DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Any other D3 that can't find GPS signal?

  1. Droid
    cyber3dx's Avatar
    Member #
    62145
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    97
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #1

    Any other D3 that can't find GPS signal?

    I'll be honest, I am beginning to hate my D3. I've had the D1, D2 and D3. But, getting real tired of this BS. Using Google Navigation in the Directions mode under the "Follow the route" screen, it keeps "searching for GPS" It gets stuck there and sometimes it can take several minutes to find a signal - if ever. I usually have to be driving for it to find a signal and that can go on for several blocks.

    I've already done a reset via the Privacy screen. Not done an External Key reset yet.

    This is my issue this month. I've had so many other issues with it.....anyway.
  2. Droid
    Uncle700's Avatar
    Member #
    3258
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    Samsung GN2
    #2
    I find that sometimes my D3 will lose the GPS also. Will not show the radar icon on the top bar. I go to settings, location, and then unchecked the check boxes. Wait a few seconds and then re-check the check boxes and then I will have GPS working again. I also use GPS Status. If I use GPS Status or Google Maps a least once a day, I do not seem to lose the active GPS as much. Never lost GPS with the D1 or D2G.
  3. Droid
    cyber3dx's Avatar
    Member #
    62145
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    97
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #3
    I wish that worked for my phone. Unfortunate. But, then I can't do that each route I have to take during my drive. Sucks.

    I may have to go over to the dark side.
  4. Theme Developer
    vbhokiefan's Avatar
    Member #
    43560
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    VA Beach VA
    Posts
    939
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    vbhokiefan
    Phone
    OG / D3 / S3 / ?
    DroidForums.net Theme Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    Try faster fix from the play store? just a thought
    TEAM MAVERICK FTW
  5. Droid
    7 VII 7's Avatar
    Member #
    34776
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    41
    Phone
    Motorola DROID
    #5
    I am having the same issues. I just got a D3 from a D2 and right off the bat I cannot use Google Navigation. SO FRUSTRATING. I have the 1st two check boxes for Google GPS and 3rd Part GPS... still can get a signal to track me while I drive.
  6. Droid
    cyber3dx's Avatar
    Member #
    62145
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    97
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #6
    It's a disgusting situation. Why have they abandoned what was supposed to be their lead product (at the time)? This has been the worst Motorola phone I've ever had. GPS worked fine for the frist year. Then at one particular OS update it all started to fall apart. From FCs, to skipping video, to no GPS signals it has been a nightmare.
  7. Droid
    KZ_259's Avatar
    Member #
    229241
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    burlington, NJ
    Posts
    39
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid 3
    #7
    yeah, i have the same issue as well. my fix is simply restarting the phone. it always works if the GPS has no signal or if the GPS is taking forever finding your location. i hate this phone, too, but i hate my impatience even more.
  8. Junior Droid
    karrth's Avatar
    Member #
    283827
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Droid 3 XT862
    #8
    I have had a lot of GPS problems recently, but I've fixed it by using this gps.conf file (attached).

    Rename it to gps.conf and toss it in /etc/ using Root Explorer, ADB or something similar, reboot your phone, and voila!

    It used to take my phone 3-5 minutes to get a lock before, if it ever decided to at all. And it would only be 3-5/7-9 satellites locked/seen... now it gets 10-14/18-20 locked/seen usually within a minute!

    Edit: This is only with Standalone GPS Services, not Google or VZW services. Using GPS Status or GPS Test to update A-GPS state still helps.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by karrth; 08-23-2012 at 09:55 AM. Reason: additional details

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. signal?
    By androidify in forum Droid RAZR MAXX
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-25-2012, 10:54 AM
  2. Will GB fix signal?
    By K_Quinn in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-11-2011, 08:35 PM
  3. Error Message: Failed to update My Location - no signal signal.
    By xz87zg in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-28-2011, 10:51 AM
  4. DX and signal
    By NotThatGuy in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 08:19 PM
  5. No 3g signal
    By thekoopa in forum LithiumMod
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 04:30 PM

Search tags for this page

droid 3 cannot find gps

,
droid 3 gps
,

droid can't find gps

,
droid gps can't find location
,
how to get signal on android 3gps
,
no gps droid 3
,
phone can never find gps
,
phone cannot find gps
,
why wont my motorola droid 3 find gps
,
xt862 gps no satellite
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+