DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 73

Thread: Verizon unlock code won't work overseas

  1. Droid Newbie
    emilm's Avatar
    Member #
    141894
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Motorola droid pro
    #1

    Unhappy Verizon unlock code won't work overseas

    I just bought the moto droid pro from Verizon and told them that the main purpose would be using the phone unlocked overseas. They kindly supplied me with the unlock code. Now i am in Thailand and it won't work. Once i insert any local sim cards I get " sim network code" request. I called Verizon and they gave me 2 codes that won't work at all. Here i am with a "world" phone that is useless. Can anyone help please?
    Thank you,
    Emil
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    nomad2000's Avatar
    Member #
    9731
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Beijing, China
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #2
    I think maybe something wrong, verizon gave u wrong code.

    I'm using china mobile's gsm sim card in drois pro. Everything is fine

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
  4. Droid Newbie
    robusa's Avatar
    Member #
    142591
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    motorola droid pro
    #3

    droid pro, unlocking using in asia

    Quote Originally Posted by nomad2000 View Post
    I think maybe something wrong, verizon gave u wrong code.

    I'm using china mobile's gsm sim card in drois pro. Everything is fine

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App

    hi there. i just got the droid pro from verizon. what was the process to get the unlock code from verizon so i can use a sim from hong kong or china?

    i appreciate it very much!
  5. Master Droid
    techguru's Avatar
    Member #
    275
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    585
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by robusa View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by nomad2000 View Post
    I think maybe something wrong, verizon gave u wrong code.

    I'm using china mobile's gsm sim card in drois pro. Everything is fine

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App

    hi there. i just got the droid pro from verizon. what was the process to get the unlock code from verizon so i can use a sim from hong kong or china?

    i appreciate it very much!
    Call Global Support (the Droid Pro should have come with a card with their number) and tell them you want to unlock your SIM. You must be a customer in good standing (at least three months of bills paid on time).

    Alan
  6. Droid
    mbd4524's Avatar
    Member #
    139745
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    droid pro
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by emilm View Post
    I just bought the moto droid pro from Verizon and told them that the main purpose would be using the phone unlocked overseas. They kindly supplied me with the unlock code. Now i am in Thailand and it won't work. Once i insert any local sim cards I get " sim network code" request. I called Verizon and they gave me 2 codes that won't work at all. Here i am with a "world" phone that is useless. Can anyone help please?
    Thank you,
    Emil
    So here's the deal. While the phone CAN be unlocked overseas, it first has to be registered in the U.S. I just found that out the hard way. I got a phone sent to me overseas, called global support to unlock, and the unlock was successful. However, after that, you are prompted to register the phone. This MUST be done in the U.S. So now I have to get the phone back there to register. Not sure if this was your problem, but I think it's something people should know.
  7. Senior Droid
    bb_or_droid's Avatar
    Member #
    137610
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Major East Coast City
    Posts
    134
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #6
    This is all very helpful. All of this has made me a little nervous about my upcoming international travel. I just ordered an AT&T SIM card from Amazon for $1.51 (shipping included). I know the phone won't work on AT&T in the states, but at least this will allow me to ensure my unlock code works while I am still in the US and able to do something about it.
  8. Droid Newbie
    droidproxt610's Avatar
    Member #
    154111
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    droid pro
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by nomad2000 View Post
    I think maybe something wrong, verizon gave u wrong code.

    I'm using china mobile's gsm sim card in drois pro. Everything is fine

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App


    hello, i take a droid pro from ameria to china(beijing), but i don't know how to unlock the phone. Would please tell me how to unlock it. I am in beijing. Thank you very much!
    winterhd@gmail.com
  9. Junior Droid
    SingingAlcazar's Avatar
    Member #
    156139
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #8
    Hi guys. I'm in Asia too and I have a similar problem as the thread starter and others in the list. I have a Brand New in Box Droid Pro I bought off of Ebay. Now normally I believe that Brand New is better than Used but in this case a NEVER ACTIVATED phone is pretty useless for me given that I don't live in the USA.

    Do I have *ANY* recourse? Will the new droidbandunlock (twitter.com/droidbandunlock) help me? Or will I need to ship it back to the USA to someone and get it activated?

    How can I get it activated? Do I need to sign up for a prepaid line? Can I just sign up and kill the line then unlock it with an unlock code I buy online so I can use it in Asia (with of course a non-Verizon/non-USA SIM card)?

    Sigh, what a pain in the ass.
  10. Junior Droid
    SingingAlcazar's Avatar
    Member #
    156139
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Droid Pro
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by techguru View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by robusa View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by nomad2000 View Post
    I think maybe something wrong, verizon gave u wrong code.

    I'm using china mobile's gsm sim card in drois pro. Everything is fine

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App

    hi there. i just got the droid pro from verizon. what was the process to get the unlock code from verizon so i can use a sim from hong kong or china?

    i appreciate it very much!
    Call Global Support (the Droid Pro should have come with a card with their number) and tell them you want to unlock your SIM. You must be a customer in good standing (at least three months of bills paid on time).

    Alan


    Thanks Alan. Has anyone who got an NEW UN-ACTIVATED Droid Pro managed to get it working overseas? If so, how?

    Or did you guys get activated phones that were then unlocked?
  11. Droid
    mbd4524's Avatar
    Member #
    139745
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    53
    Phone
    droid pro
    #10
    I purchased unlocked from amazon wireless and got it sent to me directly overseas.
    I was able to unlock via Verizon global by temporarily putting the phone on a Verizon plan. From my understanding, you can get the phone unlocked by paying for one of these unlocking services.
    At that point, the phone prompted me to complete the registration. I could not seem to get out of that screen. I then called back Verizon global and they informed me that I would have to ship my phone back to the US in order to unlock there. I was obviously furious at that point.
    The next day I picked up the phone again, and walllaa..it was working.
    Same thing happened when I did a hard reset on it. It seems like you have to register it, but if you play round with it enough, it somehow skips the process.
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Will the Droid Pro work overseas on a prepaid sim?
    By MO3iusONE in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 11:14 AM
  2. secret droid unlock code
    By blhoover84 in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-08-2011, 02:01 PM
  3. Number code unlock screen
    By Jim 777 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 07:11 PM
  4. Droid + SIM Card Unlock Code
    By xsylus in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 08:31 AM
  5. Unlock Code
    By kaila88 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 08:03 PM

Search tags for this page

sim network unlock pin droid 2 global

,
sim network unlock pin for motorola xt610
,
unlock code for verizon
,
unlock code from verizon
,
unlock code verizon
,

verizon unlock code

,
verizon unlock codes
,
verizon usa motorola unlock code does not work
,
where to unlock motorolla droid in phils.
,
will verizon motorola global phone unlocked work in the phil
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+