoff125 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-14-2010, 08:50 PM
  5. Is the Verizon txt plan part of the data plan?
    By miltk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 04:11 PM

Search tags for this page

activate droid 1 without data#gsc.tab
,
activate droid verizon without data plan#gsc.tab
,

android phone without data plan

,

best verizon phone without data plan

,

best verizon phone without data plan 2011

,
can i activate my droid 1 with my 9.99 data plan
,
can you activate droid without internet plan
,
motorola droid 2 activation without data plan
,
motorola droid no data plan
,
smartphone without data plan verizon 2011
,
verizon d1 no data plan
,

verizon droid no data plan

,

verizon droid without data plan

,
verizon phones without data plan 2011
,
verizon smartphone without data plan 2011
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+