DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Possible to force 4G connection?

  1. Senior Droid
    dmbatcofc's Avatar
    Member #
    232086
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    166
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    DROID BIONIC
    #1

    Possible to force 4G connection?

    So Im using my phone for wifi but I live RIGHT on the 3g/4g border so my bionic is CONSTANTLY bouncing bewteen the two, very annoying. I know how to shut 4g off but can I cut the 3g off and force the 4g?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    wseyller's Avatar
    Member #
    121920
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    736
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #2
    I tried to find a solution for this a couple months ago. I have never found anything that makes this possible.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  4. Droid
    joshmiddle's Avatar
    Member #
    209063
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    40
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    droid 2
    #3
    Im in the same boat would also love to know. Never even thought of that. I get 4g about 200ft from my house. Lol.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. Master Droid
    Suuperflie's Avatar
    Member #
    185896
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    352
    Liked
    14 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by dmbatcofc View Post
    So Im using my phone for wifi but I live RIGHT on the 3g/4g border so my bionic is CONSTANTLY bouncing bewteen the two, very annoying. I know how to shut 4g off but can I cut the 3g off and force the 4g?
    You can't force a 4g connection if you're not getting a consistent 4g connection. Just turn 4g off and use the wifi. If you're on wifi, it doesn't matter whether you're on 3g or 4g. Data from those is turned off if you're connected to wifi anyway.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. Master Droid
    wseyller's Avatar
    Member #
    121920
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    736
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Suuperflie View Post
    You can't force a 4g connection if you're not getting a consistent 4g connection. Just turn 4g off and use the wifi. If you're on wifi, it doesn't matter whether you're on 3g or 4g. Data from those is turned off if you're connected to wifi anyway.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
    Problem is that not everyone has the luxury of of wifi. My house is 400 feet away from what the cable company considers close enough to get services. No dsl either. It seems I'm on the edge for everything. I will so though that about three weeks ago the 4g signal has gotten stronger on my bionic and it stays in 4g now most of the time with 1 or two bars. Before I could restart my phone to get 4g for maybe 10 to 20 mins then it would switch back to 3g and never come back which I think was a problem with my first bionic or possible firmware.
  7. Master Droid
    DunDun's Avatar
    Member #
    225531
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    272
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by wseyller View Post
    Problem is that not everyone has the luxury of of wifi. My house is 400 feet away from what the cable company considers close enough to get services. No dsl either. It seems I'm on the edge for everything. I will so though that about three weeks ago the 4g signal has gotten stronger on my bionic and it stays in 4g now most of the time with 1 or two bars. Before I could restart my phone to get 4g for maybe 10 to 20 mins then it would switch back to 3g and never come back which I think was a problem with my first bionic or possible firmware.
    If you can get Dish or Direct TV you can have high speed internet, then set up home WIFI and your good to go!
    Droid Bionic/98.72.22XT875/JellyBelly4.1.2 ROOTED!!!
  8. Master Droid
    wseyller's Avatar
    Member #
    121920
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hendersonville NC
    Posts
    736
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by DunDun View Post
    If you can get Dish or Direct TV you can have high speed internet, then set up home WIFI and your good to go!
    Satellite internet is garbage and you pay a fortune for it.
  9. Droid Newbie
    inlinehockey's Avatar
    Member #
    252978
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by dmbatcofc View Post
    So Im using my phone for wifi but I live RIGHT on the 3g/4g border so my bionic is CONSTANTLY bouncing bewteen the two, very annoying. I know how to shut 4g off but can I cut the 3g off and force the 4g?
    I have been lurking in here for quite a while but I finally have a reason to post!

    You can lock it in 4G only but you will not have voice service.

    Open the phone dialer and dial ##program (##7764726) and hit send.

    When prompted for the password, enter "000000" (six zeros)

    From the Programming Menu, select "06 Test Mode"

    Hit "Next" at the bottom 2 times

    You will see an option for Network Mode. From that location you can select LTE only.

    When you return to the home screen, it may cause your phone to reboot. This is normal.

    IMPORTANT: DO NOT CHANGE ANY OTHER SETTINGS! YOU CAN SERIOUSLY MESS UP YOUR PHONE IN THIS MENU!

    To change back, follow the instructions again and return the setting to "CDMA, EVDO and LTE"

    I have tested this in an LTE area and as soon as I leave the LTE area, my signal disappears and indicates no signal. Hope this helps.
  10. Master Droid
    DunDun's Avatar
    Member #
    225531
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    272
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by wseyller View Post
    Satellite internet is garbage and you pay a fortune for it.
    Depends on how much you want to have the net; there's always solutions some more costly than others.
    Droid Bionic/98.72.22XT875/JellyBelly4.1.2 ROOTED!!!
  11. Junior Droid
    Jalh's Avatar
    Member #
    147013
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Union City, NJ
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by inlinehockey View Post
    I have been lurking in here for quite a while but I finally have a reason to post!

    You can lock it in 4G only but you will not have voice service.

    Open the phone dialer and dial ##program (##7764726) and hit send.

    When prompted for the password, enter "000000" (six zeros)

    From the Programming Menu, select "06 Test Mode"

    Hit "Next" at the bottom 2 times

    You will see an option for Network Mode. From that location you can select LTE only.

    When you return to the home screen, it may cause your phone to reboot. This is normal.

    IMPORTANT: DO NOT CHANGE ANY OTHER SETTINGS! YOU CAN SERIOUSLY MESS UP YOUR PHONE IN THIS MENU!

    To change back, follow the instructions again and return the setting to "CDMA, EVDO and LTE"

    I have tested this in an LTE area and as soon as I leave the LTE area, my signal disappears and indicates no signal. Hope this helps.
    Worked perfectly fine. thanks !
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Big problem..... No Data connection at all. How to fix/force connection or Turn on?
    By kermitdfrogdroid in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-30-2013, 05:08 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 11:11 AM
  3. First all Google stock apps force close, now Market keeps force closing
    By brooks70 in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2011, 03:22 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-20-2010, 11:08 AM

Search tags for this page

android force 4g

,
android force 4g connection
,
droid bionic force 4g
,

force 4g

,
force 4g android
,
force 4g connection
,
force android to use 4g
,
force phone to 4g
,
force phone to use 4g
,

how to force 4g

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+