DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Unlocked pro in the US

  1. Droid
    mbd4524's Avatar
    Member #
    139745
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    droid pro
    #1

    Unlocked pro in the US

    So here is my problem. I bought the pro in order to use overseas (where I spend most of the year) and unlocked the phone with Verizon. I use the phone with my foreign sim without any problems.
    My problem starts when I come back to the US. I keep the sim in the pro in order to see my calls and sms's. But it seems that Verizon blocks all service while in the US for GSM. So I get no reception anywhere in the states (as soon as I went into canada it was fine).
    This is a huge problem for me as I have to now buy another phone to pop my foreign sim into while in the US.

    Anybody else encounter this issue?

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    guidot's Avatar
    Member #
    36269
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    7,363
    Liked
    826 times
    Twitter
    guidot42
    Phone
    i605/i9250/i515/XT862/A855
    Premium Member
    #2
    Well verizon doesn't provide any GSM service. I don't know if I understand what you are asking?

    1.Need to Flash a ROM? - Flashing ROM - Best Practices
    2.How-To Setup a ROM/MOD/Theme Thread with prefix - Setup ROM/MOD/Theme Thread
    3.Guidelines of Conduct on Droidforums.net - Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Moderator
    bsweetness's Avatar
    Member #
    42719
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,481
    Liked
    360 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    Premium Member
    #3
    That's something you should have come across when you were looking into unlocking the Pro in the first place (if you did any research on it beyond calling Verizon to get it unlocked). Verizon has locked out the US GSM bands on the Pro (as they do with a lot of their world phones). It won't work with AT&T or T-Mobile's bands in the US. If you have a foreign SIM in the phone, and you try to use that SIM in the US, it won't work because it will attempt to roam on either AT&T or T-Mobile. To have service on the Droid Pro in the US is has to be activated on Verizon's CDMA network (or flash it to something like Page Plus). The GSM radio will not work through normal means. And if you think about it, that somewhat makes sense from Verizon's point of view. They paid a premium to have the phone exclusively in the US. They don't want you being able to use their phone on other carriers in the US. I'm not saying it's right or wrong, but from a business point of view, it makes sense.

    Now, if we're not talking about normal means, there is one way that I know of to get the Pro working with US GSM bands. You have to send your phone to Team Black Hat and pay them $100 to flash your phone and unlock the bands - GSM Unlock for Droid Pro. I have not done this, and I actually haven't read about anyone who has done this, so I can't vouch for it. But Team Black Hat has a good reputation in the leaks/hacks world for US Motorola devices.
  5. Droid
    mbd4524's Avatar
    Member #
    139745
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    droid pro
    #4
    I realize that now, however, what I always understood was that they lock out US sim cards, not the actual network.
    I don't think they any business interest in locking foreign sim cards from working in the US as that is not a competition in any way.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
  6. Moderator
    bsweetness's Avatar
    Member #
    42719
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,481
    Liked
    360 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    Premium Member
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mbd4524 View Post
    I realize that now, however, what I always understood was that they lock out US sim cards, not the actual network.
    I don't think they any business interest in locking foreign sim cards from working in the US as that is not a competition in any way.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
    No, the only way to ensure the device isn't used with the US carriers is to lock out the bands. Just locking the SIM slot from being used in the US can be undone fairly easily, but locking the bands at more of a hardware level is a different story. That's where the business interest lies. I'm sure they weren't thinking "let's lock out foreign SIMs from roaming on AT&T and T-Mobile," but rather just locking those bands out altogether to prevent the US SIM cards from being used. If the bands aren't locked out, then a SIM from AT&T or T-Mobile could be used once the slot is unlocked. Foreign SIMs attempting to roam in the US are just collateral damage.
  7. Master Droid
    tennvol's Avatar
    Member #
    8306
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    322
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #6
    You may have a UK sim, let's say Orange that works here in the US. Well Orange roams on TMobile's US band and is therefore blocked.

    Its not the SIM per say, but the network the SIM is roaming on

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Nand unlocked
    By doug piston in forum Droid Incredible Hacks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-2011, 04:08 PM
  2. Unlocked?
    By Hawaiian Princess in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 10:31 AM
  3. Unlocked bootloader what?
    By edwards2243 in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 08:35 PM
  4. Unlocked comaptability?
    By robrob82 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 05:03 PM

Search tags for this page

att droid pro

,

carrier unlock for verizon motorola droid pro

,

droid pro locked us carriers

,

droid pro on t mobile

,

droid pro on usa band

,

droid pro unlocked

,

droid pro unlocked t mobile

,

droid pro world at&t

,
how to flash verizon droid pro to use with at&t
,

motorola droid pro unlocked

,

unlock droid pro

,

unlock droid pro for t mobile

,

unlocked motorola droid pro

,

unlocking droid pro verizon

,

use verizon droid pro on tmobile

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+