DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Memory on a Android phone?????

  1. Senior Droid
    cjsmoove's Avatar
    Member #
    189168
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NORCAL
    Posts
    116
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    SAMSUNG GALAXY S3
    #1

    Memory on a Android phone?????

    Coming from a Blackberry, do android phones leak memory lke blackeberrys do? I'm most definitely getting the Bionic and it will be my first Android phone but I was wondering about that and if it's a problem thats dealt with on a routine basis, and are reboots normally done daily?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    Phoenixfiref22's Avatar
    Member #
    98359
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    NorthEast Coast, USA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Android handles RAM differently than the Blackberries (least I like to think so). It maxes out the memory with apps that you open, and keeps as many apps as it can in an "inactive" state while devoting all resources necessary to the currently running app. This allows for a much more fluid and quick swap between apps you open frequently, thus the whole wonder of "Multi-tasking". (That's how I understood it from my wanderings about in the dev forums).
  4. Droid Ninja
    alboboy10's Avatar
    Member #
    24965
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,820
    Liked
    64 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    Definitely not. I had the storm and that thing ran out of memory every hour with no apps. I had the same question as u, got the droid one and loved it. It's unbelievable how different android and bb are
  5. Droid Ninja
    Liderc's Avatar
    Member #
    15713
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,265
    Liked
    250 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #4
    If you're planning on grabbing the Bionic, I wouldn't worry too much about memory problems. It will have 1gig of memory, as apposed to your BB which comes with 96 megabytes. 1gig=1024megabytes.

    I believe most people use SD cards for their BB's to store everything on them but the essentials which you can't run on an SD card.

    I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.
  6. Junior Droid
    Phoenixfiref22's Avatar
    Member #
    98359
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    NorthEast Coast, USA
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #5
    I should also note that when the memory is full, Android dumps as much memory as it needs to open the new app, by fully closing and removing from the RAM the apps that have been there the longest and least used. (As in, if you opened something an hour ago and a bunch of other apps in between and haven't used the app from an hour ago again, it will dump the app from an hour ago to make room for the new ones).
  7. Super Moderator
    Trusstopher's Avatar
    Member #
    126629
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    2,598
    Liked
    476 times
    Twitter
    Trusstopher
    Phone
    G-Nex
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Liderc View Post
    If you're planning on grabbing the Bionic, I wouldn't worry too much about memory problems. It will have 1gig of memory, as apposed to your BB which comes with 96 megabytes. 1gig=1024megabytes.

    I believe most people use SD cards for their BB's to store everything on them but the essentials which you can't run on an SD card.

    I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

    Of course they will, this is a forum. Relevant.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Phone memory low but got big memory card
    By steve602888 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10-15-2011, 12:49 PM
  2. phone memory issue. massive memory card pls help.
    By steve602888 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 01:53 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 07:58 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-22-2010, 09:39 AM
  5. How to tell phone memory from SD card memory?
    By raven1911 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-29-2009, 09:35 AM

Search tags for this page

android phnoe memory category
,
android phone with the most memory
,
bionic memory
,
do android phones leak memory?
,

droid bionic memory

,
droid bionic out of memory
,

droid bionic ram

,
droid dna memory location
,
droid with most memory
,
how to do a droid bionic memory swap
,
motorola droid bionic ram
,
phone out of memory droid bionic
,
ram in android phones
,
what is the most memory in an android phone
,
what should ram be on android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+