DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By bsweetness

Thread: Sim question

  1. Senior Droid
    dopeskwyd's Avatar
    Member #
    6322
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kekaha, HI
    Posts
    173
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid3
    #1

    Sim question

    Here's one for the VS guru's. If I get a 4g phone from Ebay, swappa, list, etc., will I be able to use the sim card out of my D3 or D2G to activate it?

    I've been looking at upgrading phones(though, not through VZW(still grandfathered)) and I just found out about the sim card for 4g phones.

    If I can't use my D3 or D2G sim, is there a way to get a sim without going through VZW? I really don't want to lose my UL data?
  2. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,381
    Liked
    418 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #2

    Re: Sim question

    If your phone has a sim then yea you should also be able to use it on your new phone. Also SIM cards are free. Verizon will just give you one if needed and they don't need to know anything about your current plan.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  3. Senior Droid
    dopeskwyd's Avatar
    Member #
    6322
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kekaha, HI
    Posts
    173
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid3
    #3
    Sweet, thanks for getting back at me so quick.

    2 things though,
    1. The sim in my D3(and D2G) is for global use, which I don't use. So it's still good to go?
    2. Free? They don't need to activate it or anything?
    Reason I ask #2 is my wife just got a GS3 from her brother(at the super low family rate, and yes im jealous, and no, she has no idea what that "fancy gadget" can do) but she has no sim card, thus she can't even turn it on.
  4. Senior Droid
    dopeskwyd's Avatar
    Member #
    6322
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kekaha, HI
    Posts
    173
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid3
    #4
    Bumpity bump?
  5. Moderator
    bsweetness's Avatar
    Member #
    42719
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,481
    Liked
    362 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    Premium Member
    #5

    Re: Sim question

    The SIM card from your Droid 3 or Droid 2 Global will not work with a LTE device.

    The SIM cards you already have are for GSM global roaming only. They have no LTE compatibility whatsoever. LTE SIM cards for Verizon are tied to your account in a way that the GSM roaming SIM cards are not. They're two different types of technology and operate on two different types of networks.

    All you'll need to do once you get a LTE phone is go into a corporate Verizon store with the phone and tell them you want to activate it on your account. They'll give you a LTE SIM card for free and switch everything over. You won't lose unlimited data. At this point, you only lose unlimited data if you sign a new contract, and simply activating a non-subsidized LTE device on your existing account is not starting a new contract. It's all free if you go to a corporate store (authorized and premium retailers might charge you), and it's a simple process.
    Last edited by bsweetness; 01-29-2013 at 11:05 PM.
    themib likes this.
    Current lineup: Galaxy S5, iPhone 5S, Note 10.1 (2014)

    Previous smartphones: Note 3, HTC One, Note 2, Galaxy S3, One X, RAZR MAXX, Galaxy Nexus, Rezound, Note, iPhone 4S, Bionic, Stratosphere, Charge, Vitality, Incredible 2, Thunderbolt, Palm Pixi Plus, Droid 3, Fascinate, Incredible, Droid Pro, Droid 2 Global, Droid X, Droid, Treo Pro, Touch Pro 2, Touch Pro, Q9m, XV6800, XV6900

    Previous tablets: iPad Mini, Transformer TF300, Evo View, Transformer Prime, Transformer TF101, Thrive, gTablet
  6. Senior Droid
    dopeskwyd's Avatar
    Member #
    6322
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kekaha, HI
    Posts
    173
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid3
    #6
    Thanks B. That's what I thought. I already got my wifes gs3 setup. Was just curious about my sim.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 01:37 PM
  2. Security question, please answer my question! :)
    By itwerk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 09:20 AM
  3. market question/virus question
    By circsmonky in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-20-2010, 10:32 PM
  4. UPDATED DROID question?/METAMORPH QUESTION
    By iamnotjohn in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 12:17 AM
  5. maybe a dumb question.. but i have a 2.1 question
    By autigers1101 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 10:16 AM
Find us on Google+