DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Force LTE?

  1. Archerofthemoon's Avatar
    Member #
    83286
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Force LTE?

    So I've had the phone since the 8th and have noticed that it falls back into 3G A LOT. The thunderbolt I had would rarely drop into 3G. Is there a way to force LTE on the Bionic?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    drocksmash's Avatar
    Member #
    222561
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    nope, same problem here ... the antenna is not as strong... no other explanation

    tbolts 4g antenna was through the case (that is why if there is no back cover on your tbolt you get no data) where as the bionic is not.. just wish it had the same 4g coverage the tbolt did and there would be no issues with this phone!
  4. Senior Droid
    soccerdude6227's Avatar
    Member #
    19789
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    114
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #3
    Never had that problem. I have always had 4G. I think i have had it fall out once since day once. Sounds like spotty 4G to me.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  5. Senior Droid
    Human_Droid's Avatar
    Member #
    223923
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    130
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic, Droid X
    #4
    Yeah, just notice it on mine. 9pm est. North Eastern OH, mine dropped to 3g. Turned phone off to reboot. Turned it off, the thing started back up on it's own - unless i held the button down for too long.

    EDIT: Rebooted and is on 4G LTE, :hmm:
  6. Archerofthemoon's Avatar
    Member #
    83286
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Human_Droid View Post
    Yeah, just notice it on mine. 9pm est. North Eastern OH, mine dropped to 3g. Turned phone off to reboot. Turned it off, the thing started back up on it's own - unless i held the button down for too long.

    EDIT: Rebooted and is on 4G LTE, :hmm:
    My exact problem! I have to restart to get LTE. Since Verizon's being flaky with FiOS this is my only reasonable internet option...
  7. Master Droid
    kingsway8605's Avatar
    Member #
    79936
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    478
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    Keep in mind if you have renewed your contract since February of this year, you are throttled on Verizon of you are in the top 5% of data users (according to ATT the top 5% is 2gb). This is true even if you have "unlimited" data.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
  8. Archerofthemoon's Avatar
    Member #
    83286
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by kingsway8605 View Post
    Keep in mind if you have renewed your contract since February of this year, you are throttled on Verizon of you are in the top 5% of data users (according to ATT the top 5% is 2gb). This is true even if you have "unlimited" data.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
    How are they throttling?
  9. Junior Droid
    Withdemon's Avatar
    Member #
    220074
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by kingsway8605 View Post
    Keep in mind if you have renewed your contract since February of this year, you are throttled on Verizon of you are in the top 5% of data users (according to ATT the top 5% is 2gb). This is true even if you have "unlimited" data.

    Sent from my ADR6350 using Tapatalk
    I talked to one of the Verizon costumer service representatives and they said that the "main" reason why they do that is because there been a lot of reports of people's phones being stolen, or borrowed by friend/coworker/family and using up data charges. In some cases, people just forget and go over their data charges. So, they've implemented this so that costumers are more aware of their data usage and/or prevent people taking advantage of others data.

    AND 4G costumers are not throttled. =/
  10. Archerofthemoon's Avatar
    Member #
    83286
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    33
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Withdemon View Post
    I talked to one of the Verizon costumer service representatives and they said that the "main" reason why they do that is because there been a lot of reports of people's phones being stolen, or borrowed by friend/coworker/family and using up data charges. In some cases, people just forget and go over their data charges. So, they've implemented this so that costumers are more aware of their data usage and/or prevent people taking advantage of others data.

    AND 4G costumers are not throttled. =/
    So the data usage on the Bionic isn't throttled from what you just said. I have the unlimited plan which I know technically is capped at 500 gigs, or so I've read. But on average I use around 30 gigs of data a month.
  11. Junior Droid
    Withdemon's Avatar
    Member #
    220074
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Archerofthemoon View Post
    So the data usage on the Bionic isn't throttled from what you just said. I have the unlimited plan which I know technically is capped at 500 gigs, or so I've read. But on average I use around 30 gigs of data a month.
    Exactly, and from what I've understood many 3G costumers with unlimited plans are not in danger of throttling as well. So if costumers are to complain about this then maybe they should get more data per month or just stick to unlimited. This is not like sprint.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 11:11 AM
  2. First all Google stock apps force close, now Market keeps force closing
    By brooks70 in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2011, 03:22 PM
  3. How to force 3G???
    By BlueSami in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 05:32 PM
  4. Force Close
    By Nickmast in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 02:42 PM

Search tags for this page

bionic force 4g

,
bionic force lte
,

droid bionic force 4g

,

droid bionic force lte

,
force 4g bionic
,

force 4g on bionic

,
force 4g on droid bionic
,

force lte bionic

,

force lte droid bionic

,
force lte on bionic
,
force lte on droid
,
how to force 4g
,
how to force lte only on bionic
,
how to force on 4g on droid bionic
,
verizon bionic force 4g
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+